We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
245
22
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
22
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird feedersheather cottagebaked chocolate chip cookiesfall river entrancewarm cookiesprairie dogsabundant wildlifeground squirrelshome away from homeevery afternooninches of snowfront windowfree firewoodfour milesour favorite place to staycozy cabinseast entrance
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 280 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Love, love, love this place! We were on a 2 week jaunt through NV, UT, CO, NM & AZ and of all the places we stayed, this was the ultimate! Made an unscheduled stop here after spending 2 nights at the Quality Inn, Estes Park, and could not believe our eyes. For essentially the same price as Quality Inn, we had our own cozy cabin in the woods complete with a wood burning fireplace (wood provided). As a bird and nature lover, this was Heaven! They have multiple bird feeders outside of each cabin and in a matter of minutes we saw robins, scrub jays, red winged black birds, magpies, humming birds and many species I've never seen before. There were even wild turkeys on the property! There are tons of chipmunks scurrying around as well as bunnies, and we were told sometimes they get elk. I was woken by a loud noise during the night, and upon check out, was told a bear had wandered through and broken one of the bird feeders. Kind of sorry I didn't get up to check out the noise, but probably would have had a heart attack if I'd seen the bear! The only thing that could make the stay better would be if they served breakfast, but restaurants are nearby so it wasn't an issue, but if you go prepared, you can prepare your own in the kitchenette-all utensils & plates included. And, yes, it was clean!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank manyviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

So glad you all stumbled upon us! As temperatures cool in the evenings, we are prepping for the fall mating season (Rutt) of the Elk..Always a fun time to see them courting their "girls" and playing "king of the castle" with other large bull Elk all vying to win the hearts (and breeding rights) to the female herds. Quite the site! Soon, we'll be seeing the Rosy finches return as the snow moves into the high country too. Just noticed today that our humming birds are starting to head south, as there are fewer and fewer buzzing around.

Glad you found us, and hope you have an amazing rest of your fall!

Hope to see you again sometime soon!
Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Carlos, Steve, Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights in room 8B. Excellent location close to one of the entrances to Rocky Mountain National Park. The room is very nice and has a very cabin like feel. The kitchen area is small but fully equipped. The bathroom has only a shower and not a bathtub but that didn't bother us. The bed was comfortable and the gas stove to heat the room is a nice touch. The view out the front window is incredible and the table next to the window is a great place to sit and eat. There are bird feeders all over the grounds so there are a ton of birds outside and we also saw turkeys. The staff are friendly and having cookies and tea/cider/hot chocolate in the lobby is a nice touch. Our only complaints were that since the room shares a wall with the neighboring room, you hear your neighbors since the soundproofing isn't great and that the internet didn't work all that well in our room, which may be because our room was the furthest from the lobby. Other than that, nothing but good things to say about McGregor Mountain Lodge and very happy we chose McGregor Mountain Lodge as our base for exploring Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Views from 8B are wonderful but if noise is a concern go for a private cabin
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

I picked this place randomly off web searches for a place to get away. Look no further, this is it! I couldn't come up with a complaint if i was paid. I really hate to give such a review as to not let out the secret but this place deserves an awesome review because it
is perfect! I will be coming back, Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rustincoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Awe..thanks so much! Shhhhhh...we'll be sure to try and keep it quiet for ya (and all the others!)

Have an awesome rest of your summer, and we do hope to see you all again soon!

Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Ellen, Carlos, Steve, Susan and our four legged friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

This was our first time to Estes Park. We loved our cabin at McGregor Mountain Lodge. It was just the right size for a relaxing vacation. The cabins are close together, but we never felt close or were bothered with any noise. You could sit on your front porch and look at the mountains and the wildlife and feel secluded. We were just minutes from the park entrance. Friendly place and you get free cookies in the office.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shd499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at McGregor Mountain Lodge. Friendly people, clean and well equipped cabins and location right next to the north park entrance all combine to make this an ideal location. The cabins are nestled up against McGregor mountain in the back and Deer mountain in the front. Wildlife in the vicinity is abundant - deer, elk, and birds galore. A wonderful stay.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience as we move our way up to the #1 position! We love that we get to share this magical spot with all of you out there. Indeed, one of Estes Park's best kept secrets.

Hope to see you all again soon! Have a great rest of your summer.

Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Steve, Carols, Ellen, Sue, Claire and our 4-legged buds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews