We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and I must say my standards will be VERY high from now on. The property is absolutely beautiful, the most perfect log home I've ever seen! The rooms are cozy and large. We loved chatting with Hilde and Rudy during our delicious breakfast each morning. We will definitely be back and will recommend Sonnenhof to our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
276
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've stayed in Estes many times but none compare to my recent stay at the Sonnenhof. Rudy and Hilde Frank make you feel right at home. The property is immaculate and the location is just up the road about five minutes from the Riverside Plaza in downtown Estes.
We're looking forward to heading back there in March for more good times and a great breakfast. I feel blessed to have found such a great place to rest my head in Estes Park.
Thank you again,
Shannon & Tammy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupDeGrasFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

When September's flooding destroyed Highway 34 (the road we would normally take to get to Estes Park), we thought it would be impossible to come up before the end of the year. Wrong! The road repair crews have created a workaround: via Hwy 119 through Boulder Canyon, then on to Hwy 72, then Hwy 7. This route took about one hour more than usual, but it was well worth the drive. Rudy and Hilde have worked extremely hard to ensure that their business is able to continue to run smoothly despite the daunting challenges that come about when a community is recovering from a natural disaster. Their home, perched high above Mary's Lake, was thankfully undamaged and is a mere five minutes away from Rocky Mountain National Park. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed a blissfully quiet weekend in our spacious room. Great views, great hospitality, great food -- we will be back.

Room Tip: The Aspen Room was great -- so many thoughtful touches. We could make our own meals in the kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraGYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved our suite on the first floor...large and secluded...wish we could have used the private patio but it was cold and snowy ...beautiful weather. Deer and other wildlife seen daily in the woods. Rudy's furniture! Each one a work of art. The bed is so comfortable. We stayed for three nights and wished for more! Although we stayed during a time of certain restrictions because of area flooding they were of minor inconvenience ...we so look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was an excellent B&B. We stayed in the front room on the top floor (Rose Suite) -- it had a great view out over the valley south of Estes Park. The room was spectacular in furnishing, size, appointment, atmosphere. The breakfast was also excellent -- both in food quality and in the conversation with the hosts and other guests. I'll stay here again when back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed in a lot of B&B's over the last 20 yrs, but this one is by far the best one ever! Rudy and Hilde are beautiful and kind hosts. The accomodations are awesome and Rudy made most of the furniture himself. What a talenteled craftsman. And Hilde, well you will not go away from the breakfast table hungry as she is an awesome cook with everything fresh, hot and homemade! What a true blessing to become aquainted with such wonderful people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I came to stay at
Rudy and Hilde's Bed and Breakfast the 9th, 10th, & 11th of Sept...it started raining just about the same time we arrived on the 9th, and it continued to rain day and night through out are stay!
We didn't let a little rain stop us from having a good time and a wonderful stay....we went on hike's and did everything that we had planned on doing. The rain didn't let up, but it was time for us to go home to Kansas....we packed up early and started for home on the 12th, we almost got to Lyons and was turned away because the road and several roads were now closed....we headed right back to Rudy and Hilde's they took us right back in with a loving smile, and fed us another wonderful breakfast.....what a wonderful place to get stranded at. Their home is BEAUTIFUL IN EVERY WAY!!!! Rudy and Hilde are very kind with loving hearts in everything they say and do....we also got to meet two other lovely couples who were staying at their B&B. to make a long story short everything you read about Rudy and Hilde, their B&B is all so very true.....and let me add wait till you taste Rudy's apple pancakes, and
Hilde's crape's they are out of this world!!! We are headed back to Kansas! Thank's again Rudy and Hilde...

Don and Connie

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniesue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
2.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.8 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof b&b
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing