We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would probably be OK with one of the big rooms”
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baldpate Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I had a small double bed with tiny bathroom; we chose not to use the tub. The bed sheets were fine but everything else in the room was old, dingy, and the room was far too small for two people. We did peek in to a larger Queen room and it probably would have been fine. Breakfast was fantastic - the best quiche ever - and the bedtime snacks were good. Lugging suitcases up two flights of stairs was a bit hard. I wouldn't go back, but it would probably be OK if you splurge on the larger guest rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here in the middle of a hiking trip. The staff which is comprised of college students was very helpful to take care of anything we needed.If you are looking for a Westin or a Hilton you don't want to come here but I believe that is what makes it a unique place. Except for 2 rooms I believe there are no private baths or showers but that really wasn't a big deal to us.Must see the hummingbirds from the front porch or the restaurant.Breakfast was superb. Lunch and/or dinner consists of a salad bar with fresh bread and 2 homemade soups. All in all I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Baldpate Inn treated us like family with luxury service and superb food and atmosphere! The view of the Estes Park Valley was amazing with the changing Aspen colors! Relaxing on their 1917 deck, with our complimentary beverages, brought us back in time and allowed for complete relaxation. Wildlife viewing and hiking opportunities around the Inn are abundant!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schreca737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Baldpate Inn is a historic inn that has seen better days. The floors are bowed, the room we stayed in was not designed for a king bed, and I bumped my head on the angled gable ceiling that was over the king bed. (A twin bed would have worked in the room) Heavy smoke from the fireplace on the main floor poured into our room through the night, and we had to sleep with wet towels over our faces to keep out the smell. A family who worked as staff was noisy and kept us awake at night. That's the bad. The good is that when we related our problems to the innkeeper, she did not charge us for our stay.
Breakfast was good, but heavily weighted with three kinds of baked goods. No eggs, but fresh raspberries. A snack at night was yummy but only offered at 8 p.m., a bit too late. I wouldn't stay there again, but it might work for some folks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LikeItLoatheIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Baldpate is like a club - one runs into people one has seen there for years, if you are staying there tea and such and cookies are provided as needed on the porch or in the library (where one can play games and watch TV) , the Park is but a stroll away and the view is spectacular. I love it, my aged father hates it. It is not a 5 star hotel nor a holiday Inn. One has to like its quirky charm, but if you don't mind sharing a bathroom and want lots of ambiance, this is the place for you is Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les-agricutlteurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The location of the Baldpate Inn is certainly picturesque, though a hefty drive from the town of Estes Park. We paid a premium for a cabin which, unfortunately, did not have any of the views supposedly offered by the cheaper rooms in the main building. The place is entirely staffed by students, who were incredibly helpful and friendly but there was clearly a limit to what they could offer. This included some poor housekeeping skills - dead moths on the bathroom floor for days - and we waited at least two days for the hot tub to be fixed.

We were glad the breakfasts were included in the price as their current cost is $20 each. You get a lot of food for this, but not much choice. Equally, their dinner of soup and salad costs $14.25. The salad buffet was not overly generous though the soups were excellent. I must stress, however, that the chance to watch hummingbirds while eating a meal is (almost literally) priceless!

We had nicer dinners at other places, including Mary's Lake Tavern, and there was accommodation available closer to the National Park which presumably would not charge a premium for the musty Key Room and tenuous historical significance.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhmatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

If it's hot, like in July and you're sleeping there then be prepared to wake up feeling lighter because you've sweated all night long. No A/C, no fans and can't open the windows. The carpet in our room was dirty. Also, our 1 year old son found a used diabetic glucouse testing strip on the floor. If you're planning to eat dinner there then be prepared to be disappointed when they have salad buffet night.. Oh joy! Salad!
The road to this place and the parking lot is gravel with ruts. The management could have cared to put money back into this place years ago but have since been riding the "it's historic!" theme so I guess they feel they don't need to upate ANYTHING. Good luck with that, it'll only last so long. I will say the staff was friendly which counts for something.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rejester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
5.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,520 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
144 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range: $146 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baldpate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing