We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Crest Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maxwell Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haber Motel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
228
22
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
22
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird feedersbratheather cottagebaked chocolate chip cookieshot ciderfall river entranceprairie dogsbull elkabundant wildlifeground squirrelsevery afternooninches of snowhome away from homefree firewoodwood burning fireplacefour milesour favorite place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 262 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can not give this place enough Praise. The staff goes beyond and above for there guest , the cabins were immaculate, the view was incredible and the wildlife was peaceful and relaxing to watch. If your looking for an amazing place to stay, stop looking and book here. We will be returning very soon. This place takes care of all that RMNP and Estes has to offer.

Room Tip: The Columbine Cabins are the best. You have the view of the mountains and nature right in your front window.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi Donna,

Thanks for your kind remarks! We certainly appreciate them, and have so many like yourself that love the Columbine Cottages. Today, Brat dropped his last antler (somewhere out there) and it always amazes me how fast they start growing back in prep for the fall Rutt season. That's always a fun time to be here and see the animals.

Today, in addition to Brat and Little Boy (the resident Elk), we also saw 12 mule deer...both does and bucks, as well as a fox, and a coyote...just waiting for the big horn sheep to show their faces!

Hope we get to see you all soon! If not, have a great St. Patty's day, and Easter!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in The Heather Cottage last May (2013) and this was such a fun and pleasant place to stay. The staff was very plesant and we felt very welcome here. We saw a lot of wildlife on the property and got lots of great pictures. We even saw a bear on our last night there. Brat (the resident elk) came right up to our cabin as we were sitting outside and he ate leaves off the bushes right next to us. What a fun experience.

We enjoyed this place so much, we have made reservataions again this year and will be returning later this month for an even longer visit. This time we are brining up our kids to share this experience as well.

See you in a few weeks! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go to McGregorMountainLodge.com and you can see all the rooms before making reservations. There are blueprint layouts and pictures for each. They have a great and helpful website.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darniforgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We certainly appreciate the remarks and are looking forward to seeing you soon! Today has been one of those glorious spring days with bright blue skies and temps into the higher 40's. Its indeed springtime in the Rockies. Today I noticed Brat dropped his final antler, so the antler hunt is on! You would think as frequent as they are on the property, they would be easy to find. But, not such the case.

Still great snow in the park, and I imagine with over 6' of snow this past year, there will remain good snow right through the month of May for snow shoeing.

We'll see you soon!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have stayed at the McGregor Lodge several times in the past 4 years, with the kids (18 & 3) and one trip with Grandparents also - we all love this place, it is the most relaxing and peaceful vacation spot you can imagine. The wildlife are abundant around the grounds, and RMNP is on the doorstep. Estes Park is just 5 minutes drive down the road.
The staff have all been wonderful with any requests we have made, and helpful with recommendations when asked. We have stayed in several different cabins, usually in a 2 bedroom, and they have all been lovely - really spacious and comfortable, even with a teenager!
This place is truely one of our favorites in the world, and we cannot wait to book another trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyfansUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments about McGregor Mountain Lodge and your frequent visits to our "little slice of heaven." One of the things we try to do when you come to McGregor is truly help you be in a better place when you leave than when you came. I believe you touched on that a bit. We know how the craziness of everyday life can be for you, and want you to feel alive again after your visit. Each time when someone walks in the door and a greeted by the pups and fresh baked cookies, and the comfort of the sunshine coming through the windows with breathtaking views all around, how can you not say you are on your way to a better place already. We firmly believe we imbibe a healthy and caring spirit that we hope you catch and feel when you're with us as well!

May we see you all again in the near future...until then, visit facebook often and think fondly of the memories made here with us at McGregor.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Came for a week with my sons (ages 5-8) in March to snow shoe RMNP. Came to McGregor with high expectations and boy did it deliver. Staff recommendations for restaurants, hikes, shops, etc were invaluable. Rooms were perfect and by the end of the trip we all wanted to stay and work for the owners. Have and will continue to recommend McGregor to all who will listen! Plan to be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thanks for the kind remarks regarding McGregor and all we have to offer here in this little piece of heaven on Earth. I always tell my staff (prefer to think of them as my lodge family) that when WE do it right, we make it look easy, and believe me, you all aren't the first ones that have expressed an interest to work with us when the next job opening becomes available! Ha. The snow this year has been something I haven't seen in all my 20 years of living here! And that's particuliarly referring to what is in the park, as you probably noticed, we don't have all that much around the cabins on a regular basis, but drive into the park up to Bear Lake and its a whole different story. I was up there today snow shoeing, and there is a 76" base (yes, that's 6'4"!!) I keep telling folks that there are so many WONDERFUL seasons to see the park, even though summer is typically most popular, boy if you're not here in spring to see the snow, or here over the magical holiday seasons when the property is adorned with over 750,000 lights under blanket of white, you really are missing something.

Sure hope to see you all back at McGregor in the near future.
My Best,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our new favorite place to stay near Rocky Mountain National Park - Each cabin is unique and we had a wonderful time in Caretaker #1 - The Elk made their rounds a few times a day but seem to always be there just after our great hosts filled the many on site bird feeders - Enjoyed petting the dogs and just hanging out - Very relaxing after a day of hiking or snowshoeing in the local area

Room Tip: All are fine - Mostly depends on the size of your party or if you have young children
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Hi..Lefty and Little Boy, as well as us lodge owners, certainly appreciate the great feedback you shared with all our trip advisor users out there! It is certainly fun to see and witness firsthand the wildlife that visits us here at this little piece of heaven called McGregor Mountain Lodge. I'm fairly certain there is no other place on earth where you can, and will see such large magnificeint animals up close. We are all truly blessed to be such wonderful animals and soon, they will be moving up to higher elevations for the summer. But, we always know that come winter once again, we get to see them!
We all look forward to your return trip in 2014 and are so appreciative of you business!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews