We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen Lodge near Estes Park”
Review of Dao House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dao House
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had stayed there 3 years ago and enjoyed it. The lodge has a new owner and it is still a great place to stay. We had a room with a view of Long's Peak. The bar and restaurant serrved good food at decent prices. It was close to Long's Peak, so we had a few miles to drive. It was away from the hustle and bustle of Estes, which can get pretty busy on weekends. The sumptious Continental breakfast was okay. There is a stable on the property and I took a 2 hour ride that was very scenic. The pool and jacuzzi need a little paint, but worked fine. I am looking forward to a return trip. We also got a discount for the room through AARP.
PS Make sure to do the speed limit if you drive through Lyons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Long's Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used a BoCo coupon deal for $89/night. We were assigned a downstairs room with walkout door. The owners of this property have a real challenge on their hands. Built in the days when people went to "get away from it all" with no TV, phones, etc, they are trying to upgrade. New TV with DISH was on the desk to the side with no comfortable way to view. Billed as a "conference center" there was NO CELLPHONE SERVICE!! Are you kidding me? Partially making up for that was free WiFi. The shower was very strange. The temperature would steadily almost rythmically fluxuate from just a little to hot to just a little too cool. Didn't matter where it was set the sine curve pattern continued.
All of the staff were very nice and anxious to please.
The webpage had several spelling errors and was not kept up to date. The menu on the webpage was the same as the restaurant, but the prices were several dollars lower.
Hot tub was old and had no adjustments.
Nice comfortable beds.
Paper thin walls left us waking up to a crying baby in the next room every two hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Aspen Lodge was a beautiful place to stay for my girlfriend and I as we did some hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed during the week, so it was a bit barren, but I think that added to the serenity of the place. It's a bit old, but in a charming, Rocky Mountain Cabin kind of way. We stayed in the actual hotel, not one of the individual cabins. Wifi was fairly reliable. The showers were OK - not much space to them and the water seemed to be either scalding hot or fairly cold, sometimes interchanging mid-shower. They have horses for rides but we didn't do that; really we only used the place as a staging ground for hiking. It has great access to both the North and South entry points for the Eastern side of Rocky Mountain National Park. "Breakfast" was typically a few slices of some fruit, water, tea, maybe a bagel and butter and juice... very small. Service was friendly. However, I will say the place is largely helped by its location and surrounding natural beauty. Would be good for a romantic getaway for couples looking to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is really a gem, the grounds are beautiful. We've been here several times and have stayed in both the lodge and the cabins (cabins are better). It has new ownership this year and still needs some work, the seats were busted out of the pool chairs, the pool table is broken and they should have left the sun room as a lounge, I missed that. But the food is still great and it's so peaceful. I hope to get back soon when the spa is in place.

Room Tip: Cabins are rustic but charming, so much fun.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge looks amazing now! There are nice leather chairs in the common area and the lodge rooms have been updated. The bed was quite comfortable. The rooms have TVs now, but we never used it...too much gorgeous scenery to enjoy! There's an awesome view of Pikes Peak from the property and a great hiking trail on site.
The staff was very helpful and kind. We did not eat at the restaurant. The continental breakfast was simple, thankfully we brought snacks. It's a short and scenic drive to Estes Park which is where we had lunch.
There is a livery on site, so we decided to hit the trail by horseback. There are some awesome views along this trail.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelBelle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Can't beat the location and the price. Pristine wildness trials on the property, with trail
rides throughout the day. The huge lodge is the largest log structure I have seen.
We ate breakfast overlooking the lake and the Rockies. The restaurant has a large
deck overlooking the lake. Good food and friendly service made our stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: All western views face onto longs peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booboobear10569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ambiance serene..rooms comfortable n cozy..restaurant good..service great..view fabulous..area activities fulfilled for families..Wide choice of rooms either couple room o family cabins..missed morning work out by pool n spa something to look forward to next visit!

Room Tip: Upstairs view was fabulous as clerk suggested! Thx!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
490 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Historic Crags Lodge
The Historic Crags Lodge
#18 of 74 in Estes Park
238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Romantic RiverSong Bed and Breakfast Inn
6.3 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dao House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dao House

Address: 6120 State Highway 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-6401 (Formerly Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $132 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dao House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain lodge surrounded by Rocky Mountain National Park offering both lodge rooms and guest suites. Full service wellness conference and retreat center with year round activities including horseback riding, hiking, and biking. Banquet Center for conferences and large groups. Meeting spaces with conference services and on-site catering. Beautiful Mountain vistas combined with on-site lodging make this an ideal Wellness and Corporate Conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dao House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing