We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super campsite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

So it's a basic campsite, but has toilets and a place to hang up your solar showers. Each pitch has a picnic table and chair combo and a fire pit. You have to buy the wood as you are not allowed to go find it. About $5 for a good bundle of wood...the guy also sells ice creams.
You are surround by beautful hills and re camping alongside wild animals that wander though-whats not to love.
Free shuttle bus, pickup point just outside the gate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We camped in site C 236 in Moraine Campground. We have a pop up trailer and on this trip we had another family stay with us in a tent. The site is large enough to accommodate the tent and pop up along with two cars. The site also backs up to a meadow so we had no one behind us - just a grassy hill side with lots of rocks for the kids to climb on. It was beautiful. We had incredible views of the mountains and the stream. A herd of elk stayed in the meadow by the stream almost the whole time we were there. It was amazing. The campground was full the whole time we were there (over July 4th), but it was so quiet! We couldn't get over how quiet it was in the campground. There are no hook ups. The bathrooms weren't the best I've ever been in, but they were cleaned at least once a day. The bathrooms do not have paper towels. No showers in the park. We had a potable water spigot near by which was convenient. Convenient dumpsters and recycling nearby. Ranger programs were offered each night in the ampitheater which was just up the road from our site. Ice and firewood were only available for about 90 minutes in the evening. When we needed milk, we had to leave the park and go into town. We tried to avoid going into Estes Park if we could. It looked like a cute town, but it was SO CROWDED! Traffic was a mess too. We were so surprised with the amount of tourists in town and the campgrounds at capacity that the park really didn't feel crowded. We had some trails to ourselves. I would definitely stay in this campground again. It was a great location, good sites, incredible views. I would, however, try to get site 247. It was probably the best site in the C loop - large, more isolated than the others and even better views.

Just a tip - if you are trying to charge your cell phone don't use the bathroom - the one outlet in the bathroom was always in use. The ampitheater has two light posts with double outlets on them. We got all our electronics charged while sitting comfortably in the ampitheater and enjoyed the beauty of the view!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made reservations back in January for our June stay at Moraine Park. We arrived right after 1pm check in and got a helpful & friendly greeting. We really liked this campground, but hated our spot ~ A47. The driveaway was carved into a hilll and is surrounded by wood wall sides. This spot is only good for shorter RVs or maybe tents. The table/fire pit was located a little bit up the hill, which really wasn't a problem but the next campsite's table/fire pit was closer to our RV than ours was. This site does not have a lot of shade at all, but it is close to the flush potties & solar shower house. The solar shower house is a great idea. It's nice and big and has a pulley to string up your solar shower bag (you must bring your own!) Even though this was not a great site, the views are fantastic!!!

Room Tip: If you have an RV try to reserve an even numbered C site. Great views to the the valley & mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FloofinSchnoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in A097 for one night in June. Nice campground close to the action of the national park. We were right across from the bathroom, which was nice. It is a small site, kind of along the road but we didn't feel too exposed to neighbors. The views in the campground are nice. We didn't see any wildlife, but we were only here one day. We did buy wood from the fellow at the front of the campground and he had kindling for sale too. We had a fire. Since there were fires south of the park, I worried a little that they might ban them. The water is right in front of the bathroom which was convenient for us also. This is a good place to stay if you can do without electric.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurfeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I camped here for two nights in June. We stayed in A-099, which is a spot I would recommend to those willing to haul your gear uphill about 100 yds. The payoff is that you get a more secluded location (see photo), with views of Longs Peak and shade in the afternoon. While some of the spots are fairly close together, Moraine Park is a great camping area. Nice bathrooms, good roads, designated parking spots, and helpful park rangers. As far as the rest of RMNP, Bear Lake is the least amount of work for a beautiful payoff (Nymph, Dream, and Emerald Lakes). Just be sure to be on the trail by 7:30AM or else it will get crowded and won't be nearly as nice. We saw elk, mule deer and one moose during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great time in RMNP. Moraine Park is a very nice campground. We had a walk-in site which seem more private. Also, because we were up on a hill we had a nice breeze and I think better views than those lower down. We were in site A87. It isn't very shaded - it looks like some trees were taken down fairly recently - probably due to the pine bark beetle. We had a hummingbird that was at our site most of the time and provided much entertainment. The kids loved scrambling around on the rock. The sites across the road seemed a little swampy - at least while we were there Memorial weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank kkwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this campground for two days, on "walk-in sites" A002 and 003 - both graveled. Campground is quite large and crowdy place with some solar showers only so it was not good as I expected. It is not a quiet place for camping as there is a lot of people, families with children, especially during the weekend when we stayed there.
But for us hiking and nature was the priority, so for us it was enough, as I said, the main thing was lack of normal showers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
5.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.8 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#23 of 78 in Estes Park
237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#53 of 78 in Estes Park
109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#28 of 78 in Estes Park
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Estes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing