We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is like home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is like home away from home!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our second stay at McGregor. I was diagnosed with cancer in January of this year, and all I could think about was getting finished with treatment and getting back to this place. It is run by the sweetest and kindest innkeepers you could ever find. The cabins are rustic enough to give a wilderness feel, but modern enough to give you the full hotel experience. You are welcomed to the lobby at any time...and there you will find homemade cookies, coffees and teas, PLUS hot apple cider...all day long!
The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. I especially enjoy the "extras", such as a comfy fuzzy blanket throw that I carried outside to the Adirondack chair on the porch when I drank my morning coffee. T
The property ABOUNDS with wildlife! I was still recovering and couldn't do much strenuous hiking, but the animals came right to ME! And did I mention that this is the closest property to Rocky Mountain National Park?
It was the perfect vacation...

Room Tip: Get a room with a wood burning fireplace. We had a fire every evening. It was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildaboutcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
90
101
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got home after a three day getaway to McGregor Mountain Lodge. Loved it! Gorgeous views, friendly staff, wild turkeys to watch, elk viewing up close and personal. Welcoming 'lobby' with over stuffed couches, hot coffee/tea and great conversation. Great location...borders Rocky Mountain National Park. A beautiful 5 minute drive to downtown Estes Park. Loved our warm and cozy cabin with all the comforts of home. And dog friendly!

Room Tip: Cabin 2 is dog friendly and in the front of the property steps to the lodge lobby with hot coffee an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love this place and have been coming here for years! The setting is just outside the boundary of Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP). Wildlife--elk, big horn sheep, foxes, and the occasional bear--inhabit the property almost daily. The cabins are quiet, clean, cozy, have full kitchens, satellite TV, fire places. Our favorites are cabins #12, 14 and 17/18. There are never any "surprises"; ownership pays great attention to detail--if you need something, just ask. Mcgregor is a great place to just sit out and relax or use as a hub for all there is to do in RMNP, Estes Park and Grand Lake. We had our dog with us this visit and this is one of the very few pet-friendly locations in Estes Park; staff gave us informaton on the dog park, the walking trail around Lake Estes, and trails in the national forests. They recommended the town vet clinic for boarding while we hiked in RMNP. My only wish would be that they make all their cabins pet-friendly. They only offer a few, and we had to pay more for a larger cabin than we needed in order to get a pet-friendly cabin, since the others were booked. That aside, this is truly our "home away from home" in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Check out the map on the website. The upstairs suites have mountain and property views; all cabins a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just spent 7 days in a cottage- absolutely amazing! So close to RMNP - the hiking is fabulous - (The Loch was our favourite ) and yet so easy to get to Estes Park for food/restaurants. Cottage was lovely- comfy bed, romantic log fire, large bathroom, had breakfast and dinner outside looking at the mountains and watching the "critters"- the hummingbirds were awesome. We really loved it here -we hope to go back one day real soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gousa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were originally booked at another cabin resort and as luck would have it, it wasn't ready for us to use on the dates we needed. We were lucky enough to be referred to this place at the last minute, and what a treat it was!! Very friendly, professional service. They had every thing you needed and then some. The scenery and privacy was worth the price alone. The cabins were very clean and relaxing. We will go back with more of our family for sure. What a piece of heaven in the mountains they have. Thank You for a Wonderful vacation retreat.

Room Tip: Room # 6 has a fabulous view of the mountain right in front of it. Apparently several cabins are do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in Columbine Cabin #4 for four nights. I'm so glad we stumbled onto this property! First, the staff was excellent. Susan greeted us - she knew who we were when we walked in the door (I'm guessing our baby gave it away. I had told them we had an infant when I called and booked the room). She made us feel special. Then, she told us all the details about getting more firewood (they bring a new bundle everyday if you use it) and how to avoid delays in traffic and around RMNP.

Each cabin has its own parking spot behind that way your car doesn't block the view. Just know that your cabin does face Highway 36(?) but it is obscured by trees. You can still hear the traffic during the day, but it dies down at night to almost nothing.

Our cabin was clean and comfortable. The bedroom is small with no extra storage. There is a dresser in there but it is filled with extra blankets. The bed itself was comfortable. The bathroom is a good size with a whirlpool tub that was nice after a long hike in the park. We didn't use the stove or oven, but the coffee pot and microwave were just like at home! No hotel sizes here. There is no air conditioning but it's not necessary. We left our windows open all day and closed some of them at night because it got a little chilly.

We enjoyed our porch where chipmunks hovered under the bird feeder waiting for the birds to drop some seeds. And we loved the relaxed, family atmosphere. The McGregor Mountain Lodge is location just about a half mile from one of the entrances to the RMNP or you can walk into the park from the back of the property. Nice!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Columbine Cabin #4, but it is in the middle of a row of cabins. Cabin #3 is on the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west, fl
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for 5 days at the end of July. This property is well thought/laid out. You park behind your cottage and out your front door are the Rocky Mountains. The bird feeders in front of your picture window are filled daily and in turn you can't imagine the number of birds and chipmunks. I have never seen so many humming birds....and have never seen them dive bomb each like they do there. A black bear walked in front of our cottage yesterday on his way up the mountain. Pretty amazing to say the least. The cottages have everything you need except a washer and dryer. None on the property but this won't stop me coming back. I'll just bring extra underwear and socks next time. They accept pets.

The mattresses are on the soft side so I'll ask the front desk to hook me up next time.

Cottages are about three miles from downtown Estes Park and within two miles to the of Rocky Mountain N.P.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,444 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#27 of 78 in Estes Park
282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Property: McGregor Mountain Lodge
Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your McGregor Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing