We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Clean, Safe, Relaxing and Fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idlewilde by the River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

If you are looking for an affordable, clean, adorable, yet rustic cabin-type vacation chose family owned Idlewilde by the River when next you visit Estes Park, Colorado. There are a number of cabins from which to choose. My three school chums and I return year after year to the Aloha cabin which is located about 5 feet from the banks of the Big Thompson River! Two of the girls even choose to sleep on roll-aways in the screened-in porch so they can be as close to nature and the river as possible!

Donna and Lloyd Claypool along with their daughter and son-in-law are the dream-teams when it comes to great on-site owner/managers. They make it their mission to insure you and your family have a safe and relaxing place to rest after a day of great shopping in Estes Park or site-seeing in the nearby Rocky Mountain National Park! Always helpful and accommodating Donna will tell you about all the best restaurants and wonderful places to see! She even doles out coupons to make your stay even more affordable! Lloyd is always ready with his tool box in the event anything needs repair, which I'm happy to say, is rare because they keep the camp and cabins in tip-top shape! You'll also enjoy the hummingbird feeders hanging from each cabin. Kids and adults alike love to watch these miniature helicopter-like birds argue for the best perch.

New this year! DVD players in each cabin along with a great choice of family viewing movies that rent for a buck. There are also games and books to check out and a computer that is available for guests to use at the office!

For those who enjoy hot-tubing one is available. There is also a community cook-out site located near the river and a play area for your kiddos! If you love to fish simply walk a few feet from your cabin and throw in a line, or simply take a seat by the river in the chairs provided and watch the world go by. Love to grill? Each cabin has its own grill and picnic table where you may sit to enjoy your catch of the day!

Idlewilde by the River. I love it and know you will, too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

I've been visiting Estes Park, Colorado for over 60 years and of all the places I've stayed, Idlewilde is number one. Each log cabin sits just feet from the roar and tumble of the Big Thompson River. Pine and aspen trees teem with mountain birds and chipmunks scurry among the wildflowers. They look happy and free as I feel in this setting. I call it my "source place," because the pure nature and serenity there give me a peace I can store up and keep alive in me until my next trip back. That's yearly. This year our son and his wife and their kids, 4 and 6 joined us. We stayed busy horse-riding, trout fishing, miniature-golfing, dining family-friendly places, and simple enjoying throwing pebbles into the river. It's a joyous place. The accomodations at Idlewilde are clean and complete. If you have your groceries with you, you wouldn't have to leave the grounds. Personally, that would be fine with me though we're always tempted into the shops of Estes, driving the Fall River Road and Trail Ridge, and hiking Bear Lake and all the other scenic paths. Try Idlewilde. Once you do, you'll have trouble going any other place in the world when it comes to a relaxing vacation full of God's sweet gifts to us. Written with love, Sue Wright, Liberty, Missouri

Room Tip: We love WE FOUR because it is the roomiest of the 2 bedrooms. And it's very close to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Donna and Lloyd Claypool have become like members of our family. They are perfect hosts. The property is very scenic, and is well maintained. The location right on the river is great. Prior to leaving after our annual stay, we are sure to reserve our cabins for the next year.

We have never considered staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book Early in the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Lloyd and Donna are such wonderful hosts that one feels like they are at home when around them. They truly care about their guests, that they are comfortable, informed and feel welcomed in their little, intimate resort. We loved the wild life that roamed thru the grounds, the chairs that were down by the river where you could relax, read, drink coffee, have cocktails and just sit back and listen to the river rushing by. We had a memorable trip and will return to Idlewilde by the River. Thank you Donna and Lloyd.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycemlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our trip to Estes Park, Co. was intended to be a vacation from the daily stresses of life and staying at Idlewilde by the RIver was just what we hoped for. We stayed in a little cabin right on the river. We were able to sit right by the river in Adirondack chairs and read, listen to the soothing sounds of the river and relax. The managers were extremely helpful with tips on attractions & restaurants. They also had a nice selection of books and games that could be checked out. The cabins were extremely clean and although they were small they were very comfortable. We enjoyed the screened-in porch with a porch swing. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammyto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Cozy, friendly, incredibly clean, simple, basic lodging at an affordable price in a beautiful location next to the Big Thompson River. My partner caught a 19.5" and 15 " trout in the river which made his entire trip. What more could you ask for at this price?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RioVirginGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#23 of 78 in Estes Park
237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#18 of 78 in Estes Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlewilde by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlewilde by the River

Address: 2282 Colorado Hwy 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Located in beautiful Estes Park Colorado near Rocky Mountain National Park, Idlewilde By The River offers many different styles of cabins to meet your individual needs. Idlewilde is located on the banks of the Big Thompson River. The sound of the rushing water is highly audible throughout the resort during most of the season. With Idelwilde's close proximity to Estes Park, there are hundreds of specialty shops, galleries, and restaurants for your enjoyment. Rocky Mountain National Park's west entrance is just 1 mile from Idlewilde. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idlewilde By The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing