We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2009

What a wonderful place to spend Christmas. I can't say enough about the McGregor Mountain Lodge and the friendly people that work there. They made us feel like family friends with their warm hospitality. Hot coffee and cider were readily available in the office as well as fresh baked cookies and a warm fire. The one bedroom cabin we stayed in was cozy and clean. There was a sofa in the living area that pulled out into a bed and was perfect for our ten year old daughter. We were 1/2 mile from the Gateway to Rockie Mountain National Park and 4 miles from the town of Estes Park. Every day we were visited by Elk which literally came to our front door. We were fortunate to have a big snow while we were there which fulfilled our daughters wish of a White Christmas. It just made the entire area even more beautiful. And, it gave us a chance to go sledding right behind our cabin. The Lodge even had sleds for us to use. They also have snow shoes that you can take out. All of these are free of charge.
It was our first trip to Estes Park and I just can't imagine it being any more perfect. Thank you Chris and Susan for making our Christmas so special. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagleye33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for McGregor Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

My experiences with McGregor have all been positive. Along with friendly, eager to help staff, the surprises of all the wildlife, the great views, and clean rooms, their location feels secluded and away from the crowded lodgings else where in the Estes area. We have stayed summer and winter and in many different cabins. We always feel we are in our own little mountain hid-a-way. We love to be able to speak directly to the owners and know they care about us as visitors, not customers.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RangerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

As a family on a budget this place fit our needs very well. We didnt have the river at our door step, but we had plenty of wildlife including Elk within 10 feet of our door several days.

We spent 95% of our time exploring Estes and the Rocky Mountain National Park and Horseback Riding. We didnt spend much time at the cabin so we couldnt see spending a lot of money needlessly. We were minutes from Town and very close to the entrance to the Park. We have stayed at 4 or 5 different places in Estes Park and we have been happy with them all but for VALUE this is the best we have found so far.

Not sure about the cookies in the lodge, we went in there 3 times and they didnt have them all 3 times... darn the luck!

Oh... a Plus for us was they allowed PETS! Thank You!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOHuntFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

McGregor is an awesome place to stay. We loved the place. The cabins are not the fanciest, but they have everything you need and are clean. The location is ideal - close to the park and you can sneak into and back out of downtown in a snap.

What makes Mcgregor special is the staff - they are great. The freshly baked cookies in the office each day are a nice treat. Great hottub too. Lots of wildlife everywhere. One special touch is the two lodge dogs that greet you - Daisy and Tanner were a highlight of the trip for our children. The first thing they wanted to do each afternoon was to take Tanner for a walk. The wi-fi is a nice touch - but if you didnt bring a laptop they have a computer in the office you can use to stay in touch.

One last note - regarding housekeeping - these are cabin rentals, not a Hyatt hotel!!!!! Cabin rentals do not include housekeeping as a rule - so do not expect your sheets to be turned down each night or changed for you. None of the condos or cabins on fall river road are going to change your sheets and take out your trash for you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seven7Costanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I went to McGregor based on earlier reviews and by watching wildlife on the netcam. I was able to get great prices and even a free pair of snowshoes with the Jan/Feb special. (You can take a free beginner snowshoe hike with park rangers from RMNP.) Susan was very helpful from the first phone call for reservations to a phone call after checkout! The room had great views with sheep and elk right outside of my window. You receive firewood for each day and can reserve a private hour in the hot tub. The rooms and gas kitchen are were adequate for the two of us. The weather was nice with snowfall the first night and dry roads by the following morning. Our room had a DVD player, VCR, cable tv, a microwave, coffee maker, and hair dryer. There was also a journal of previous guests all of which were eager to book their next trip there. The lodge is 1/2 mile away from Rocky Mountain National Park and within 5 minutes from downtown Estes Park. My only regret was having to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

This was our second trip to McGregor Mountain Lodge. After our last stay, we thought this would be the perfect place to stay for Christmas, and we were right! The whole property is decorated with Christmas lights. The cabin (#2) was clean and cozy. This cabin has a great patio and wonderful views. It was the perfect size for our family of four adults. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiebeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

After only a week stay at McGregor Mountain Lodge, we were ready to come back. The workers were very helpful, knowledgable of the park and areas of interest, and always ready to help.
We loved the cozy and quiant atmosphere! From the minute we walked in the door we felt welcomed. There was a fire roaring and teas and coffee available throughout the day. Those extra touches made us feel like this place actually enjoyed having guests.
We found the cabin to be clean, fully stocked, and well maintained every day. Of all the places we have stayed in Estes, we will definitely be back. Hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Climbingjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
323 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your McGregor Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing