We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get C Loop site and you won't be disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Get C Loop site and you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Thanks to a prior review that I read on here, I made an advanced reservation for Morraine Park, C Loop (our site was C236 the first night and C239 for the second night). C236 was absolutely gorgeous! There are no hook ups but up in the rockies, we didn't need our AC or anything else that would've required our RV's generator anyway.

This is our second RV trip out west (we been to the Badlands, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Rocky Mountains and the Grand Canyon) and our experience with national parks has been this:
If you want a beautiful site at a national park DO NOT get sites with hookups. Most of the national park sites with hookups are like parking lots, the ones W/O hookups - beautiful, even the RV sites. By contrast almost every state park we have been to has had great sites with hookups, it is just the national park that have this quirk.

Room Tip: Book C Loop at Morraine Park if you can (Best RV site C236)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachbums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    53
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I hate to say this, because we love our national park campgrounds but this one was a little disappointing. There are just too many sites in too small and area. If you are camping in RMNP, Moraine is centrally located and probably your best option (Glacier Basin has had all the trees removed), but book early and try to get a site on the outside loops. The online reservation system has a fantastic sitemap - use it well. 136, 245, 247 are beautiful sites. There are some great hikes that start near the campground. Cub Lake Trail is an easy and scenic hike. We saw several elk on the path. Estes Park is very close and there is a perfect little mountain market on the right as you come into town. Firewood and ice are sold at the campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southerngrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Beautiful, awesome, views galore, spacious sites and clean facilities- what more could you want? How about sunsets behind glorious mountains, open spaces for kids to run around and beautiful rock outcroppings to climb. This is the best campsite in Colorado- especially if you get one of the sites on the A loop as most of them have amazing views. We tent camped and had the best time. There is so much on offer in the park, fishing, hiking, ranger porgrams, star gazing and animal watching. We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved our site which was 89
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mtngyrl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koudekerk aan den rijn, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The campground is perfectly located in the Rocky Mountains NP. It is close to the highlights. You can easily drive the Trail Ridge Road from here. The campground itself was nice. A firepit to make your campfire. You can buy some wood near the entrance. The restrooms are pretty clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jvdp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stayed in three different camp sites throughout a weeks time.. each one was delightful in its own way... one was close to the entrance (about A133?)... LOVED it.. next site was A081 (? maybe ?? high on a rocky ledge - above a bathroom :) And finally, spent two nights on B loop.. worried about the "no flush" toilet part of B loop.. but I have to say: those bathrooms were cleaner than most bathrooms with running water. Mule deer ambled through camp at night. Shows at amphitheater were hilarious and informative. Weather was hot, cold, wet, dry, sunny and perfect. I'd go again, and stay in any site available. You can't lose.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank boomchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is a very beautiful campground that is well maintained. One piece of advice...DO NOT arrive here for the first time at Night. This is what we did. It was difficult to find our campsite. We actually had to park our car in our assigned spot and walk a trail to get to our tent pad-site.***we were in site 128** It was a fabulous site when we woke up in the morning, but we had no idea where we were going in the dark. The bathrooms were SUPER Clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deannasgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed at site A128, please note that you have to walk through another campsite to get to this site. Once you get past that the view from this site is spectacular. It is a tent site only. The site looks across a valley and has a 12' rock wall blocking you from the loop road, quite private that way. Washrooms were your typical bare minimum flush toilet & sink National Park washroom. Adequate but nothing more. One thing I was surprised with is the amount of jet traffic, must be on a major route. All in all you just can't beat the view and that is what we book the campsite for. If I was to do it again I think A130 would be a better option for a single site. Having to hall the food and coleman stove back and forth to the vehicle (bear prevention) was a pain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank heamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
4.5 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
3.8 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#9 of 78 in Estes Park
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Property: Moraine Park Campground
Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Estes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing