We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, quiet, staff attentive, beautiful scenery”
Review of Dao House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dao House
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great time, very clean place, nice and quiet and rooms were an unexpected surprise, normally mountain hotels and resorts are smelly, stuffy, and quite frankly are old and stink. This place was very clean, towels were like new and soft, bed comfortable, view from room great, no mold in bathroom, and room was fresh. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Parking is very convenient. TV could use a few more channels and the breakfast was nothing to speak of but if you want a relaxing hotel this is it. Now the big plus in Colorado, NO DOGS, no dog butts on the bed or furniture or in the lobby or barking dogs, why folks think we want the filth of their dogs in rooms is beyond me. This resort also has a spa and restaurant. I think you will enjoy the lobby, high ceilings built upon a log cabin style, very relaxing. I am a critical traveler and this place was very relaxing and went beyond my expectations for a Colorado hotel in the mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms you will find clean and quiet, they also have cabins which are all nicely located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is by far one of the most relaxing places we've ever stayed. The views are incredible from every room in the lodge but we were in room 106 and the view from the balcony was unbeatable. We did not eat at their restaurant because it's pricey but the continental breakfast was okay. They had fresh fruit, which was appreciated, the standard fare otherwise. The two complaints I might have is that there isn't a coffee pot in the room and they didn't have any coffee until about 7:30 a.m. which is late for us early risers. The other complaint is that there isn't a hair dryer in the room so I couldn't wash my hair or it would just frizz without a dryer. Plus, this time of year it's cool and you don't want to go outside with wet hair. It sprinkled but it wasn't extremely cold or wet. There was a ton of wildlife about. We saw elk, rabbits, lots of birds and at Lily Lake the brown cutthroat trout were spawning. The bed was very comfortable; firm. Not many channels on TV but that's not what you want to spend time doing anyway. Their Tai Chi class was a workout for my husband who used to teach karate to kids. Their Master Chen is pleasant and very understanding and also the owner of the place. The great room always had a real fire crackling in the fireplace and the chairs are so comfortable you don't want to get out of them. There are also wooden patio swings on the balcony outside each room to enjoy the view. The staff are very pleasant and couldn't have been nicer! We will definitely return here. At 9,200 ft., you may have trouble breathing if you aren't used to the altitude.

Room Tip: Whether you get a cottage or a room in the lodge, I don't think you could go wrong. We enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am willing to give this place the benefit of the doubt because it was off season and there is apparently a new owner. But nothing about The Aspen Lodge suggests a resort or spa at this point. We were using a Living Social voucher to try it out (which by the way is never the 50% savings they say it is these days) and was given a 1st floor lodge room. I never understand why they give out the lowest end rooms when the hotel is empty. It would make more sense to have the person's first experience be the best and give them the 2nd floor room which has great views. The front desk staff are nice enough but again not what you would expect at a resort and spa. The rooms are dated but clean, so no real complaints there. The lobby is rustic and matches the Rocky Mountain surroundings nicely. The location is about 7 miles outside of town so this is not the place to go if you want to walk around the main street of Estes Park or to the Stanley Hotel, etc. I'd say it is about a 10 minute drive on a windy scenic road. Nice for seclusion though.
The restaurant.. again, it was off season but there was no real menu to speak of. They were in between menus and had a random selection of things like hamburgers, grilled chicken salad, eggplant rollantini, etc. It was all very basic but we were told that the following week would spark off their new menu. We ate dinner and had some drinks there and I forgot to give them the little strip of paper that was a $10 credit from the Living Social deal. I casually brought that up the next day and they weren't budging on it which I thought was bad business. The coupon was hand written on a scrap of paper and while I was at fault for not remembering to present it, we spent over $100 at that restaurant and they couldn't just take that off the next morning? Not a big deal as it's only $10 but it's really about customer service.
Hopefully this place gets it's act together because the natural beauty surrounding it is breathtaking. But the rooms/ground, restaurant and service need to go a long way before becoming a resort and spa.

Room Tip: Second floor of the lodge rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My daughter just had her wedding at the lodge. What a terrific experience. The employees worked so hard to meet our every need. The view from the Long's Peak room was beautiful. It snowed after the ceremony and during the reception..how beautiful....The chef and wedding coordinators were excellent. If you are thinking about a mountain wedding venue you should consider Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The new chef has transformed the menu. Everything that comes out of the kitchen is fresh, delicious and quite honestly some of the tastiest food I've ever eaten (and as a local I've tried just about everything on the menu). Give the home made brownie a try - my husband said it was the best dessert he's every had! Definitely worth the short scenic drive from downtown Estes Park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The lodge is located in the heights of the Rocky Mountains. The employees were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, with a backdoor to a walkway with an amazing view of the Rockies. The restaurant was excellent with great service and food to match. The free Tai Chi class was a great experience. If you plan on visiting Estes Park or Rocky Mountain National Park, I highly recommend this lodge. Be sure to check Livingsocial.com for excellent voucher deals!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place looks a lot like it did the last time I stayed there ( 23 years ago ). They do have a new owner that does seem to care and is putting in some improvements. To call it a spa is a joke, dont kid yourself. If you want amazing views with a 1976 feel this is your place right now. The walls were so thin, I thought I was in Japan. No sleep to be had at all.
On the bright side, the food now is amazing, no joke. They pulled in some new cook/chef (Wil I think is his name) and seriously the food is really good. The new owner is pushing hormone free, good for you stuff too. We had the steak salad and eggplant appetizer, it was really good. If you live in the area and have shunned this joint due to the last cook, give it a try, best food for 30 miles right now is my thought.
The people are really nice, however, dont expect 5 star.

Room Tip: Further from the Lobby has a better view, but is closer to the horses and all that includes. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
89 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
5.5 mi away
The Historic Crags Lodge
The Historic Crags Lodge
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
237 reviews
6.4 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dao House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dao House

Address: 6120 State Highway 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-6401 (Formerly Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dao House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain lodge surrounded by Rocky Mountain National Park offering both lodge rooms and guest suites. Full service wellness conference and retreat center with year round activities including horseback riding, hiking, and biking. Banquet Center for conferences and large groups. Meeting spaces with conference services and on-site catering. Beautiful Mountain vistas combined with on-site lodging make this an ideal Wellness and Corporate Conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dao House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing