We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oozing in charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baldpate Inn
Ranked #15 of 21 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oozing in charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful experience at the BaldPate Inn. Staff couldn't have made me feel more at home and were very accommodating. Room was appointed in a lovely manner, bed was comfortable, and whole place had a rustic charm that was lovely. Fun to nestle into a big overstuffed chair and nestle down with a good book or sit out on the front porch and take in the beauty of the surroundings. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that won't be right over the entry way. It can get loud with people congregating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizerdtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    6
    11
    15
See reviews for
28
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a good place - good prices, and lots of charm. We've always been a little lukewarm on the college students that run the place (no local knowledge, lacking in customer service - but not awful), but we stayed this past weekend and no one could/would manage the fire in the common area. the entire top floor was filled with smoke, our 3 year old coughed all night, and our clothes smell of campfire. Ugh!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kristertrixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with his brother and his wife, spent two delightful nights at the Baldpate Inn. We stayed in the Valley View Cabin which was totally charming and rustically comfy. We loved hanging out in the main lodge with it's original wood interiors and stone fireplace, "key" room, library, restaurant, bird feeders.... The staff was very helpful and friendly sharing the history of the place as well as local tidbits of info.

The included breakfast was more than ample and simply delicious. It provided excellent fuel for our hikes in Rocky Mountain National Park. We also ordered box lunches, and they were very well-prepared and stocked. A couple could actually share one and still have plenty to eat. We ate their soup and salad dinner one night, and it, too, was delicious.

The location is great. I walked out the door each morning and went birding and hiking before breakfast. The inn is right across the highway from RMNP's Lily Lake. Miles of trails can be accessed from there including the Twin Sisters and Estes Cone.

The only reason I don't give the inn five stars is simply that some folks may want more luxury, larger rooms, fancier bathrooms, but we loved it just as it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Love the feeling of going back in time at the Baldpate.

In a time where everything is looking like Southern CA, with predictable nuetrals, the Baldpate stands out like a star. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and attended one of the theater presentations - the light rain caused a delay, but the staff was hussling to dry our chairs, provide umbrellas, blankets, cookies and hot drinks = a whole different experience than most outdoor theaters (e.g. CSF in Boulder...).

If you are looking for a cheap Motel 6, don't bother the staff here...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Building and room were nice. Staff (college kids) were a bit obnoxious. A more interested in screwing around with each other than serving guests. Tried to sit on the communal porch to enjoy the evening and one them was having a loud and long conversation on their cell phone. Which would be annoying in any case but was particularly so given that they were staff.

Breakfast was a bit strage. Three-courses were:
1. Strawberrys in a bowl and a muffin,
2. A thin piece of cornbread with half-melted cheddar and maple syrup (seriously).
3. An undercooked cinnamon roll.

Wonderful location but staff and the breakfast half of things were definitely a let down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

In July, after driving from Iowa back to California...we detoured! No ideas except I'd dreamed of going to Estes Park for years. Not only were we in awe of this grand and inviting inn, but treated like royalty! Our arrival was quite late and upon checking in, the gracious hosts ensured we had tea, brownies, and lemon poppyseed muffins in our room as well as a pitcher of ice water! Unexpected and absolutely delicious!!!
Our room had a toilet closet but no bath, which actually we didn't mind at all! The bathing rooms were FUNTASTIC! Reminded me with its claw foot tubs of an era gone by, and it was extremely relaxing!
We then headed down to breakfast and was promptly seated by a window overlooking the beautiful valley! I stared out the window praying we'd be back soon and my heart ached at the thought of check out time approaching! One day is certainly not enough at this beauty of a spot!!! Hummingbirds greeted us from outside our windows view and entertained us throughout our breakfast. Which by the way was phenomenal! Fresh berries with a Rhubarb Strawberry muffin, followed by Bacon Cheddar Maple Cake!! Yes I said cake for breakfast!!! Yummy! Followed by an extremely hearty sized cinnamon roll!!
Yes we in fact needed a to-go container!
My husband and I did a little walk around, he decided to nap before our departure, I instead headed to the library with a cup of tea and before I knew it, 2 hours had gone by..I'd fallen asleep on their cozy leather sofa! Honestly a comfortable and inviting place!
Read the Book about the 7 Keys to Baldpate, and Lois' cookbook is a MUST HAVE!
We will be back every year! I pray that those who read this review don't go expecting a 5 Star Hotel, but instead receive 5 star service from a historic, amazing and comfortable inn with LOTS of wonderful stories to tell!!
P.S. Plan to leave a key behind for their key collection and make your mark in history!
P.P.S. Lois I need more recipes!!!!

Love,
The Sheldon's
Napa, CA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldpateInn, Manager at The Baldpate Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review you have written for us! It is an honor that we had made your first trip to Estes Park such a special one! We will be happy to have you return to our inn next year as well as coming years. Don’t forget to let us know that you are Key Customer now when you decide to return. Hope our recipes are keeping the Baldpate memories alive for your family! We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Think of the place as the old-fashioned cabin of an eccentric relative and you will be happy. It is all wood and all creaks. The beds are OK and some bedrooms have private baths. The porch has rocking chairs (creak, creak) and hummingbirds. The food is decent, but a throwback to the 1950s (the salad has marshmallows). There are two cabins for those who want a little more privacy. There is no AC of course, but even on hot days the rooms cool down at night. The staff are young and cheerful. All in all, a good experience, as long as you are not expecting the Fours Seasons, or even the Best Western.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor- fewer creaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
5.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Property: The Baldpate Inn
Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baldpate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing