We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
96
59
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
59
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflush toiletssolar showerbear boxestent padglacier basinpit toiletsbear lockerrunning watercub lake trailwarm showerrocky hilllongs peakbear proofgenerator noisecamper sitescar trafficfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 174 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Moraine Park Campground. We loved our site (A123) and had plenty of room and were close to a bear box which was very handy... the toilets were fine - only gripe was the light above the sinks was not working and there was no way to dry your hands. But if only they would install a shower block somewhere in the park! (there aren't any showers anywhere in the park). The only public showers are a 20 minute drive away in Estes Park and are $5 a go...

The only thing to be aware of is that they are currently doing road works on Bear Lake Road in the park which can make getting in and out of the campground a bit of a process but we didn't find it a big problem.

Other good sites were A124 and A122.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
5  Thank Unruly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in our RV for 3 nights (loopA #35). Our spot wasn't the prettiest in the campground, but thanks to 2 small hills on either side of us we had no one else next to us. Not too far away from the bathrooms either (flush toilets & sinks). Our kids loved waking up and watching the mule deer walk around the campsites. Can buy firewood, kindling, ice, soda, & ice cream during the evening hours each night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarheelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

great location. great bathroom. can't really complain about anything.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank ptm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

As a tent camper, I agree with most of these other reviewers' comments about Moraine Park CG: many of the campsites are close together, Moraine Park Campground has really beautiful views, and the bathrooms are very clean and have soap (!) and flushable toilets.

We are tent campers and do not like to listen to generators in the next door neighbors' campsite. We stayed in site #101, directly in the middle of Loop A. This was a very good site, as it turns out. It's a walk-in site, but that was not a problem. The parking place for our car was right by a (very clean) bathroom. A short little path led up and over a very small hill and right down to our top-of-the-hill campsite, overlooking campsites #41 through #53 (approx.). I thought it would be really noisy with all those RVs directly down the hill, but it wasn't too bad. There was a HUGE boulder outcropping right next to our campsite, which the kids LOVED to climb on. And they met several other children from other campsites who were playing there, too.

Every morning and evening, a few deer would cruise through the campground, grazing and looking around. That was a neat experience.

The other thing I liked about our experience was the bear box strategically placed near our campsite. Instead of hauling all of our cooking equipment, food, etc. to the car to keep a clean campsite (i.e., non-bear-enticing), we put the food and equip in the conveniently located bear box. Made cleaning up easy.

Other reviewers have also mentioned the entertaining and informative nightly ranger talks in the amphitheater. I give these rangers very high marks for sharing their knowledge with us in very entertaining and delightful ways. Last summer, we learned about wolverines, pine beetles, and the best places to go hiking in RMNP, among other fascinating topics. If you stay on the "upper" side of Loop A, you might want to drive to the amphitheater -- it's a long walk and it will be dark after the talk.

This year will be our third year to visit RMNP. Our first year, we tried out three other campgrounds because we just didn't know any better. Last year, I felt like we hit the jackpot with Moraine Park and our camping experience there. This year, we plan to return to Moraine Park campground, but on Loop D. We'll see if there is any room for improvement. :)

Oh yeah, I almost forgot -- there is a cantankerous lady who sells firewood and ice every evening at the front gate. She is neither friendly nor helpful. I think there is a gentler place to buy wood and ice in Estes Park -- at The Corner Market with a Conoco gas station in front (Hwy 36 & Mary's Lake Rd.). Just so you know!

Room Tip: Campsite #101 is great, especially for families with older children (ages 7+) who can climb on the nearby rocks by themselves.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank dishgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We car/tent camped here, and enjoyed it a lot. We went in early May, before they were accepting reservations and it was delightful. Part of the reason it was nice is that it was sunny during the days, and snowing each night, so it was fairly empty in the campground. We arrived and there were Elk all over the campsites. We never saw another one at the campsite after the few RVs arrived. We needed to pay to enter RMNP, and then also to camp but it was very inexpensive. The rangers were very kind and friendly. It was a mixture of tent campers and RVs. The sites are VERY close to each other. We camped in the B loop. It was gorgeous. We were able to make a fire in the campfire pit, but you should check on fire restrictions before you go. We were able to bring our dog, as long as he was on a leash at all times and with us. They do spray with carbaryl to mitigate pine beetles, and at times that closes certain loops of the campground, but they seem to inform people in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews