We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife, our friends, their 2 daughters and I stayed at McGregor Mt. Lodge in late Dec. We had a two room, two bath with a kitchen and living room. They are so welcoming and helpful. The cabin was clean and offered everything we needed for our stay. They normally require a 3 night stay, but worked with us for our 2 night stay (I'm sure because it is the slower season). My wife and I have stayed here before and plan to make McGregor our choice in future trips.

Room Tip: Call or email them with questions, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ders73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for your kind remarks! We always enjoy the positive feedback as we work hard to become the #1 chosen spot to stay in the Colorado Rockies. It never ceases to amaze me the wildlife that we see walking right outside our doors, and we truly are blessed to share that with all of you! Until next time, be well, and we look forward to welcoming you back to McGregor in 2014!
Chris and the McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We're on our way home from yet another wonderful week at the cabins. If you are searching for a home base for your Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park adventures ...this us the place. All the ambiance of cabin living but with all of your modern conveniances! It's just pefect. Wildlife abounds...right at your front door. Elk , turkeys and foxes came right to the door. I've stayed elsewhere in Estes but nothing holds a candle to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockymountainhigh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind remarks! With the re-opening of HWY 36 on Monday, things have certainly seemed to have become more active down and around town. That's so good to see!

We love having folks like yourselves who now make McGregor Mountain Lodge "their home away from home" each and every time they come to Estes Park. We work hard too to keep you all happy, and keep McGregor in tip top shape, and indeed in forefront of your mind when thinking of any vacation. It makes us feel good to hear all the positive feedback, and more so, to hear from you how truly magical McGregor Mountain Lodge is!

We hope to see you all back sometime soon, and thanks again for the kind remarks.

Happy Holidays to you and yours!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing weekend. This place is perfect..walking distance to the park and outstanding views! The setting is great, the grounds and cabins meticulously maintained and the staff welcoming and caring. I will be back many times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed a second time, again, a wonderful experience. This place has good karma. Always welcoming, peaceful, and easy going. Just like Chris, an amazing person, and owner of this very special place. While there, wild turkeys and elk and lots of birds around the bird feeders were common.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Peggy,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks and comments. Each day we strive to provide what it "really means" to live and be a part of our mountains. We were blessed that we didn't have any significant damage to the lodge so that we could open our doors immediately to those less fortunate. Its good to see some guests coming back into Estes Park, and we can only hope that that will continue to bless us and our community. We love sharing all that Estes Park has to offer pertaining to wildlife viewing, the cozy, comfort of a cabin in the mountains with amazing views, with a warm and welcoming staff that helps you escape the craziness of day to day activity. Sometimes it just helps to take some time to slow down and see what really is important to us! Stay-cations...Bring it!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My first visit to McGregor Mountain Lodge was in 2007 and I have been returning ever since. It is simply a wonderful place right by the Fall River entrance to RMNP. I have always thought it to be the best place to stay and never more so than now. I just returned from an 11 day stay in the Caretakers Cabin during which the flooding happened. Chris, Michael, Susan and all the others were so caring and helpful making sure I was fine and ensuring that I could continue to stay until it was safe to leave. I can't thank them all enough. I can't wait to return to McGregor Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Martha,

Truly, you are a gem! We felt so terrible about the circumstances during the flood that had people fleeing from the resort, and were glad that we could keep you warm and dry until a safe return allowed for you. How moving it was too to have you call the very following week to book for your 2014 stay! Things around town are certainly "looking" more like normal, yet some 30% of the town is still without sewer (mostly residential), and there are still multiple businesses cleaning up in a fury to get back open before winter sets in. Sounds like a bit of more snow is on its way this weeknd. We are delighted to announce that hwy 119 from Boulder into Nederland has again re-opened, so that has aided yet one more route to help get people to and from Estes Park. We are looking forward to seeing your wonderful smiling face in 2014! Have a great rest of your fall, and a most joyous holiday season.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second time staying at Mcgregor and we loved every minute of it. The staff is so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The cabins are nicely decorated and have a nice feeling of home. You will usually see wildlife walking around the property and hummingbirds and birds at the feeders.Sit outside on the swings or chairs and watch the chipmunks and take in the spectacular scenery.The lodge is within minutes from Downtown Estes and Rocky Mountain National Park.An added plus is there are always homemade chocolate chip cookies baked every afternoon along with ice water,coffee and tea waiting for you in the lobby.

Room Tip: Many different sizes os cabins available to fit your family and budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello our Nebraskan friends! Love hearing all the kind things you have to say (as I take the chocolate chip cookies out of the oven!). It means a lot to us when we have guests come time and time again for their "home away from home" fix in the Rockies! We truly are blessed to be able to share all this wonderful part of the country has to offer with all of you! Thanks for choosing McGregor every time you return to Estes Park and the Rocky Mt. National Park region. If you like us in the summer, you're going to be amazed what other seasons at McGregor Mountain Lodge has to offer....McGregor truly is a place where the wildlife is up close and personal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second time at McGregor and won't be our last! We love RMNP, so the location can't be beat. The views are amazing, the staff is very welcoming, and the chairs outside the cabin offer a respite after a day of hiking or just to sit to start the day or relax. The cabins are very clean, the beds comfortable and everything that you might need is included. The kitchenette was more than adequate for the two of us. We liked the option of being able to make our own breakfast before heading out for the day. We could have easily made other meals if we had chosen to do so. We were in the Columbine Cottages and I really can't say enough about how nice they are. My only complaint is that our vacation was too short!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Susan...so good having you here! You just missed the bear walking right outside your cabin the other day! Soon the elk will start showing up here more regularly, and its hard to believe August is now 1/2 over! Where does the summer go!?! With the Aspen just starting to show tints of yellow here and there, and some actually skiffs of snow up on the higher elevations, I'm afraid our summer is quickly escaping us. But, that's OK too! Winter is perhaps one of my favorite times to be here in Estes and Rocky. You want to see something beautiful, blaze a trail in over 4' of snow up in Rocky Mt. National Park. Watch the big horn sheep congregate right outside your cabin window. It really is a magical place, and we are just so blessed to share it with all of you! Can't wait to see you again...till next time..be well, and lots of good cheer!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
1.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#19 of 78 in Estes Park
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#11 of 78 in Estes Park
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your McGregor Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing