We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the free water and snacks, good breakfast and comfy beds!”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the free water and snacks, good breakfast and comfy beds!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was a great little place to stay for one night. The beds were very comfy, although we did find a couple of fleas in one of the beds. But since it is a pet friendly place, I guess I'm not too surprised. The bathroom was very small and dated, and it could've used a trash can. The rustic furniture was awesome! The boys enjoyed the hot tub, pool, and WiFi. The view was decent and the complimentary water and snacks were great. Overall, I thought the room was a bit pricey compared to what I'm used to, but I kinda expected it from a touristy place like this. Great for one or two nights if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in the room. Why would you when you have the Rockies next to you?!?!?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foggy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Fleas do not live at this high of an altitude. However, bugs do occasionally get drug into the rooms, being that we are in the mountains. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the furniture, pool, hot tub, wifi and snacks! We are continually improving the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Estes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    128
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Estes Park, I was very pleased with the hotel & its staff. The hotel is older, but well-maintained. Our family decided to extend our stay by 2 more days over the 4th of July holiday. The manager and front desk staff were very helpful in helping us search to find vacancy in the sold out city. The manager was able to accommodate us for 2 more nights at Hotel Estes after checking availability & bookings at their affiliated hotels. We did need to change rooms, but all were very helpful in making the transition a smooth one. Can't beat their location on Big Thompson Rd. either!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that we were able to accommodate you during the hectic 4th of July weekend. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a older hotel that has been maintained very well. The room was clean, and nice. We had a 3 queen bed room that was perfect! I wish we would have stayed 2 nights. Will stay again the next time we go!!

Room Tip: Upstairs looks like it would have a great view, and chairs on the balcony, if you want to haul your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward seeing you during your next visit to Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our Mission Group stayed at this fabulous hotel. It is very clean, great queen beds, and a plentiful continental breakfast. It is located close to downtown. Drive right up to your hotel door. Great view of the mountains!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeflyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! It was a pleasure working with your group. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had a group of 37 people (both youth and adults) that were on a mission trip. We stayed at Hotel Estes for one night at the end of our time in Colorado. The entire staff was amazing - both before we arrived (setting up multiple rooms) and while we were there. They allowed our group to use the entire lobby for a late night meeting, had a good continental breakfast ready in the morning, and helped guide our group to several different activities. The rooms were awesome - clean, updated with comfortable beds, PLUS they offered our group roll-aways at no charge. Whether you're traveling as a couple, family, or large group - you won't be disappointed with Hotel Estes. I will definitely stay there the next time I'm in Estes Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKimmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
It was truly a delight to have you stay at Hotel Estes! You guys were great to work with from the time of reservation, to check out. You had a great crew! We hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The views from our room were fantastic. We were on the second floor which was a pain to climb but the view was worth it. I would have given it 5 stars but the coffee and rolls were not available until 7:30. The second item was when I called because we were not sure on the directions I told the person where we were (lily lake) and he sent us back up a mountain. We stopped again and got directions from someone who lives there. The person who answered the phone did not know the area.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank constance63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and a good nights rest. We truly appreciate your input on the wifi and towels. We currently replaced the towels, but will work on the wifi next. We recently changed ownership and have been working on numerous improvements at the property. Thank you for your input and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you're just looking for a good night's sleep, then this hotel delivers. Our room was clean and quiet with adequate temperature controls. The queen beds were extremely comfortable--quality mattresses with silky sheets--providing us with one of the best night's sleep we've ever had at a hotel. As other guests have mentioned, however, normal curtains would have allowed us to enjoy the mountain view from our picture window. We also would have preferred a larger bathroom with better towels. A faster, more reliable Internet connection would have been helpful, too. The price was right, though, especially compared with other 3-star hotels in town.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have an elevator. If you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Since your stay, we have replaced the towels. We are also in the process of upgrading our internet service. Being in the mountains, it is sometimes hard to get reliable internet service! In addition, we appreciate your input about the blinds. When we renovated the hotel, we chose to get blinds. A majority of our rooms face west towards the continental divide, and the blacktop. We though blinds would provide better protection from the sun. However, due to your feedback, we will consider getting blinds in the future. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Property: Hotel Estes
Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing