We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel's new management is doing a great job with the renovations. The hotel looks nice, the beds were great. It is above average compared to other hotels I have stayed at in Estes Park. Room size was good, morning breakfast was more than enough and the staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: Check the parking lot in the morning. We saw many Elk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsonomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for the compliments! We are glad that our hard work is taking notice. I notice you were here at the end of summer-fall time period. That's a perfect time to see the wildlife in Estes Park. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms were exceptionally clean for an older hotel recently under new ownership and renovation. The continental breakfast was plentiful and included fresh fruit, eggs, muffins, variety of juices and coffee- great for a large family! All day long free popcorn and bottled water for active families. The amazement was the exceptional way our family was treated by the employees. Susie was at the front desk and went out of her way to ensure everything was perfect for our family. She knew my daughter and I were in a rush to get 4 doors down to another hotel to prepare for my older daughters wedding and took us there herself when she heard we were going to walk with our dressy attire on. Susie should get a raise!!!!! Hotel Estes has a beautiful view with herds of elk grazing in the back of the property and a great outdoor swimming pool for water lovers. I would definitely recommend your stay here. The location is supurb, staff is very customer- centered. All of our needs were met at a very affordable rate!!! Thank-you

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a great hotel, and the views didn't hurt either! I was extremely impressed by the cleaniness of the room. It is by far the cleanest hotel I have stayed in, rivaling much more expensive chain hotels. The owners really put a lot of care into the hotel, from the rustic trim lining the exterior and the interior of the rooms, to the super comfy beds. The staff was super friendly, and helpful, even offering free laundry detergent. Again, details I don't usually see in other hotels. It is a basic room, a little on the small size, but if you are staying in Estes, you aren't spending a ton of time in your hotel room. However, coming to your super clean room and great bed, leaves you relaxed and ready to start your next adventure! The breakfast is average, and the buffet line gets a little cramped, but I recommend eating your breakfast outside your room in the patio area. I look forward to visiting again. I totally recommend Hotel Estes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

this is an older motel in the heart of Estes park, everyting has been very recently updated, beds are new too. hotel staff was very nice and polite, housse cleaning staff did a great job cleaning the rooms as we stayed 2 days.
Swimming pool was just a tad cool but it was really cool the days we wer there too, hot tub was perfect on the cool days/nights.
Only draw back i had was that we were on motorcycles and the parking area is on a pretty good slope but, just about all of these motels in Estes are on a mountain side and they all have to make parking with the area they have.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The rooms are very clean. The beds are comfy. Nice view with seating area outside of room. Not too far from the downtown area. The pool and hot tub are great. A great place to stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanDugg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Came here with my teenage son for a quick get away from the Texas heat; much of the city was booked. We drove around and found this place (we stayed at the Rocky Mountain Hotel the evening before - was fine...but did not compete with these views, value and atmosphere ). The management is really working hard on making the outside beautiful (taking up concrete, adding hummingbird friendly plants, painting, new deck chairs overlooking great views - new owners I believe). Anyway, being on a budget, I was torn between two motels. I LOVED MY SELECTION!!! The staff was sooo friendly; everyone says hi or may I help? - loved the homey feel! The light breakfast, free laundry soap, views, quiet atmosphere, price...cannot beat this place. I would 100% come here again! We paid about $110 for 1 night - they may bargain if you ask...again, they are all sooo nice. Email if you have any questions...

Room Tip: If you want an amazing value, stay here. If you need to be by the city center, it's about 1/3 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0vetheCarribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we rented the room thinking the pool would be warm not cold we also was told they had free hbo the didnt even have hbo the word cable was direct tv having these chanels weather chanel, food chanel, fx , tnt, amc, and 2 outhers chanels leaving a toatle of 7 chanels the hot tub the first night was so hot you couldant stan in ti for any length of time i was in there about 5 min and got out my feet and outher parts of my body was beet red the room if some one gets up above you and moves at all it is verry loud on the bottom floor

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Hotel Estes Team Member at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate all guest input. Each of our hotel rooms have 25 channels. We have gone through each room to make sure they are working correctly. We hope to get additional channels soon!
Unfortunately, we do not have HBO. Our hotel switched ownership, management and staff approximately 3 months ago. We had to get rid of HBO so that we could upgrade previous cable services for our guests. We apologize if you reservation was made prior to the management, ownership and cable switch.
In addition, our pool and hot tub temperatures are checked every night and they were set to a comfortable temperature that evening. We try to work with all guests who have issues, whatever their need be. However, it is difficult to work with guests who have threatened litigation and who can be difficult. Despite these issues, we appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,558 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $97 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing