We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Estes.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this resort in July 2012. Great decor and very well kept, right on the lake.The price was reasonable . Stayed in in a 2 qn room on main floor with shared balcony overlooking lake.Excellent view and comfortable bedding.We walked to town (about 1 mi easy walk). Marina is right next door. The restaurant had good food. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Estes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltrix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are working hard to ensure every guest has a great experience not only representing our resort, but all of Estes Park as a destination worthy of coming back to again and again - I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for The Estes Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 480 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Friendly staff, nice rooms. ambiance galore!
The king size bed was comfortable and the room was really larger than we expected. We would have preferred that the bathroom sink was separate from the bedroom, but that was fairly minor, considering everything else was roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is all we expected and more. The staff were fast, friendly and very accommodating. The suite we were in was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was fantastic. The Trout was excellent, the Bananas Foster was great. Their wine list has a good selection of average priced wines. The wait staff was very fast and attentive. Situated on lake Estes, the restaurant / lounge overlooks the lake, large windows offer exceptional views of sun rise and sun set over the mountains. We will defiantly be back. Thank you to everyone at the Estes Park Resort.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room, you will be glad you did. The King suite with fireplace is a very nic...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairwayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My two roommates and I were part of a group of women at a scrapbooking event from Fri. through Sun. Our workroom was smaller and more crowded than at other hotels we have used for similar events but the staff cheerfully met our requests for extra lighting, tables and chairs, helping arrange the room to accommodate us and the large volume of supplies we brought with us. The room was on the west side of the hotel so we had a wonderful view across Lake Estes of the range of mountains anchored by Longs Peak. The room also had outdoor deck access that we enjoyed for the view as well as for stretching our legs and getting some delightfully crisp, fresh mountain air. As for our private guest room, it was large, comfortable, well decorated and scrupulously clean. My only complaint is that the vanity is in the main room rather than in the bathroom. Because one in our party retires early and the other 2 are night owls, it was difficult for the 2 to get ready for bed without disturbing the other one who was sleeping (or at least trying to be). Oh, and this little complaint: the toilet had no "lid" and no place else to set "stuff" while showering/dressing, 'tho there IS one small hook on the back of the door for hanging one item of clothing. The restaurant is a little pricey (i.e. $10 for a wedge salad) but we decided we'd rather pay a little more than take time away from our scrapbooking by driving into town to eat elsewhere. We thought our meals were of exceptional quality. The cream of portobello mushroom soup was perfect---the best I've ever had. All the other dishes were well-presented and delicious. For the purpose of our visit (not exactly mainstream, not for outdoor recreation and rarely/never leaving the hotel) the facility was ideal. Staff extremely friendly, attentive and responsive (special nod to Caitlin at the front desk, who was friendly, polite, patient and helpful). Room spacious, very clean and well-supplied. Quality food in the restaurant (lots of glass, great view of the lake and mountains). Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level have no view. The east-facing rooms on upper floors have modest views toward th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenecaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Estes Park Resort for a short "babymoon" weekend and had a great experience. The room had beautiful views of the lake and Rocky Mountain National Park. The rooms were not the fanciest I've ever had but were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. The room and restaurant were slightly overpriced but my impression is that everything in Estes is a bit on the expensive side. I would defienately return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csuhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Estes Park Resort. All I can say is it was OUTSTANDING! The rooms were excellent, the view was breathtaking, the location was perfect! All staff was attentive but I want to give a special THANK YOU to Kari and Camelo in the dining area and Josh and James in the Bar. The service,food and drinks were outstanding. If given the chance, have Camelo make your dessert a special one. Ask for his Bananas Foster or some kind of Strawberry Flambe. We had one of each, each night and all I can say is it was EXCELLENT! This was our first trip to Estes Park. The locals were very friendly.
Thank you, we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a lake side view, totally gorgeous!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketrod644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hello;
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experience here with others! I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us - Our team has been working hard to make sure every single guest enjoys their time in Estes Park, and I am very happy to see we exceeded your expectations! I hope the next time you are in town, you will do us the honor of allowing us to serve your travel and dining needs again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our visit to the Resort was an extended stay as we took care of some family business around New Year. Given the shoulder season, there were lots of cheaper places in Estes, but we wanted a solid place for our 6 day stay. So, we booked here.

Location - lovely. On the lake with decent views. (A caveat on views follows below).

Service at check-in. Wonderful Down home friendliness. And every request during our stay was met with eagerness and lightening action. Well done.

Lobby and facilities. The lobby is quaint, not huge. I found the bar to be really good. Nice service and good products. The restaurant less so - that has received a separate and not positive review on Tripadvisor. A games room is a great thing to have for families, and pool and gym were more than acceptable.

Rooms - very large, very clean. Modern. Overall, very good. With two small issues. If you book a room on the lower level, you will have no view, and little light. You'll save a few dollars, as we did, but plan to watch TV, because there is nothing to see out the window. Second, the vanity and mirror is not in the bathroom, but in the room itself. So, everyone will be watching you as you perform your morning ablutions. Not ideal. Very nice beds and pillows. Quiet. EXCELLENT free wifi.

Good and free parking. Ease of access to the town, nice coffee in the room.

It is a better than average hotel, but seals the deal by managing to attract and train staff that truly make you feel at home. That matters.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voegelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $168 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing