We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great view and clean room for the value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view and clean room for the value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was a short stay at Estes park but the hotel was fantastic. Has a cabin type feel. Very clean room and you could see the rocky mountains from the room. The view is simply amazing. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muntasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Estes! We also love the mountain furniture in the rooms, as well as the views of the continental divide. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    115
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
164
79
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Comfortable, clean room with a great view. What I liked best about this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. Enrique was very helpful, suggesting different day trips, advising on the road conditions due to the floods in September, and sharing information about Estes Park. It was a treat to walk out every morning to a magnificent view of the mountains on our way to the office for a free continental breakfast. Breakfast time lasted until 10:30 which is nice for late sleepers. Once breakfast time was over, they provided snacks, juice, bottled water, coffee, hot water for tea or cocoa all day long. Thank you Hotel Estes for providing a home away from home on our very first trip to Estes Park. We will definitely stay at Hotel Estes when we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryQ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a motel. The rooms are adequate in size, the western décor fits, the view from the window is great. The washer&dryer in the service building came in handy. There's a pool and hot tub, closed when I stayed at the end of September. The breakfast is a bit Spartan, but your room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusMacTavish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We love the mountain, pine furniture in the hotel rooms. It goes very well with the surrounding mountains. Our pool, as well as one of our hot tubs, is seasonal. However, we do have one hot tub that is open year round. We truly appreciate your input on the breakfast. Due to guest reviews like yours, we have expanded our breakfast offerings. Please feel free to email us if you have any suggestions for improvements at the property. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Typical gateway town motel room, decor is "rustic" but clean. Shower is adequately hot and pressurized. Could stand a bit more lighting in the bathroom and sink area. WiFi free and strong in my room and sufficiently fast for light browsing and video. Bed comfy. Breakfast is very bare bones, only toast/bagels/oatmeal/hardboiled eggs/fruit. Safeway aupermarket right down the street, as well as chains like McD and KFC. Pool outside, looked small and geared for the kids.

However, what really shines is the staff. I was present during the recent flooding and the staff not only kept us informed about the road conditions but moved quickly to attend to our comfort. We lost WiFi and telephone but the staff was able to arrange for alternative internet and voice connection at another property down the road. At checkout, they even knocked off 10% without any prompting. Would definitely stay again for the great service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huangj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We purchased Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been making improvements as quickly as we are able to! If you have any specific suggestions, please feel free to email us. We truly appreciate guest input and choose our yearly improvements according to it. In addition, we recently added cereal and a few other items to the breakfast! Thank you for the kind compliments on the staff. The flood was a difficult time for everyone and we are glad that we were able to keep you informed through it! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found out about the annual Scottish/Irish Festival about a month before the event and while trying to find accommodations we found most of the hotels in the area already booked solid. This hotel still had rooms available. I was quoted a price of $152 per night and told that if I cancelled there would be a $20 cancellation fee. If I cancelled within 3 days of the reservation, I would lose one nights stay that they immediately put on my charge account. To verify the dollar amount, I asked if I would cancel, would I receive a credit on my charge account of $132. I was told yes. When the e-mail confirmation came through, the price was $162 per night. I called back and was told the man that made the reservation wasn't there so my story couldn't be verified and that the price was $162 per night. This was the only place left so we kept the reservation even though I felt this was no way to do business. Had I not verified the $132 refund, I would have thought I had misunderstood.
The actual stay was disappointing as well. The place has been entirely redone with knotty pine over floors that squeak. The bed and pillows were too firm for me and actually gave me a head ache. The "maid service" didn't speak English. The drive way is asphalt running downhill over tree roots with few parking spaces. The "free breakfast" consisted of bread, pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs (the first day) apples, and oranges. The second day, no cold hard boiled eggs. With these prices, I felt they should have had everything imaginable. I could not recommend this place and I certainly would never stay there again. A most disgusting experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelectiveSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is extremely reasonably priced, especially compared to other Estes Park hotels during the Scottish Festival. We have been working on improving Hotel Estes. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the bed. Our entire property has new beds and we do get numerous compliments about them. In addition, we do have ample parking. Even when our property is full, we always have additional parking spots available. Since your stay, we have added cereal and yogurt to the breakfast. We hope to improve it even more before next summer! We also added new carpet to additional rooms this Winter. When doing so, we tightened the floor boards and added extra padding, which should help with the sound. As for the staff, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We went back through our records and we did not find a single reservation for that weekend that was at the rate of $162. Our rooms were at the rate of $150-$155, and we did not charge anyone a rate higher than that. The reason that your rate was higher when you received the conformation email, is that the total included the tax on the room. In the industry, room prices are typically quoted before the tax is added. If you do have the email, we would be more than happy to review it and to refund you if you were wrongly charged. However, we do appreciate your input and apologize about the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
519 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Estes in Estes Park, CO for two nights in September. We stayed in a king room for $91 (AARP rate). The bed was comfortable and the furniture was nice. We stayed in room 211 and had a great view of the mountains. They have a nice hot tub and pool but we did not get in either. The plumbing and floor was a bit noisy so get a room on the second floor. The breakfast did not start until 7:30 so we missed that on one morning. We were eager to get hiking early in the day. The breakfast has lots of pasties, donuts and boiled eggs. The staff very friendly.
After the first night, we put our belongings (a small overnight bag) in my SUV and went hiking. When we returned after a day of hiking, our key did not work. We went to the office, and they said they thought we left town so they checked us out. What? I wonder what would have happened if they had booked up before we returned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the room! The rooms do have a very nice mountain feel, and 211 does have an amazing view of the continental divide. We have added additional items to our breakfast since your stay, including yogurt and cereal. We sincerely apologize about the confusion with the check-out date. We are not sure what happened, but are looking into the issue. If you have any additional input, please feel free to email us. We acquired Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been making numerous improvements to the property. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel (motel exactly) has pro's and con's.

The pro's:
-very friendly staff
-good beds
-close to Rocky Mountain NP
-clean and spacious rooms

The con's:
-very dated rooms (carpet, bathroom, thin walls)
-breakfast is not much, very small breakfast area and not much to choose from

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linny-NL-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff, beds, location and room overall. We purchased Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been working to improve the hotel. We replaced carpet in 15 additional rooms this winter and are working on other improvements as well! We have also improved the breakfast since your stay and now offer a larger variety of items such as yogurt and cereal. If you have any specific improvements that you would like to see at the hotel, please let us know! We truly value guest feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Property: Hotel Estes
Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing