We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best vacation EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Our best vacation EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Ranglos were amazing hosts! Glacier Lodge has a summer camp feel, it's off the beaten path and so close to Rock Mtn Nat'l Park. Hearing the river race ourside our cabin was SO relaxing! Made great friends while bbqing and around campfires. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    33
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
184
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

We made our first trip to Estes Park and Glacier Lodge. The great reviews are earned as this is one fun, pretty, and well run lodge. It's very clean- has a rustic beauty- great river runs right by many cabins, has a fun kids program, and great horse rides done by a knowledgeable group right on site. It's a great location and our family highly recommends it. We will be back as we have started a new family tradition.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachesDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

My (then) fiance and her family took me home to their old stomping ground in Estes Park for a week of hiking and relaxation. We had fun participating in the nightly activities and with the ping pong table (oh yeah!) and throwing horseshoes. Their family returns year after year and reserves the same cabin along the river. It's nice to wake up to that sound. Although, it seems to sound louder when you're trying to fall asleep. (A tiny "complaint.")

And speaking of complaints, I only have one: as a webmaster of several sites, I wish, wish, WISH Dave and crew would invest in a wireless N router and a good outdoor antenna. We can't get the wireless signal in the cabin, and have to do all the computing at the office. It would be nice to be able to stay in the cabin.

Although... the staff is always warm and friendly, so maybe an excuse to see them is fine. No, seriously, a beefier wireless signal would win my heart!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnselT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife, 22 year old daughter and I spent 4 wonderful nights. The owner Dave Ranglos and his entire staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. When I locked us out of the cabin one night, Dave was there in a flash to get us back inside. The cabin was perfect for the three of us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frizzlebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We have stayed at Glacier, off and on, for a number of years. A great "in between" reunion spot for families from San Diego and Winona, MN. Quite frankly, we could stay virtually anywhere in Estes, but have chosen Glacier for its rustic (historic), down home, and relaxing atmosphere. Add to that a diversity of on-site amenities/accomodations, location to the Rockies, and proprietors who make service their primary goal, and you have our definition for a true lodge. We will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnwalleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at glacier lodge with children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren and all ages loved our days at Glacier Lodge! The spacious, yet cozy Alpine lodge (both inside and on the patio) was the center of our meals and family conversations. The gorgeous living room fire place (with a generous supply of wood) drew us all each evening for fun and games. The kids (and adults) took advantage of the beautiful pool, the basketball court, the ping-pong table, and the adjacent riding stables. The Big Thompson River gurgling past one of our cabins contributed to our fish fry the last evening of our stay. The Estes Park shuttle at the lodge entrance was a big bonus. All of the amenities of Glacier Lodge were top notch and the owners were quickly responsive to our every request. The s'mores around the fire pit and the chuck-wagon breakfast were special treats from our hosts. We loved our stay at Glacier Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at Glacier Lodge before their true Summer season started so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The view of the mountains from our front window was spectacular. The daily activities had not started yet but there was still plenty to do in the vicinity. Our cabin was right by the stables, so the kids enjoyed petting the ponies everyday. The day we took a trail ride, it started to hail and the temperature dropped 30 degrees so we had to turn back. They were very generous in giving us a refund for the time we missed out on. We loved how close it was to Estes Park and to RMNP. We were able to go into town every day and also enjoy the National Park . We are a family of 5 with kids ages 10, 12, and 14. They all thought the place was fantastic. The highlight was returning from RMNP one day and finding elk grazing right at our front door!! The property owners really make you feel at home. We were welcome in the office anytime to use the computer, get coffee or just relax. We would definitely return again, possibly just a week later in June when there are more activities for kids. The only drawback was not getting good WIFI service unless you were at the office, which has limited hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Spruce
River Spruce
#3 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 2166 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just what you are looking for when you come to the mountains" - cottages and cabins under towering pines. Close to National Park. Large homestyle units also available for reunions, scrap booking. Pool, horses, fishing and wood burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing