We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better every time we stay here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We camp here a couple of times a year. Aspen glen is reservable and pretty with a creek the kids can play in., every time we go we discover another beautiful hike. The kids love o play around the Alluvial fan - you can climb next to the waterfalls. My favorite hike of all time is sky pond!!! 10 miles of pure bliss

6  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

If entering RMNP from the East, this is a wonderful campground. It's at the base of the mountains so it's much more temperate (avoid freezing nights in the Summer). It's a stone's throw from the entrance to the park, but set back a good quarter mile so you're removed from all the park traffic. Our site was nice, though our neighbors were loud way past quiet time and I did not see a ranger to request them to quiet down.

Has drinking water and bathrooms. No showers. There is also a nightly ranger talk at 8:30pm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Chaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful campground in Rocky Mountain national park. Convenient location near Fall River entrance. 10 min drive to Estes park and grocery store. Park rangers were very friendly. Nightly programs for kids with rangers. No electricity or showers but flush toilets and clean bathrooms. Camp sites were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank swofford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We decided to go camping with our kids (ages 5 and 3) over the Forth of July week. This campsite was not our first choice, rather the only option we could find on a fully booked week. I am SO glad we god the site we did! Everything is close to bathrooms, water, and everywhere you look is just gorgeous! The wild flowers are out in full force right now and our site was flanked by wild roses. This was the most relaxing, beautiful vacation we have ever had. And the RMNP staff was super friendly and helpful. They are currently remodeling some of the bathrooms, but they are very conscientious about the noise they make.

Room Tip: If you travel with small children remember to bring a lantern for night-time bathroom trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSep86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

First off, very easy to find, literally within eyesight from rmnp entrance (side note: the people working the entrance booths, probably the friendliest gov employees I've ever encountered, all were very very nice). Windy road takes you back to campsites, the only downside, the sites were closer together than expected, but the vistas were worth it. Next time though, will definitely do one of the walk in sites. We took a stroll around the campground, the walk ins were much more secluded and right next to the river. And not more then twenty/thirty yards to walk from parking area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Cschou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is right on par with most campground in the country. I loved the area, being from Ga. The Ricky's are amazing. There are lots of hiking, skiing, fishing, and a lot of good sights! We are primitive campers so I am not sure how big of an R.V. They except but there were plenty of them in the park.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this campground in an RV (Aspenglen didn't have hook-ups). It was a quiet and relaxing place to stay in the canyon with the giant rock mountains on each side of us - beautiful! There is a river that flows through the campground that is nice to walk to - our kids liked climbing on the rocks. Aspenglen is just a few miles from Estes Park so the location is convenient. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bears06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#57 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#36 of 78 in Estes Park
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skyline Cottages
Skyline Cottages
#76 of 78 in Estes Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park

Address: 1000 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517-8311
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing