We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every resident of the U.S. should visit our national parks at least once.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moraine Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Every resident of the U.S. should visit our national parks at least once.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stayed in three different camp sites throughout a weeks time.. each one was delightful in its own way... one was close to the entrance (about A133?)... LOVED it.. next site was A081 (? maybe ?? high on a rocky ledge - above a bathroom :) And finally, spent two nights on B loop.. worried about the "no flush" toilet part of B loop.. but I have to say: those bathrooms were cleaner than most bathrooms with running water. Mule deer ambled through camp at night. Shows at amphitheater were hilarious and informative. Weather was hot, cold, wet, dry, sunny and perfect. I'd go again, and stay in any site available. You can't lose.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank boomchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is a very beautiful campground that is well maintained. One piece of advice...DO NOT arrive here for the first time at Night. This is what we did. It was difficult to find our campsite. We actually had to park our car in our assigned spot and walk a trail to get to our tent pad-site.***we were in site 128** It was a fabulous site when we woke up in the morning, but we had no idea where we were going in the dark. The bathrooms were SUPER Clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deannasgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed at site A128, please note that you have to walk through another campsite to get to this site. Once you get past that the view from this site is spectacular. It is a tent site only. The site looks across a valley and has a 12' rock wall blocking you from the loop road, quite private that way. Washrooms were your typical bare minimum flush toilet & sink National Park washroom. Adequate but nothing more. One thing I was surprised with is the amount of jet traffic, must be on a major route. All in all you just can't beat the view and that is what we book the campsite for. If I was to do it again I think A130 would be a better option for a single site. Having to hall the food and coleman stove back and forth to the vehicle (bear prevention) was a pain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank heamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is truly a nice campground at the heart of RMNP. We went on the Memorial Day weekend. We reserved well in advance, and thanks that we did, because this campground (and other campgrounds in the NP too) were full. The rangers were very helpful. The restrooms are clean with toilet papers available. The only problem we had because it was freezing cold at night, which was little beyond our expectation at the end of May, and this was because of very late winter this year. But overall experience is great. If you want to stay at the heart of nature, with all basic amenities and oh yes, atleast 1/5th price of even a cheap motel, then this is the place you can rely on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just got back from spending 6 nights at Moraine Park. What a great place. Even with the pine beetle, the mountains are beautiful. They are spraying the trees in the campground, so there are still shady spots to camp. This is our 3rd time camping here and we will be back. The ranger programs seem to be better this year and the kids really liked getting their junior ranger badges. Good proximity to Estes Park for supplies and other activities. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tm2924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

9 & 11 yr old with dad and we had a great time. 'D' area is generator-free so I would recommend the outer loop there as well. The views here were good, too, but did seem like C had great views. We had a walk-in site (but only about 25 yards) and that helped get us out of the busy center.

Suffice to say we'll be going back!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

We camped at Moraine Campground in June 2009. The campground is very close to the park entrance which makes it quick to get in and out to Estes Park. It was also nice not having to drive to far in to Rocky Mountain while towing a camper. We dropped off the camper and went out to explore. This campground is close to so much. There are horse riding stables and a few trailheads within walking distance. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit. The bathrooms are adequate. There's no hot water, but at least there's running water. They seemed to have done a pretty good job keeping them clean. Just make sure and bring the GermX and you'll be ok. The view of Long's Peak every morning when waking up was just incredible. We have 3 young kids who absolutely enjoyed the trip. There's so many animals to keep them entertained. We were very unhappy that we forgot our marshmallow roasters, but we were able to get one. A nice man operates a store of sorts. He sells soda, water, kindling, fire wood and even has ice cream bars. I told him that I forgot the roasters and he lent me one. There's nothing like smores after a long day of hiking! We enjoyed the trip so much that we have all ready booked a return trip in August. One word of advice is to book ahead!! This place will book up well before summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank energizer138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
6.1 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Property: Moraine Park Campground
Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Estes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing