We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mountain lake views from balcony” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mountain lake views from balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights before going to the Lane Guest Ranch, we stay in Estes Park to get used to the Mt. air.
We had a king room on 3rd floor with a balcony. Overall very nice hotel, rooms were large, clean, nicely done. Service was excellent, very nice hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping. Food was way above avg. we had breakfast every morning @ hotel. Omlets were outstanding, lunch also excellent. Did not have dinner there.
The view from our room was worth the trip. On our first morning @ 6:00 AM, opened up drapes and saw a mom elk and baby calf drinking from Lake Estes, woke up my wife for this sight. Will remember that sight for the rest of our lives. In the evening we could see 100"s of trout jumping from the lake, feeding maybe 50 feet away, right from our balcony. The Estes Lake walking trail is right outside the door, people walking dogs of all kinds, joggers, etc, added a nice touch.
Overall an excellent place to stay. Only negitive points
1. Balcony is not priviate, it runs along the outside of hotel, but is connected to your room via patio doors.
2. Entire hotel could use an update, futniture old and worn, but clean, same for carpets.
3. Shuttle does not stop there, so getting to downtown area without car requires a taxi, only $10 dollars.
Best positive points
1. Staff, servers in resturant were great, on first name basis on first day.
2. Food was just outstanding
3. THE VIEW FROM THE ROOM!!!!!! Unforgetable, just unforgetable.
4. Nice resturant for dinner 3 min. walk thru parking lot.

As we already booked Lane Guest Ranch for next year in Aug. I believe we will stay here again for 3 days, this time staying in a corner suite with fireplace and hot tub in room, if possible the view appears to be even better, and balconies are private.

Room Tip: 3rd foor offer the best view, even with kids running around hotel, very quite in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John60133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    106
    73
    38
    16
See reviews for
141
166
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Nice indoor pool. However, please note that for the high price, their 1st floor rooms are really in the basement. Also, breakfast is $15.00 per person with no complimentary coffee in sight. The hotel charged us for two nights when we only stayed one night. We notified them as soon as we caught their mistake a few days later, but the staff insisted that we "changed" our stay to two nights after our one night, which we did no such thing. They reluctantly agreed to issue us refund, but failed to do so. Now my credit card is starting an investigation and will see we were in South Dakota that next day/night....This is just too much trouble and aggravation. Just stay in a cheaper place that has similar views (there are many hotels on that road by that lake), get coffee and breakfast included, and maybe even be walking distance to the downtown shops...We're just disappointed for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for being our guest! I am very sorry to see you did not have a more positive experience with us. All our rooms have been recently renovated, and our product is now the nicest in Estes Park. We have also made some other improvements, for example, complimentary coffee is now available in our lobby until 10am. While other hotels in town do have some great views - we are the only hotel on Lake Estes, and no one else in town can offer you both lake, and mountain views. I am pleased to see we did correct the problem regarding the number of nights you were charged- I apologize for the delay in getting this resolved. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The lake view room is the way to go. Absolutely amazing view. The restaurant served delicious food, the mussels provencal was worth getting twice during our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzouchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for joining us for your trip into Estes Park! We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you can come again, and give us the pleasure of serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Decatur, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel was clean and nice. Nothing fancy. We had 3rd floor lake view, requested at booking, had nice view of the lake and the field beside hotel when the mule deer and elk came in. Ate breakfast there and it was good. Staff was nice. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danaj313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi DanaJ313-
Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of serving your travel and meal needs while in Estes Park! We have completely remodeled all of our guest rooms and event areas since your last stay with us - I hope you will consider making another trip to Estes Park, and joining us again in the very near future! Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here prior to a hiking trip. Rooms were plenty big and beds were comfortable.Ate in the restaurant 3 times and food was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Jon,
Thank you for staying with us - If you enjoyed us in 2011, you will really enjoy us now! This past spring we completed a renovation of our entire building - the same great views, but with the comfortable guest rooms and public spaces all upgraded to a new level! I hope you will please consider taking another trip to Estes Park, and allowing us to serve your lodging needs again very soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Property: The Estes Park Resort
Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing