We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but too much road noise”
Review of The Haber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Haber Motel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room but too much road noise”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for three days in August at the Haber Motel while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park.
This is a small hotel that is well located but it is next to a busy intersection. If you leave the windows open (which we enjoy in the summer in the West) then the traffic noise is pretty bad. Our room was really nice and featured high ceilings, a gas fireplace, comfortable bedding. The closet area had great storage and a fridge and microwave as well as an additional vanity and sink. The bathroom was roomy and had a jacuzzi tub that felt darn good after a long day of hiking. The front desk clerk was not a very friendly fellow..... Not rude but not really interested in making you feel welcome either.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is closest to the busy and noisy traffic intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vortrekker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    50
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
124
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This motel is very clean and everything seems new inside the room. Room #1 is large and has a great layout with a big open area in front of the gas fireplace. The beds and linens are very good quality and very clean. WiFi was reliable and fast with no problems. Room has a large TV with good channel selection. All bathroom amenities were good quality. The location is convenient for driving to the nearby National Park and easy walking access to numerous shops and restaurants in the main part of town. There are only 6 rooms here at the Haber so if there is one available book it right away you won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

CAUTION! They will charge you a ridiculous cancellation fee regardless of how much time you give them notice, the WORST part is that they don't tell you about the fee when you call to book the room... When you do call and cancel the room, they will direct you to a link in their e-mail that tells you about the cancellation fee, but at that point they already have your money.

I booked a 2 night stay for 9/1/12 & 9/2/12, called on August 21st to cancel because I won't be making the trip and was told I would be charged the fee. That's an 11 day notice, but do you think they care - heck NO, they already have your money.

If you like giving your money away without being given notice, then book a room at The Haber Motel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kincaidj, Manager at The Haber Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
This review leaves the impression that we snookered an unsophisticated guest out of an outrageous amount of money. Well, nothing could be farther from the truth.

This guest is a software consultant working with some of the most complex and expensive code written by man. He called at 10:00 at night to book a room for Labor Day weekend which we did. He did not ask a single question other than were we located downtown but we had a brief conversation about his work since I was a longtime IT guy.

True, we did not discuss our cancellation policy, nor did we discuss whether pets were allowed or the cost of throwing a beer bottle at our flat screen tv.

When booking by phone, we expect to be asked questions about the motel, our policies and Estes Park in general. If instead someone calls and immediately asks to book a room then naturally we book the room.

As part of the booking process, an email is generated containing the room type, rates and dates of your stay as well as check in time. In the top paragraph is a statement for the guest to please review the reservation for accuracy and agreement to our policies. Our policies are located on our web site for all the world to see and as a convenience a link is put into the confirmation email to direct the guest to those policies. So, there are three ways to obtain this information, ask, read your confirmation or read the policy section of our web site, simple.

He didn't ask any questions, didn't read the email or open a browser to look. For cancelling a $400.00 Labor Day weekend reservation he was charged the "ridiculous" amount of $25.00. The rest of his deposit was returned the same day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending The Haber Motel! we weren't disappointed. The king standard room was larger than the Hyatt we stayed in while in Denver! the room was spotless, everything clean and new.... good mattress, clean rugs, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen tv, gas fireplace (too bad it was 90+ outside) and great thick towels. They even supplied plain white ones they requested you use for cleaning spills and removing makeup! A convenient location to walk into town and to catch the shuttle into Rocky Mountain Park or walk along Riverwalk. Be sure and walk next door to the Egg and I for breakfast and Tulum's for great Mexican food. Check-in during their requested hours.... they run a very efficient business and are only in the office certain times. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

They've done a great job renovating this property. The room was comfortable and had just about everything you could hope for - big screen tv, fireplace, coffee station, microwave, wifi, fridge, hairdryer, 2 vanities, large closet, comfy king bed (Room #5). Close enough to walk all over town, to restaurants, shopping, etc. I loved the keyless/cardless entry. No chance of losing my motel key/card while out and about. The only criticism was the moldy shower curtain. But I reported it and received a prompt, personal response from one of the owners. Good price for value, esp. in high summer season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAS-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you're familiar with Estes Park the Haber is located right behind The Egg and I (great place for breakfast). The exterior is updated and very nice but somewhat bland. The rooms are amazing, especially when you consider the price ($159 per night). We stayed in the King Suite which includes a jetted tub, gas fireplace and fridge/freezer. The room was almost like new; very clean and modern, especially for Estes Park. The location is perfect for touring Estes Park on foot. I would have to say the Haber is probably the best "Motel" I've ever visited. There are only 6 rooms available so book well n advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been through Estes Park a couple of times before, and I've always wanted to find a place to stay where I could walk to the main part of town without having to drive and park. This is the only place I've found that fits the bill, and what's more, the prices are as good or better than most large hotel chains in the area... Plus, the rooms were spacious, the beds were NICE, there was a large HD television on the wall, and there was a 2nd sink/vanity area outside of the bathroom. We met the owners (in the little office on site), who were super-nice, and they really gave us that personal "Bed and Breakfast" sort of a welcoming feel. For a motel, I've never felt so comfortable and at ease. The great location was just one of a dozen perks that made this place stand out head and shoulders above all other places to stay in Estes Park. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haber Motel

Property: The Haber Motel
Address: 397 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8915
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haber Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built and finished in July 2010, The Haber Motel boasts a convenient location for those looking to be close the heart of Estes Park, the Downtown area. From our motel and in walking distance are all downtown areas, as well as Safeway and the local pharmacy, and less than a mile from the visitor center where during summer season one can catch a shuttle bus and go essentially anywhere in Estes Park, for free! Each room is equipped with luxurious Simmon's Beauty Rest mattresses, 40 inch LCD TV's, natural gas powered Fireplaces, large jacuzzi tubs, microwaves, refrigerators, hot irons as well as an ironing board, hair dryers and separate bathroom and changing area sinks. We may be a small property, but that just allows us to take care of you like we would someone in our own home! Come visit us over at The Haber, and experience what true hospitality feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Haber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing