We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It is my understanding that this hotel recently switched owners & is now "Hotel Estes". Congratulations to the new owners, but you do have some work to do.

Having worked in the hospitality industry for several years, I have some expectations. I do base my expectations on what we pay, so I wasn't expecting too much here. My complaints are just basics, & with a little bit of communication, teamwork, effort & investment, can be fixed easily.

We came up from Denver for St. Patrick's Day weekend & we had a great time hiking, walking around the lake, & seeing old friends in town. The location of this hotel is great...if you're going into town to drink it's just a short walk back "home" to avoid the Estes Park DUI Force. They have a pool & a small hot tub, which were understandably closed for the season - but it would be a great amenity in the summer months! It was also just a short walk to the lake for a nice morning walk.

The first problem we had was checking in. I had called around 9:30am to confirm our reservations & that we were bringing our dog with us. I was told everything was fine and we were in a pet friendly room. When we arrived, they only had us booked for 1 night (we had booked 2) and we were not booked in a pet friendly room. Not a problem, easy enough to switch. The front desk girl switched us to another room - we checked it out before we brought our bags & dog crate up the stairs (thankfully).
Thumbs down - all of the furniture was on top of the beds!
Thumbs up - it was very obvious the room had just received a serious deep clean.
We went back to the front desk and were moved back to the original room, had to sign a new registration slip & were placed back in the first room that is not pet friendly under the terms that "The dog will be fine."

Room Issues:
One of the beds sagged so bad in the middle that it was impossible to even sit on. The second bed was as hard as a rock & the mattress pad bunched underneath the sheets.
The people in the room above us did not stop moving all night - which is not the hotel's fault - but the fact that we could hear them all night sucked. There was very clearly not a lot of sound proofing work done when the hotel was built. Every time the next room over used their sink, shower, or toilet, our pipes rattled severely - it sounded like someone was trying to break in through our bathroom window.

Recommendations to the new owners:
Replace the mattresses. Sleep quality is important to your guests, and you will get better reviews and in turn more repeat guests.
Replace the duvet covers / comforters. They are very out of date & way beyond "rustic".
Replace the TVs. Flat panel TVs are less expensive now than tube TVs were when the current tube TVs were put in. Small touches like that mean a lot to guests. Again, you will get better reviews and in turn more repeat guests.
Make sure your front desk staff knows what's going on. We should have been placed in a pet friendly room to begin with, since I did call to let your staff know we were bringing our dog. Additionally, we should have never been sent to a room that wasn't clean & inspected. Communication is important, even if it's not technological.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imagineapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay at Tyrol Mountain Inn was less than great. Rest assured that the property will be in great operating condition should you decide to return. We are nearly out of the transitional stage that you may have found us in over the holiday weekend.

Today, March 21, 2012 we received a shipment of brand new Serta mattresses. Starting today every room will have new mattresses and box springs. I'm sorry that then new mattresses did not arrive before your stay began.

New bedding and comforters were ordered some time ago. We are having them custom made for the property which tends to take a little more time than standard bedclothes in bulk. We are expecting the new bedding within the next several weeks, however, and we regret that our new comforters did not arrive before your stay began.

Because we have just come into possession of the property we are engaged in quite a bit of deep cleaning. Admittedly, we should have made sure that your room was indeed presentable before your check in. These "wrinkles," if you will, are being ironed out as our transition progresses.

We thank you for choosing Tyrol Mountain Inn and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer in der oberen Etage haben einen besseren Blick auf die Berge. Die Treppe dahin ist aller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndreasWachtberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Maak niet uit het is er rustig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ravens01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: consiglio la 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoBarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaravB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XantippeNrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing