We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
96
60
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
60
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flush toilets solar shower bear boxes tent pad glacier basin pit toilets bear locker running water cub lake trail warm shower rocky hill longs peak bear proof generator noise camper sites car traffic fire pit
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 175 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family loved our campsite, #95. It had an open view of Longs Peak, was next to the flush toilets and dish washing station, had great boulders behind us for the kids to climb on and sit and read on. Some sites were a bit crowded but overall each site had plenty of room. There are minimal low bushes so there is not a lot of privacy from other sites but that also means you can see the mountains, the deer and elk as they wander through. Some sites don't have mountain views but each loop does have some sites with views. The sites without views tend to be nestled into a small nook providing more privacy. There are no showers but if you bring a solar shower or large jug of water they do provide 2 outdoor shower stalls.

The campground is also close to nice trails, about 7 or so miles from Bear Lake which had my favorite hike with incredible views between Nymph Lake and Dream Lake. Alberta Falls in the area also very nice.

We checked out Aspenglen Campground, which was small and pleasant but did not have the views of this campground.

Room Tip: Plan to be in bearcountry, you'll have to store all food and worn cloths in the car. No leaving anything out at your site or in your tent. A bear did come through the campground one night while we were there.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler53719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I went with my husband and two kids. Even though we could not have a camp fire (due to all of the forrest fires in Colorado at the time) it was a super fun camping trip. We took a drive around the park and saw some elk. We then took a little hike to a waterfall and had a little family picnic. It really is so beautiful. In the campsite, there are bucket toilets and a few flush facilities with running water. The rangers are super nice and helpful. They offer tent and camper sites. Our campsite had a beautiful view. I will definitely take my family back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BrennyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Moraine Park Campground. We loved our site (A123) and had plenty of room and were close to a bear box which was very handy... the toilets were fine - only gripe was the light above the sinks was not working and there was no way to dry your hands. But if only they would install a shower block somewhere in the park! (there aren't any showers anywhere in the park). The only public showers are a 20 minute drive away in Estes Park and are $5 a go...

The only thing to be aware of is that they are currently doing road works on Bear Lake Road in the park which can make getting in and out of the campground a bit of a process but we didn't find it a big problem.

Other good sites were A124 and A122.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
5  Thank Unruly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in our RV for 3 nights (loopA #35). Our spot wasn't the prettiest in the campground, but thanks to 2 small hills on either side of us we had no one else next to us. Not too far away from the bathrooms either (flush toilets & sinks). Our kids loved waking up and watching the mule deer walk around the campsites. Can buy firewood, kindling, ice, soda, & ice cream during the evening hours each night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarheelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

great location. great bathroom. can't really complain about anything.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank ptm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews