We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice elegant hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our stay at the Stanley was to take in the history and visit The Rocky Mountain National Park. We loved everything about the Stanley except that with temperatures running high, you must know that there is no air conditioning, only fans. Our overall experience was not tarnished by being a little warm until late evening.The hotel is everything we could have imagined!

Room Tip: Don`t waist your money on the suites or the views, you won`t be in your room very much to need and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and i travel quite a bit and stay various types of lodgings. As an expensive, historic Inn my expectations were set high and not even close to being met.
As you enter the lobby you are in a mess of people, half of them there to tour the hotel. You will notice there is a definite lack of a feeling of privacy and security.
The staff is polite but not warm and welcoming.
There is no concierge so we were left to figure out dining and local attractions on our own (neither is there information on these things in the rooms).
We were never informed of the puny, non-informational map on the back of our room card holder nor where anything was located throughout the hotel. The exercise area (apparently on the 2nd floor) is not labeled or clearly marked outside of the doors. The pool is permanently closed.
Although the hotel and grounds are expansive, there are no on premise activities aside from tours which were booked for days and/or not offered every day. I was further disappointed that there are no priority or "guest-only" tours.
The room was not nearly as clean as it should have been. Carpeting under the bed was full of dust. The bottle of shower gel mixed in with the other toiletries had been used by the previous guests but was left for us to use! One of our water glasses had small seeds dried to the sides but was left for us to use as well. When I called housekeeping there was no answer so i left a message. No response was received so I had to take the items to the front desk and ask for replacements.
The water pressure in the shower was poor and the water temperature was luke-warm at best!
There is no air conditioning so all windows need to be left open at all times...an annoying problem when dogs are allowed at "The Lodge" building and left barking all afternoon!! Furthermore there was no "Do not disturb" sign so we were wakened by housekeeping our second morning.
All in all, I would not return. The hotel is overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LvSousek10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked & prepaid a stay at the stanley several hours prior to check in 6/11, and the reservations people messed it up so we were upgraded to the Overlook condos, unit 345. We were pleasantly surprised. While not the Stanley, it is a nice 2 br (one and a loft bedroom) 2 bath condo. Perfect size for my husband, 3 kids (10, 6 & 4) and myself. After 2 weeks on the road, we were glad to have room to really spread out and even do laundry! There were games for the kids, DVD's, wi fi, hottub, and a full kitchen. no a/c in the units per the front desk. It was a nice day, so opened the windows. nicely furnished, hardwood floors. Really enjoyed our stay here. Just wsh we had booked more than one night. Had a view of downtown & the lake. Overall, a very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browneyedgirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Overlook condos were very nice and comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom condo. It was very spacious and perfect size for us (myself, husband and 5 month son). It was great having a full kitchen! The only item that I would keep in mind is that the condos are warm due to the upgraded water heater system. We tried to cool it down, but the air conditioning was not working. The hotel maintenance was not able to fix it. Luckly, the weather was still cool outside in May, so we just crack a window to let some air in.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family, the overlook condos are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallgroundJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is beautiful with your typical rooms you would expect in one of these old classics. Views of the Rockies from the front porch. But the selection of whiskeys and scotches in the bar was unbelievable.
For a local favorite, try the Stranahan whiskey. It is from a local distillery and something we just can't get at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Overlook condos were so incredibly fabulous! We had a quick getaway with Rocky Mountain Resorts who was AMAZING! They allowed us to book two nights even though they had a 3 night minimum. Check in was at the Fawn Valley Inn which was a short drive from the Overlook Condos. They are right behind the Stanley and have incredible views.
1. The condo was beautiful! Loved the style.
2. Bathroom was amazing with the stunning tile, Jacuzzi tub...
3. I wanted to steal the pillows.
4. Rocky Mountain Resorts offers a HUGE selection of DVD's you can check out for free.
5. We did cook - you need to bring or buy spices.
6. They have all things you need in the kitchen though - coffee pot, ironing board, ...
7. Flat screen TV, romantic fireplace
8. Of course the hot tub was amazing... really really amazingly awesome. After hiking it was simply heaven.

We walked to the end of our parking lot, down a couple flights of stairs and was able to get into the Stanley for some incredible drinks in the evenings. Really the location could not have been better, the service with Rocky Mountain Resorts was amazing and I will come back!!

They have bigger units for families and I could definitely see me bringing my kiddos up there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiesftbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience on the "Ghost and History Tour"!! Our tour guide was so entertaining! Cathryn was very pleasant and knowledgeable, Her enjoyment and pride shined as she told us about the history and then intrigued us with the ghost stories! I would HIGHLY recommend her as a tour guide. She recommended eating at Cascades at the hotel and we were extremely happy with yummy meal also!! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
3.8 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,025 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District

Address: Overlook Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing