We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Simply Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My family and I HIGHLY recommend McGregor! Extremely clean! Great staff-very friendly! High wildlife! Great views! What's not to like???!!!
My son and I visited in October, found McGregor by accident and we loved it. We stayed in cabin #14 Ponderosa Lodge. It has two bedrooms and is very spacious. My family and I have stayed in several places around Estes Park and all over the world and we were so impressed that my husband and I came back on December 16th and were scheduled to check out on the 23rd but we liked it so much we stayed until the 26th. We stayed in Cabin #1 (The old caretakers cottage) and were concerned about being so close to the road for two reasons, one because of the noise, and two because we thought the wildlife wouldn't come come around because of the traffic noise. We were pleasantly surprised to find that neither were a concern. Very peaceful and high wildlife. It is a very large cabin with a kitchen. The beds on both stays were extremely comfortable. We won't be staying anywhere else but McGregor when we go back to Estes Park for our yearly Christmas visit. Thanks to Chris, Michael, Susan, Steve, and the rest of the staff, our vacation was perfect. If we had questions or inquired about activities they were very helpful. When I inquired about sleigh rides they called around for me to try and find out for me. They were also very knowledgeable about where the best places to find certain wildlife in and around RMNP.
It snowed about 10 inches while we were there and the staff kept the snow and ice cleared from the property. They also kept hot spiced cider, hot cocoa, coffee, and cookies in the office. A bundle of wood and fresh towels were delivered everyday and the trash was taken out. Room service is available for 15% more but as we have found out from staying in other places in Estes Park, that is the norm in this area. There is a hot tub building on the property that you schedule time exclusively for you and yours and there's no extra charge for this. It was nice to sit in the hot tub and watch it snow and the views from there are great. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!
And did I mention WILDLIFE? :) We were greeted everyday by several bull elk. We also saw deer, fox, squirrels, and a big variety of birds either looking in our window or right outside our window. We also saw bighorn sheep about 1/4 of a mile from our cabin. The sheep are sometimes on the property but weren't while we were there. Great photo ops!
And the not so wild-the welcome committee of resident dogs was great! Tanner is a very friendly Burmese Mountain Dog and Alex is a Lab/Boxer mix. Both are very friendly, extremely well behaved, and fun to watch but not intrusive and don't bother or scare the wildlife! The wildlife don't seem to notice they are are around.
I very honestly could not find one thing negative about this property! I have recommended it to my friends. I have never written a review of any place I have stayed but felt this place warranted bragging on! If you haven't been there...GO!!! :)

Room Tip: For a small family #1 The Old Caretakers Cottage is great! For a larger family or two families gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RangerReda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

We highly recommend McGregor Mountain Lodge. McGregor Mountain Lodge is a picture perfect place to be, we could not ask for a better view from the cabin. The snow fall made it a winter wonderland and even though there was an 8-10" snow fall the staff kept the cabin roads clear for travel. Located near the entrance of the Rocky Mountain National Park, we enjoyed the wildlife right outside the cabins, elk, big horn sheep, birds visiting the bird feeders located at each cabin, and of course the resident's dogs made us feel right at home. The cabin amenities are all you could ask for in a comfortable stay. We stayed at McGregor's 20 years ago and decided to come back here to start our retirement travels. We highly recommend McGregor Mountain Lodge. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMills60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My wife and myself found this gem on our last trip to Estes Park to celebrate our anniversary on 11/19/2011 thur. 11/20/2011. The cabin was warm and comfortable, the people were so friendly. The day we checked in we where greeted by a Bull Elk eating out of the bird feeders, he later visited outside our cabin to clean out the other feeder also, got tons of photo's. The property is very close to the park and just a short drive to Estes Park for anything you need. The next morning we were greeted by a cute little Fox outside our cabin who hung around for so great photo's again. Mcgregor has everything thing you need and a lot more than the hotel chains down the road. We will be back next time we coming thur. this way again. Thanks for reading Tim

Room Tip: Call the motel and they can help you finding the right room or cabin!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Clean and cute cabins close to one of two park entrances. Price seemed a bit steep and rooms were a bit tight.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceyStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is an amazing place to stay. Just got back from our 4th stay at McGregor and can't wait until we can go back. The rooms are clean and homey. Very comfortable. Each cabin or room has its own patio, chairs and grill. Wonderful to sit outside and watch the wildlife or enjoy the scenery. The wildlife at the lodge is amazing. We were greeted by the most beautiful fox who stuck around for a while so we could take pictures. Moments later we were greeted by a large bull elk. There are chipmunks, hummingbirds, prairie dogs, ground squirrels, elk, numerous types of birds and even marmots. There are bird feeders by each room. The lodge is about 3 min away from RMNP entrance. Close to the town but far enough away to feel like you are staying in the wilderness.
The owners - Michael and Chris are so friendly and helpful with whatever you need. Susan is absolutely amazing, so friendly and kind. The main lodge has chocolate chip cookies,(my husband loves the cookies!), coffee and hot apple cider for those cool mountain mornings. Staying here is like a home away from home. We will be back again and again. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else while in Estes Park!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have stayed here fall, winter, spring, and now summer. It just seems to get better. Friendly proprietors, very clean premises, lovely cabins, and a great location. We will be back.

Two tips:

1) Cell phone service is spotty at best. Verizon, AT&T, and Alltel do not work at all. You will need to drive back into town for service.

2) Wireless Internet is available, but is slow and unreliable. This is the one area we would like to see improved. If it were, we could stay a full week.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackRoadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We've stayed here several times, usually for our anniversary. We pick a different unit (cabin) each time and it is always a fun stay. The people are the friendliest and most accommodating people you will ever meet. The units are appointed beautifully, each with a kitchen, dining area, TV with DVD player, deck and chairs to take in the scenery and more. The elk, big horn sheep, deer and, yes, chipmunks feel just as much at home on the grounds as you will. In town you'll find specialty shops, a plethora of dining possibilities, local attractions and Rocky Mountain National Park.
We're planning a family reunion here this year or next, depends on the rest of the group.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kings_on_the_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your McGregor Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing