We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Kokopelli Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopelli Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jmcm13
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This bed and breakfast is not only beautiful scenically and in house, it is also the most accommodating B&B I've ever been to. I am a former B&B Innkeeper, so I was truly impressed. Not knowing this, the owners had fresh chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our beautiful room. The breakfast was brought to us in bed. They asked when we wanted breakfast and let us chose what we wanted to eat. We had a full gourmet delicious meal awaiting, of homemade cinnamon rolls, cheese blintzes, bacon, fresh fruit and potatoes. It was divine. They had an arrangement of DVD's, popcorn, a microwave and a mini fridge with drinks! The patio of our room had a gorgeous view. What a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
277
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to do something different for our anniversary this year and neither of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast. We were a little apprehensive about going to a bed and breakfast and we are so glad that we chose the Kokopelli Inn for our first experience. Tucked away in the wilderness of Estes Park, this was a beautiful place to get away to. Butch and June were very welcoming and the breakfast was amazing! Our room was clean and above and beyond anything we could have ever imagined. We are looking forward to visiting again sometime soon!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pittsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Kokopelli is a best buy, beautiful inn, run by a wonderfully gracious couple. Butch and June could not have been better hosts. Meeting them was the first treat, seeing and enjoying one of their rooms was a second, devouring their delicious breakfasts was a third, and lastly, but certainly not least, was being inspired by their commitment to their chosen life style and their devotion to each other in the process of creating such a wonderful haven for their guests. We hope to return, and recommend that others not hesitate to join them.

Linda & Dave Dawson

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lddaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We just arrived back home after spending two nights in the Whispering Pines room at the Kokopelli Inn.
While the bed was very comfy and we enjoyed the breakfasts and treats, we did have some issues and have some suggestions to the owners to possibly make one's stay more enjoyable.
1. We were kept awake on Thursday night and awakened early Friday morning by what sounded like someone pacing back and forth in cast iron boots in the room above us. Although we couldn't hear what they were saying, we also could hear them talking.
2. The volume on the TV in our room was faulty, necessitating the constant adjusting of the volume via the TV remote. It would go from loud to quiet without us touching the remote.
3. There were no instructions for use of the DVD player. We never did figure it out.
4. The heater on the "fireplace" was not working. (Sorry, but the "fake" fire was pretty disappointing, too).
5. The night-light over the vanity was burned out.
6. The "dining" table was very, very small. We had to set the candle, flower vase and welcome binder on the floor in order to make enough room to eat at the table. We would have put the items on a shelf, but there were no shelves in the room.
7. It was difficult to see what we were eating or reading at the dining table. We suggest a drop light be installed over a (larger) dining table.
8. Speaking of light, we needed to use personal mini flashlights to read in bed, as the bedside lighting was poor. We suggest implementing lamps with 3-way switches for varied wattage.
9. The lock on the sliding door to the patio is very difficult to latch from the inside.
10. The water can get SCALDING hot in the sink and shower. Owners should consider turning down the temp on the hot water heater.
11. One of our two major frustrations was that there was limited space to set things. The BEAUTIFUL handmade wood vanity does not accommodate cosmetics and toiletries for 2 people; the love seat became our "catch-all", holding everything that needed a temporary placing -- unused pillows, maps and books, dirty clothes, a purse, a carry-on bag, souvineers, toiletries, etc.
12. The other big frustration was spending a half hour scrolling through the Direct TV "Guide" each time we wanted to find something to watch on TV. Of the few hundred channels displayed on the "Guide", only a limited amount of them are actually available to the inn as a subscriber. That is fine, however it would save guests much time and frustration if the owners programmed the DirecTV "Guide" list to show only the channels available to view.
We sent these suggestions via a personal email to the owner's of Kokopelli Inn upon our return. We have not heard a word from them since. We're not chronic complainers, but would want to know issues and suggestions from guests if we owned and operated an inn. I don't feel they appreciated us taking my time to let them know of the above issues.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aznails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokopelliinn, Owner at Kokopelli Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Thank you for writing your suggestions. To start off, we never received an e-mail from you unless it went into our junk mail and we didn't realize it was from a guest and it was deleted. We would have answered you immediately. We will try to address your issues.

The Thursday that you were here we had one other guest in the Dream Catcher, which was under your room. I'm sorry if you could hear them Whe we remodeled we added extra sound barrier material to help alleviate noise.

We checked out the remote and they are working fine. I know that when commercials come on sometimes the volume level changes, but there isn't anything we can do about that. I know all DVD players aren't the same and I wish you would have come and asked us how to operate it. We are available to help with any of your needs and I'm sorry that being here 2 days that you didn't ask for assistance.

The fireplace has an adjustment for heat and possibly the guest before you had turned it down. The fireplace is working properly and again, all you had to do was ask for help.

I apologize that we didn't catch that the night light was burned out. Again, we would have been happy to replace it for you when you noticed it was out.

There is an overhead light in the Whispering Pines and when that is turned on it lights the whole room. The armoire that is in the bedroom area has several drawers and plenty of room to store the extra pillows, etc. The cabinet directly across from the vanity has drawers and area for your toiletries, etc.

I'm sorry there was a fluctuation in the water temperature. We have not noticed that, nor have we had any other complaints.

Your idea for the guide for the direct tv is a very good one. We will work on getting a schedule of available channels for the guests convenience.

We do appreciate your suggestions and only wish that you would have spoken to us when you were here for 2 days about these issues. It's much easier to deal with and correct face to face than in an e-mail. Again, I apologize that we didn't respond to the e-mail that you said you sent, but we never received it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I think that I understand the incredibly positive reviews of this inn. Butch is a very gracious host, the breakfasts were good and the room was very nicely appointed (with one exception noted later). The problem was the noise. I really wished that some of the reviews that I read before booking had mentioned that the inn was right next to the busy US Highway 36. While our room had a wonder deck, it didn't overlook a placid stream or the mountain forest. I overlooked the highway. The weather was good for our stay and we tried to sit outside on the deck, but the highway noise was so loud that we couldn't have a conversation. Leaving the sliding glass door open to get those wonderful mountain breezes was out of the question given the noise and dust from the highway. The one exception to the nicely appointed room is that the bathroom, and most importantly the water closet, is all open. Using the toilet in the middle of the light involves flooding the bedroom with light

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuckster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokopelliinn, Owner at Kokopelli Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
I am sorry that your stay was so unpleasant. If I were that displeased, I don't think that I would have stayed three days.
Some people have said that it was too quiet at night and they needed something like the fan going in order to sleep. And yes we are on Highway 36 and with 320,000 tourist coming to Estes in a years time, mostly during the summer season, there is a lot of trafic at peak times during the day. I personally prefer to be in the country and away from all of the trafic and noise in town.
I beleave that you are over exaggerating the amount of light fooding the bedroom from the toilet area, but I am putting a night light in so that people will not have to turn on the overhead light in the future.
As far as the value is concerned, I think you will find that our prices are considerably less than you would pay in town for a comparable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

What a find - good old Trip Advisor !! Most friendly and welcoming hosts, thank you June and Butch. Very comfortable bedroom with delicious breakfast. Good quiet location outside Estes Park, but ideal for exploring The Rockies National Park. Loved the humming birds and the house decor. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a quick one night getaway. We were extremely lucky to find a room at the Kokopelli Inn on short notice based on all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor.com. Our Whispering Pines suite was warm and inviting and the home-cooked breakfast was a great way to start the day. Butch and June are fantastic hosts and their attention to detail throughout the Inn was absolutely amazing! We very much appreciated the complimentary champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
7.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
6.1 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
7.1 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Inn

Property: Kokopelli Inn
Address: 6777 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE INN Come and see for yourself why guests have called us the "Best B&B in the West!".… Trip Advisor gives us 5 STARS. Kokopelli Inn is a Mountain Inn with a Southwestern theme, specially designed and built to offer the finest in accommodations. Each room is unique; all are private, quiet and home-like cozy. After a full day of sightseeing or adventures, come and relax in our private outdoor hot tub nestled at the back of Roosevelt National Forest. Awaken in the morning to the rich aroma of freshly brewed coffee and just-out-of-the-oven goodies, and as you wrap yourself in one of our robes, you may catch a glimpse of the sunrise casting a rosy glow on the mountain peaks. After breakfast you can explore our 20 wooded acres of wildflower-adorned hillsides, picnicking/climbing on our huge rocks and trails while you contemplate the stunning views, or get on your bike and hit the dirt or road for a beautiful ride, or go explore RMNP/Estes Park. The Inn borders Roosevelt National Forest and has spectacular views to Rocky Mountain National Park & Longs Peak. We are building a training studio with a bunkhouse for training camps. This is the ninth year of the Kokopelli Inn, our first year of celebrating love, nature, and activities with our guests. Time does seem to stand still at the Kokopelli Inn, high in the mountains of Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kokopelli Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing