We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Sonnenhof is a wonderful B&B. Our room (including a kitchen area) was huge & and well-appointed. The garden is beautiful, the hummingbirds are plentiful, & the location is great. Hilde and Rudy are wonderful innkeepers & do all they can to make their guests feel comfortable. Hilde’s laugh will warm your soul & Rudy’s woodworking expertise is awe-inspiring. The breakfasts were delicious & plentiful ~ no one will walk away hungry. Be sure to find some time to explore and relax in the garden. Our only disappointment is that we didn’t have a chance to look at the other rooms.

Room Tip: Although we didn't see the other rooms, it sounded like everyone was very pleased with their acc...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 315 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

The comfort, beauty, and charm of this lovely B&B cannot be overstated, and my husband and I's thorough enjoyment of our stay was only slightly amplified by our previous three days, two nights in the backcountry; even without the contrast of a tent and jetboiled food we would have melted into the comfort of the Sonnenhof B&B. This beautiful home is only a 10-15min drive from Estes Park "downtown" and only 5-10min from the entry to RMNP. It is set away from the noise of any major road, campground, etc. It is a peaceful escape. Our hosts, Rudy and Hilde, were warm and gracious; every amenity considered. Breakfast was delicious and hearty. Rudy, a retired cabinet maker, hand made much of the furnishngs inside and outside the home. Every detail of the home expresses the love and creativity of Rudy and Hilde. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the beautiful home and gardens that Rudy and Hilde have made in Estes Park. We stayed in the Rose room and delighted in the spectacular views of Mary's Lake from our private balcony and the hummingbirds feeding near our window. The back of the B & B has a mountain garden full of flowers, foliage and trees; the only sound was from the trickling water feature. The garden area has patio tables, a gazebo, custom-made bird-houses and a two-person swing.

The meals were wonderful and during our stay we had such delicious variety, including vanilla waffles with fresh fruit and whipped cream; lemon cake, apple pancakes, cream puffs, and omelets, as well as juice, coffee and hot tea. Rudy and Hilde were a delight to get to know, as well as the guests with whom we enjoyed breakfast. We had such a fantastic experiece that we plan to purchase gift certificates for some of our family members!! Thank you, Rudy and Hilde for such terrific memories for our 10th anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank thebluedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nites at this amazing log home B & B owned by Rudy and Hilde Frank. Each morning's breakfast was scrumptous and filling prepared by Hilde. Our room contained some of the amazing hand crafted furniture made by retired cabinet maker Rudy. Together they made every detail of our stay the most cozy and comfortable while engaging in delightful conversations each morning. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the gorgeous garden/deck to go out and enjoy the beauty of Rocky Mountain National Park. We would recommend this B & B without any hesitation and are looking forward to a return visit this fall or winter!

Room Tip: Romantic Rose offers amazing view of mountains and Marys Lake.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

There aren't enough superlatives in the English language to adequately describe the Sonnenhof B&B. The house is superb. Its design keeps each room separated from one another. There are three bedrooms and one apartment which is a two bedroom unit with kitchenette. We stayed for 4 nights and were never sure if anyone else was staying in one of the other rooms. Totally silent.

The location about 4 miles from the center of Estes Park is ideal. Easy to get into town for shopping, sightseeing and dining but far enough away so the town noise doesn't bother the serenity.

The house is immaculate. The room sizes are huge. We stayed in the Romantic Rose room. Very comfortable king size bed, fireplace, sofa, flatscreen TV, music through built-in wall speakers, HUGE bathroom with whirlpool tub and walk-in large shower (room for two if you're into group bathing).

And then there is breakfast. Start with coffee and then to juice. Lots of fresh fruits. Different breads (loved the olive loaf). Scrambled eggs each morning accompanied by crepes or french toast or pancakes. No need to wonder where to eat lunch -- still too full from breakfast.

Rudy and Hilde came to the US from Europe many years ago but haven't forgotten the European traditions of customer service. They are warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Rudy's woodworking skills are amazing. He made all the furniture in the Rose room and it is of the highest quality. The rooms furnishings are tastefully done. And everywhere you look there is reading material if you just want to pass the time of day in this splendid location.

The pictures that were taken by others who have stayed at the Sonnenhof are very representative of the property. We saw a badger, wild turkey, mule deer, elk and hummingbirds during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been fortunate to stay in Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast in early August. From the warm welcome by Rudy and Hilde Frank to the moment of departure, we were treated to an unforgettable experience. Start your day with an amazing breakfast served in the lodge room, overlooking the garden with it's waterfall and dozens of flowers. The town of Estes Park and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park are just seconds away, and after spending the day hiking the trails, unwind in the Sonnenhof garden with a good book. We highly recommend this beautiful and peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spacious, gorgeous and clean room with full of amenities, nice and kind house keepers (Rudy and Heilde), amazing view from room, beautiful house, delicious breakfast.. I can't find ANYTHING bad of this B&B. It was one of the best accomodation i've ever stayed. If I revisit estes park, I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Se K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,480 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
69 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517-7157
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park
Sonnenhof b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing