We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
95
59
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
59
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflush toiletssolar showerbear boxestent padglacier basinpit toiletsbear lockerrunning watercub lake trailwarm showerrocky hilllongs peakgenerator noisecamper sitesbear proofcar trafficfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 173 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

great location. great bathroom. can't really complain about anything.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank ptm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

As a tent camper, I agree with most of these other reviewers' comments about Moraine Park CG: many of the campsites are close together, Moraine Park Campground has really beautiful views, and the bathrooms are very clean and have soap (!) and flushable toilets.

We are tent campers and do not like to listen to generators in the next door neighbors' campsite. We stayed in site #101, directly in the middle of Loop A. This was a very good site, as it turns out. It's a walk-in site, but that was not a problem. The parking place for our car was right by a (very clean) bathroom. A short little path led up and over a very small hill and right down to our top-of-the-hill campsite, overlooking campsites #41 through #53 (approx.). I thought it would be really noisy with all those RVs directly down the hill, but it wasn't too bad. There was a HUGE boulder outcropping right next to our campsite, which the kids LOVED to climb on. And they met several other children from other campsites who were playing there, too.

Every morning and evening, a few deer would cruise through the campground, grazing and looking around. That was a neat experience.

The other thing I liked about our experience was the bear box strategically placed near our campsite. Instead of hauling all of our cooking equipment, food, etc. to the car to keep a clean campsite (i.e., non-bear-enticing), we put the food and equip in the conveniently located bear box. Made cleaning up easy.

Other reviewers have also mentioned the entertaining and informative nightly ranger talks in the amphitheater. I give these rangers very high marks for sharing their knowledge with us in very entertaining and delightful ways. Last summer, we learned about wolverines, pine beetles, and the best places to go hiking in RMNP, among other fascinating topics. If you stay on the "upper" side of Loop A, you might want to drive to the amphitheater -- it's a long walk and it will be dark after the talk.

This year will be our third year to visit RMNP. Our first year, we tried out three other campgrounds because we just didn't know any better. Last year, I felt like we hit the jackpot with Moraine Park and our camping experience there. This year, we plan to return to Moraine Park campground, but on Loop D. We'll see if there is any room for improvement. :)

Oh yeah, I almost forgot -- there is a cantankerous lady who sells firewood and ice every evening at the front gate. She is neither friendly nor helpful. I think there is a gentler place to buy wood and ice in Estes Park -- at The Corner Market with a Conoco gas station in front (Hwy 36 & Mary's Lake Rd.). Just so you know!

Room Tip: Campsite #101 is great, especially for families with older children (ages 7+) who can climb on the nearby rocks by themselves.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank dishgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We car/tent camped here, and enjoyed it a lot. We went in early May, before they were accepting reservations and it was delightful. Part of the reason it was nice is that it was sunny during the days, and snowing each night, so it was fairly empty in the campground. We arrived and there were Elk all over the campsites. We never saw another one at the campsite after the few RVs arrived. We needed to pay to enter RMNP, and then also to camp but it was very inexpensive. The rangers were very kind and friendly. It was a mixture of tent campers and RVs. The sites are VERY close to each other. We camped in the B loop. It was gorgeous. We were able to make a fire in the campfire pit, but you should check on fire restrictions before you go. We were able to bring our dog, as long as he was on a leash at all times and with us. They do spray with carbaryl to mitigate pine beetles, and at times that closes certain loops of the campground, but they seem to inform people in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here the first week of September and loved it. I made reservations ahead of time to make sure we got a site. We were on site 130-a tent site in A loop. It was perfect because it was large, just a short walk from the parking spot, was private, and backed up to wilderness. During breakfast on 2 mornings we were able to watch the mule deer meander behind us. While we slept at night we could hear the elk bugling...cool most of the time except it kept us up one night. We didn't really mind though. We felt like we were really experiencing the park from our campsite. It did look like some of the sites were close together and small, but if you're in a tent, and can reserve ahead of time, you should be able to get a more private site.
In addition, the park is a short drive to Estes Park, visitor centers, and hiking trails. Also just down the road is a lookout of the valley for some prime views and wildlife watching. You can also walk to a shuttle stop to get to the trailheads so you really don't have to drive much. The park personnel were also very nice and helpful.
While on a shuttle we spoke with people staying at one of the nearby RV parks and they were very unhappy and felt like they were in a parking lot. We told them they should consider moving to Moraine for a better experience because we loved it. No, you don't get the amenities there, but who needs the amenities when you're out in nature like that. Just my opinion.
It's not hard for us to enjoy our time in any national park campground, but I can honestly say we loved the park and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mblaanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Agree with the recommendations for a Loop C site, which is where we stayed. The campsites are quite close together--if you want to not see your neighbor I'd go for one of the "walk-in" sites, which are only maybe 50 yards of walking but often much more secluded by boulders or small hills. Bathrooms have regular flush toilets (at least in C loop), sinks with cold water and soap (but bring your own towel) and are very well maintained. Appears relatively unaffected so far by the pine beetle. Plenty of shade at the campsites and beautiful views of mountains all around.

Only about a 10-15 min drive into Estes Park on mostly main and very well-marked roads, so it's very easy to run in for supplies. Free hiker shuttle goes to the main East side trialheads (and there are two trailheads directly off the campground) so you can leave your car behind (DO leave your car behind--the trailhead lots fill up early!) Also, be sure and stop by the visitor's center for a trail map or ask for one on the shuttle--makes trail distances much clearer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank babycobalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews