We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax on the lake”
Review of Lake Estes Marina

Lake Estes Marina
Ranked #26 of 72 things to do in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
las vegas
2 reviews
“relax on the lake”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visited Colorado with my husband and our 16 year old son. We had never gone boating but were told by the marina employees that a pontoon boat is as easy to operate as a car. We rented a seven passenger pontoon boat (smallest one they have). They charge $66 per hour and it's well worth the cost to relax for a couple of hours on the lake and get some great pictures. I just wish the employees had explained the throttle a little more. A couple of times we put it in neutral and the engine died. After a little trial and error we figured it out. The lake is a little small but there are just a few boats at a time out there so you don't have to deal with crowds or maneuvering your boat around others. There are several restaurants close by and we just decided to make it kind of a picnic trip. So we stopped at the local Subway and got sandwiches to bring on the boat. We would definitely do this again and it's fun for kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank melody v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    64
    17
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“pedal boating with the kids”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were on vacation in Estes Park and decided to go down to the marina and rent a pedal boat for $28 an hour. We have an 8 and 11 year old and the boat seated all of us. My husband and son sat with the pedals and my daughter and I rode on the back. We had fun pedalling around the lake for an hour and the kids had way more fun doing this than the shopping in town that we had done all day. There were also pontoon boats and kayaks for rent. It was definitely a unique experience with beautiful views, and fun for the kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinwantscoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Recommend the Surrey Topped Dual Pedal Carts”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Much of the path around the lake was understandably closed for safety sake in late spring when we visited due to protective elk cows that were calving in the park at the time, but even the short path still available was a fun workout on the pedal carts. More paths were available for bicyles but too steep for the pedal carts to use. Also rented a pontoon, but bring your sunscreen - we were disappointed not to be allowed to use the bimini tops that provide a little shade. They are only open 9a.m. - 5 p.m., so would recommend going in the morning when the sun isn't so intense. The other down side is that the lake is really on the verge of being too small to truly enjoy motor boating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_midwestern_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rented a pontoon boat, rather small lake”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautiful location and we rented a pontoon boat at the rate of $44 an hour. If you want to fish or just hang out on the lake this is a nice place. However, if you want to cruise around on the boat, not such a good place as it is rather small. One hour was plenty! The insurance company for the boat rentals require all persons wear life jackets at all times so this was rather annoying on a pontoon boat. Been there, done that, would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gobuckeyes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Views, but Architecure Lacking”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We attended a wedding party at the marina. The pavilion is nice, but the boathouse, in the foreground pretty much tries to ruin the experience - it is a cinderblock eyesore. With all of the monry Estes Park spent in town on the Riverwalk, they could have made a better effort here. The only reason for four stars is the view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Estes Marina also viewed

 

Been to Lake Estes Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing