We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend the Surrey Topped Dual Pedal Carts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Estes Marina

Lake Estes Marina
Ranked #19 of 66 things to do in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Ozark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommend the Surrey Topped Dual Pedal Carts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Much of the path around the lake was understandably closed for safety sake in late spring when we visited due to protective elk cows that were calving in the park at the time, but even the short path still available was a fun workout on the pedal carts. More paths were available for bicyles but too steep for the pedal carts to use. Also rented a pontoon, but bring your sunscreen - we were disappointed not to be allowed to use the bimini tops that provide a little shade. They are only open 9a.m. - 5 p.m., so would recommend going in the morning when the sun isn't so intense. The other down side is that the lake is really on the verge of being too small to truly enjoy motor boating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_midwestern_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rented a pontoon boat, rather small lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautiful location and we rented a pontoon boat at the rate of $44 an hour. If you want to fish or just hang out on the lake this is a nice place. However, if you want to cruise around on the boat, not such a good place as it is rather small. One hour was plenty! The insurance company for the boat rentals require all persons wear life jackets at all times so this was rather annoying on a pontoon boat. Been there, done that, would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gobuckeyes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Views, but Architecure Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We attended a wedding party at the marina. The pavilion is nice, but the boathouse, in the foreground pretty much tries to ruin the experience - it is a cinderblock eyesore. With all of the monry Estes Park spent in town on the Riverwalk, they could have made a better effort here. The only reason for four stars is the view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stroll around the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did the loop walk around Lake Estes on our first morning in town, I think the elevation change had gotten to me a bit and I wanted to take it easy the first day. As it was September when we visited, it was mating season for the Elk and there were plenty of them wandering around the lake, some even chilling off in the cool waters. We were warned not to get too close as they could be unpredictable that time of year so we did our best to keep a good distance. The walk itself was paved most of the way round and I think it was around 3.5 miles for a full loop. It was a very enjoyable way to ease into things. Seemed to be a popular place for jogging, cycling and dog walking too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My dad and husband went here and said it was ok. They had to pay a $5 parking fee, which I understand is not much, but considering they had already paid for fishing license this was a bit ridiculous. I recommend going to Mary's Lake down the road. It's bigger, plenty of places to fish, and parking is free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Estes Marina also viewed

 

Been to Lake Estes Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing