We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Colorado Mountain Getaway”
Review of Dao House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dao House
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located seven miles from Estes Park, on Highway 7, just over the hill from Lily Lake (an easy hike around the lake) is Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa. We had a lovely two-night stay at the Lodge.
Had a short hike in the Rocky Mountain National Forest the first day of our arrival. Then we checked into Aspen Lodge.
Very comfortable king-size bed, large flat screen TV on the wall----standard bath---very rustic log cabin decor. The first night we had a delicious dinner at the "Simplicity" Restaurant located just a walk from the Lodge----tomato bread appetizer, chicken masala, seafood linguini----excellent wait-staff was very attentive to our dining needs----the Chef even came out to see we were pleased with our selections.
The next morning, we had a wonderful "City Slicker" horseback ride around the property with head wrangler, Ricky, who pointed out terrific views of Longs Peak, Twin Sisters, etc.
Though we were there also to do hiking in the national forest, we learned, by the owner, that this was a Family Oriented resort with many activities for all family members--- tennis/racquetball courts, fitness area (weights, stationary bikes, stretching area, sauna, hot tub, pool, showers); guided walks, Tai chi instruction, Birding Hike at Lily Lake, private catch and release fishing lessons on Beaver Mountain Lake out front of the Lodge, private sauna time, jeep tours, rock climbing, and fly fishing river wading trips, pony rides/crafts for the children, Spa therapies, and many more activities. Opened year round, it includes biking, cross country skiing, sleds, ice skates (all with rentals), every horse drawn wagon or sleigh rides.
We plan to return and enjoy the fall colors in the Estes Park area. Enjoyed the stay.
We'll be Back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main Lodge, but there are individual cabins on the property. Try them!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Dao House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pros: Clean rooms, friendly helpful hotel staff, horseback riding was fun, great views, couples massage was nice too.

Cons: Our dinners were burnt, the restaurant was empty and the dinners should have been perfect. The chef was very unprofessional in blaming his trainee, a good chef would have double checked any meal leaving his kitchen, especially with us and just 2 other couples there on a Wed evening, or just accepted the blame. The chef should also dress like one, instead of wearing jeans greeting guests. Dress to impress, or at least look like a pro. Thursday it was raining, so we thought we would give them another chance versus driving back to Estes for dinner, the Hamburger was fine, but my girlfriend said the Appetizer she ordered tasted like Mayonnaise.

No coffee makers in the room, and no "public" coffee until 8AM when they start the continental breakfast.

Beds need duvets, looks kind of tacky with out them.

No vending machines for Soda, or snacks, or public ice machine, you can ask staff and they will get you some.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for the review and suggestions on our service. We have spoken with the kitchen staff to improve future service and food quality. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took my family here to go horseback riding and we had a wonderful time. The trail was absolutely gorgeous! Our trail guide was friendly and informative. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an inexpensive way to enjoy some family time!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Loriloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

stayed here for two nights. location is great, didnt have to fight any traffic getting into estes park. staff was very friendly. asian inspired decor, and gifts kind of odd? but great cabin feel. we were disappointed at the time breakfast started, 8-10 which we had to leave their hotel at 6am to attend a rafting trip. the second day we were able to attend and had the basics. we did get a horseback riding trip with our living social and we LOVED it. we also ate at the restaurant that is on the premises, very delicious. we went right at sunset and sat on the deck and had some delicious wine, VERY beautiful and relaxing. we would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormykeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

One could not ask for a more beautiful location. Just about 15 minutes outside of the congestion and traffic of Estes Park. During my stay, I went horse back riding, which was wonderful, fishing, hiking, and partook in several other outdoor activities. The staff were all very friendly and quick to make my stay comfortable.
My only reservation would be that, while under new ownership, the "Old West" feel that many come to experience is slowly fading away, all the while being replaced by new decor, all of which is of Asian descent. Now, there is nothing at all wrong with this, it just came as a shock that, while adventuring in the Rocky Mountains, I walked into the reception area and was greeted by a giant Buddha statue and dozens of other similar ornaments.
Although, after learning about the new owner it came as little surprise. He is a 25th generation Taoist priest with plans to eventually change the large property into a functioning Taoist temple.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a beautiful getaway. My only wish, is that the rich cultural heritage that is ever-present in Colorado, be preserved.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hikerfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Held a large family reunion there and all 80 of us had a wonderful time. So much to see and do. Close to Estes Park but still far enough away to be away from the crowds. Food is also great and very reasonably priced. If you're planning an event, Robin deserves 5 stars!!

Room Tip: This is a western style mountain lodge, not the Waldorf-Astoria or large beach resort, so know where...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had our daughter's wedding here. Gracious and courteous staff, delicious food, great views and location. Swimming, a lake to paddle around in, hot tub. A magical weekend. Both the cabins and the lodge have a phenomenal view of the Rocky Mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for the West-facing rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itscoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
478 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
6.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dao House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dao House

Address: 6120 State Highway 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-6401 (Formerly Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $200 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dao House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain lodge surrounded by Rocky Mountain National Park offering both lodge rooms and guest suites. Full service wellness conference and retreat center with year round activities including horseback riding, hiking, and biking. Banquet Center for conferences and large groups. Meeting spaces with conference services and on-site catering. Beautiful Mountain vistas combined with on-site lodging make this an ideal Wellness and Corporate Conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Dao House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing