We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at reasonable price”
Review of Workshire Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Workshire Lodge
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would give the cabin itself 3 stars but give the Workshire 4 stars for the whole experience. We stay here when we visit RMNP because it's run by a friendly family, it's reasonably priced and it's literally down the road from the park entrance.

Pros:
- Sits close to Fall River where you can sit and relax, fish for trout
- Park visitor's center/gift shop and park entrance is down the road
- It's quiet
- Has kitchenette and grill if you want to prepare your own meals
- Economical rates

Cons:
- Cabins need to be modernized, still has decades' old look and features inside
- Limited utensils/pans and dishes in the kitchenette
- Small TV with very few channels in our cabin (not that it's what we came for!)
- Mattress in our cabin was too soft

Workshire is nothing fancy but is fair for the price. The owners are accommodating and unassuming. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agiToki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed on a cabin by the river. If you stay here you must get a place on the river. It is wonderful view. The cabin was old but had been partially renovated. The furniture was new and the kitchenette was a nice plus. I really enjoyed sitting on the deck with my morning coffee and listening to the river. However, there were a few things that need to be fixed. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were thin and hard. The shrubs were overgrown and need to be trimmed around the deck. There was plenty of hot water but the shower head was way too low. Hand held shower heads would solve the problem with the low height.

This place is really a 3 star property but I gave it an extra star because of the cabin being located on the river. If I stayed in on of the other cabins without the water view I would have to leave 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our family has been going to the Workshire for more than 20 years. It has been family owned and operated by the Works for 3 generations. We really appreciate that the property has not been exploited as has so much of the others in the area. Cabins are not crowded together, they are well maintained, and there is a variety of sizes from studio to 3 bedroom. Some are the original fishing cabins and some have been built in the last 10 years. The property landscaping is kept native and is a great area for birding and animal watching. It's also only a mile or so away from the quieter entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. The rates are kept lower than other resorts by not offering luxury services such as daily maid service, newspapers, or pools. Only the newest duplex cabin has fireplaces. The river is stocked with fish and there is a small children's playground. The owners and staff are friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, and respect your privacy. We go back year after year because the cabins are comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and the location is lovely.

Room Tip: The newer duplex cabin is more modern and spacious, has gas fireplaces and is the only one open in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

It was quiet and quaint cabin. Nothing fancy but great for the price and location, right next to Fall River, just down the road from the Falls River Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Had Cabin #3, two bedrooms. Slept with the windows open. Only Issue is the shower head is quiet short, I am 5ft 5 and it was about 4 inches shorter than me, it made for quite an interesting shower. Owner's are quite nice and you may see the resident bear who likes to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kmb6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#28 of 78 in Estes Park
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estes Park Condos
Estes Park Condos
#18 of 78 in Estes Park
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#43 of 78 in Estes Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Workshire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Workshire Lodge

Address: 2690 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9211
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Workshire Lodge is a small family style resort on the beautiful Fall River 3 1/2 miles west of Estes Park and 1/2 mile east of the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Family-owned & operated since 1946, we offer a quiet setting with cozy, clean cabins from which you may explore the "Park" or just sit on the deck enjoying a good book or watching wildlife. All of our cabins have at least a microwave and mini-fridge, with most having kitchenettes or complete kitchens. Though you're welcome to watch a little bit of TV inside, most guests like to spend as much time as possible on their deck or porch, perhaps grilling something on the gas BBQ grill (every cabin has one). Fall River is known for its trout fishing, so grab your license and bring your gear. Whether your cottage has views of the Rocky Mountain flora, or overlooks Fall River itself, you will be immersed in the beauty that draws thousands of visitors to our town each year (but you'll think you're the only ones here). We do not offer daily maid service, but clean towels and linens are available whenever you like. Pop into the office to borrow a book or game, listen to the chipmunks chattering, the hummingbirds flitting about, watch the deer or elk graze, let the roar of the river lull you to sleep.....and fill your heart with memories to sustain your soul until your next visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing