We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome afternoon on the Poudre”

Rapid Transit Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been offering family whitewater raft trips with transportation from Estes Park for 30 years. We are the ONLY company that will let you sit back and relax while WE DRIVE you to the river.We have morning and afternoon half day rapids trips on the Cache La Poudre, and full day more relaxed trips on the Colorado River.Bring the whole family! We can take kids as young as 7 if they also weigh at least 50 pounds. You've never been rafting? You are our specialty. Give us a chance to get you wet! Join the others who say our trip was the highlight of their Estes Park vacation.Call us now!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 14, 2013

For years I have recommended RTR to friends, family, and guests who stay at the lodging establishment I work at because of all the wonderful experiences I have heard about from people who have gone rafting with this company. Last month I had a good friend visit and he wanted to go rafting so I booked a half day trip down the Poudre for the both of us. That afternoon on the river was the highlight of the vacation. The guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. Safety is very important to this company and that is good to see with an adventure type company. So if you're in the area and are interested in rafting, I give RTR two thumbs up and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and safe way to enjoy some time on the water.

Thank DoveDeep85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! Vacation time is very important to our mutual guests, and it means a lot to us that you entrust them to us when there are so many things to do in our area. We've been relying on relationships like this for over 30 years now. We know you take a risk every time you suggest an activity for your guests. If they don't enjoy it, it's also a reflection on you.
Thank you for continuing to put your faith in us. Where would we be without you? Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"colorado river"
in 65 reviews
"half day trip"
in 50 reviews
"raft guide"
in 30 reviews
"bus driver"
in 27 reviews
"high school"
in 25 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 15 reviews
"school bus"
in 11 reviews
"launch site"
in 11 reviews
"water shoes"
in 8 reviews
"class rapids"
in 7 reviews
"water level"
in 8 reviews
"dinosaur tracks"
in 6 reviews
"donut haus"
in 8 reviews
"safety talk"
in 13 reviews
"great trip"
in 27 reviews
"bring snacks"
in 6 reviews
"second half"
in 5 reviews
Filter

409 - 413 of 491 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This rafting trip was $55.00 dollars well spent. We caught a school bus from estes park and the driver gave us a voice tour while he was driving us to our destination. It made for a fun trip and not boring. He was fantastic and you could tell even though he does that every single day he really loves his job. He was so kind and caring! Then once we arrived Nick was our guide and he was great as well. He made everyone feel very comfortable and safe on our trip down the river. It was a great half day trip and didnt' make us too exsausted. Then on the way back the bus driver took a different route so he could show us other attractions and he voice toured the whole way back! all and all it was very fantastic!

Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for such wonderful comments! We often hear our trips are the best value in town. Nick and Gordon have been with us a long time now and we're thankful every season they return to the team. Thank for taking the time to put down your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you on the river again on your next trip to Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went on the 12:15 p.m. half-day trip to the Poudre River on 7-11-13. All in all, we enjoyed it a lot. Aaron was our tour guide. He was great! He got out of the raft twice to get us off rocks in the river. My daughter jumped in to swim, very briefly because it was very cold. She lost one of her new Crocs getting back in the boat and he smoothly scooped it up for her. The rapids were not as scary as expected, but still fun. The only downside was the hour and ten minute bus ride to the site. This is not their fault, but it was long. As a plus, one of the other rafting guides, Kyle, was very cute. One of my daughters loved him---he looks like a young Johnny Depp!

Thank LisaBirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Based on your comments, I remember talking to your group in the office. You said you had a great time so I'm surprised at the 4 rating. The government had dropped the reservoir water for a couple of days when you rafted so it was a little rockier. It was back up again right after your trip. We never know when this is going to happen - the only thing less predictable than nature and weather is your government lol. We just "go with the flow" so to speak.
Chances are that won't happen the next time you raft with us so come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a fun time with Emma (9:30am 7/3/13). She took great care of my 2 daughters: 8 and 11 years old when they each took turns sitting beside her on the trip down the Poudre River. If the water got a bit scary I noticed that she grabbed them by the life jacket to make sure they stayed safe!!!!! Highly Recommended and the best value if you are staying in Estes Park.

2  Thank TeleMiketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We love Emma! She used to work in the office with us and we miss her. But we understand she loves to be on the river, and it sounds like you experienced that too. Thanks for yet another comment about our trip being one of the best values in Estes Park - there's a lot to do here and that's high praise indeed.
But you leave me wondering ... yes our guides are funny and entertaining ... but comedians? You leave me wanting details now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a blast on the half day Poudre River trip. Enough rapids to excite our 17 and 13 year old sons,(and mom and dad) but still gentle enough for our 9 year old daughter. Our guide, Sam, was not only a great river guide, but very knowledgeable about the whole area. I would highly recommend this trip.

1  Thank eng4bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for your comments about Sam - he continues to get rave reviews from our rafters. We are glad we could show your teenagers a good time. We know how teenagers can be lol.
Thank you for letting us be part of your Estes Park vacation - it means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you on the river again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid Transit Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Rapid Transit Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing