We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
96
59
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
59
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflush toiletssolar showerbear boxestent padglacier basinpit toiletsbear lockerrunning watercub lake trailwarm showerrocky hilllongs peakgenerator noisecamper sitesbear proofcar trafficfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 174 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Beautiful campground. Enough room between tents and/or campers. Fire wood and ice are available in the evening. We walked in end of May and had no problem getting a spot, by chance even a great spot. If you prefer booking and being sure you have the perfect camping spot, book 64-65-66; or any camping spot on the outside of the C or D loops. You have a beautiful view of the meadows, the elk roaming and the sun setting.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
9  Thank lottesahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Beautiful campground with fairly spacious campsites. Every campsite has a table and a fire ring. We had dear walk right by our site. We also visited an interesting talk by a ranger in the amphitheater. You can walk to a visitor center in about 30 minutes from the campground. We had some rain while visiting in august, which is apparently common in the rocky mountains. The rocky mountain national park has a great shuttle bus service that can transport you. The campground can get visited by black bears, so we had to store all our food in our RV and lock the doors at night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennyl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We.stayed here for five days after going backcountry camping. The bathrooms are nice and we'll maintained. There is a place to use your solar shower. There is also a guy that comes in the evening and sells firewood, ice, pop and ice cream bars.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 842DanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Convenient location. Most sites have good shade. Well managed facilities. Easy to access the trails. And it is close to a visitor center. Even has shuttles to many trailheads. No showers. Also has a ranger for horse riding.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank PhilipandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

The campground gets an average:
1. Flush toilets are nice, but they were never cleaned the 3 days, 2 nights we were there.
2. Faucets have seen a better day as they spin and are not connected to the sink. The newer comfort stations are nice. But it is a luxury to have running water and water safe to drink readily available.
3. The camp sites are close to one another. Some are better than others, for sure. Some camp sites are too small. Ours for example: There was no space to sit around the fire ring as the cement picnic table was right there. There was also no space at our site for our kids to run around, and we do not let our kids run through others camp sites.
4. Our metal fire ring had not been cleaned out in who knows how long. The incredibly think layer of ash made it difficult to start our camp fires. - note the ranger said they are to be cleaned out between campers. -- obviously ours was not.
5. It is not shady in most camp site areas- so come prepared.
6. RVs can camp in tent site spots. This was frustrating with the generator noise- albeit there is a curfew for generator use.
7. Bears frequent the campsite, however not every camp site has a bear box. Luckily we had an extra blanket to cover our containers that we had to leave in our locked car.

Beautiful- absolutely beautiful. The mountains stretch high into the blue sky. There are trails and trails for hiking. The wildlife is abundant. We saw a herd of elk at the top of alpine ridge trail, random elk throughout trail ridge road, and we had a female deer and a stag roaming the meadows every day next to our camp site.

We will be back, as we have surveyed the land looking for a better more spacious camp site.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Patron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews