We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not...Even...Close”

El Mex-Kal Family Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 129 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not...Even...Close”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I decided to try this place based on the reviews, which are pretty high. I even called ahead and asked if this was an authentic Mexican food place. I guess I asked the wrong question. Or maybe my disappointment stems from the fact that I am from Texas AND I'm Mexican . Either way, the food was OK at best but mostly unnuacceptable. It tasted canned (refried beans ) and prepackaged (tortillas). The salad was like a package of lettuce opened up and thrown on a plate without any other veggies or croutons. The dressing tasted like a generic Ranch. The green chili stew was NOTHING like a real New Mexican stew AND it tasted HORRIBLE ! I can't imagine the tastebuds that could dole out a 3 star rating for this PRICEY excuse for good Mexican food.
BLEH!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    40
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and fast service!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although we saw the review on trip advisor before going here, a local person suggested it first. The food was great and the service was excellent and fast. Everything tasted very fresh!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank family_of_5_travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best Mexican in Estes Park. Probably my favorite place in town. Food is consistently good. The staff is friendly and the place is clean. I will be heading back tonight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Completely average”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you like average Tex-Mex, this is your place. The latest in a long series of restaurants at this location and probably not the last. The inside has been nearly the same for over twenty years. Each new owner brings his name and wall decor, but the rest stays the same.
If you like runny refried beans from a can, and soggy, stringy overcooked fajitas, you will love this place. Nothing suggests that anything is freshly prepared, and the chips and salsa could be found at any grocery store. I say average only because I have eaten in places like this many times, and they never fail to disappoint me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank owlish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A little off the beaten path, but worth finding in Estes Park. Chicken fajitas are wonderful, good chips & salsa, very friendly service. Look forward to dining there whenever we are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oucabinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mex-Kal Family Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Mex-Kal Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing