We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The YMCA of the Rockies is a Treasure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The YMCA of the Rockies is a Treasure!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Three friends and I stayed at the Y for our recent hiking vacation in Rocky Mountain National Park. We could not have been more pleased. We rented a two bedroom cabin that was clean, comfortable and had a kitchen with all necessary equipment. It also had a nice porch for evening cocktails. The Y itself is a stunning facility. It has gorgeous mountain views and activities for all ages. We were very pleased by the expert advice offered at the hiking desk. Two of my friends took one of the Y's guided hikes and enjoyed it very much. Generations of families come to the Y for family vacations. I can certainly understand why. I cannot imagine a better base for visiting Rocky Mountain National Park or simply enjoying family time together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awaintroob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    274
    67
    29
    27
See reviews for
604
72
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just home from a Labor Day trip to the Rockies with a large hiking group. We rented a "Reunion Cabin" with 16 people staying and enjoyed fellowship and food and a fire with the most beautiful view of the mountains. Our group ate most of our meals in the really excellent Aspen Dining Hall which served a hearty buffet meal 3 times daily. One morning we fixed breakfast and had more than enough cooking, serving and eating pans and dishes. The hiking 'masters' we hired for our two days of hiking were knowledgeable and even took us 'off trail' for some really beautiful sights and challenging hiking. The only problem we had were not as many bathrooms as people would have liked (one cabin had two bathrooms, the other had one bathroom with two sinks/toilets/showers for a possible 28 people.) Lots of activities to keep everyone engaged and having a great time!

Room Tip: If you are bringing a large group and staying in cabins, do double check the bathroom situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieBinLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The resort is a large and well-maintained property with individual lodges that are each equivalent to a good hotel. Rustic look and feel with modern amenities. Beautiful surroundings. Meeting rooms were excellent. Like any retreat center, expect standard cafeteria food and seating. For some buildings it is a long walk (5 - 7 min) to the cafeteria. There are also no irons or ironing boards in the lodges . . . you have to borrow them from a separate building, which is also a hike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azmaveth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great place for families. The facilities are superb and if desired, one could spend their entire stay at the Y. It's the perfect place for families, young and old. Their are countless activities for all family members, from the youngest to the oldest. This year they've added a zip line. Whether you like indoor craft activities or outdoor activities, the Y has it all. The Rockies and Estes are also nearby. The Y is a priceless gem.

Room Tip: We rent a 2 BR cabin, but have not tried the other accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The YMCA of the Rockies is in an excellent location for access to Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed in Emerald Lodge and found the room to be very clean. There is no AC. Even though the temperatures dipped into the 50's during the night we could not get our room to cool below 73 degrees. Bring a fan if you want to circulate some of the outside air and it would probably be perfect. We paid a little over $150/night. No balcony but a beautiful view of the mountains. We would have preferred a cabin but they were booked solid. The campus is clean and beautifully maintained. We enjoyed our stay, loved the area hiking and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The YMCA of the Rockies is located right next to the Rocky Mountain National Park. We paid about $120 a night for a room in a lodge with a balcony that had an great view of the Rockies. The room was sapcious and clean. It does not have TV or AC (but it gets down into the upper 40s or lower 50s at night). It was very comfortable.

You can hike into the Park or take advantage of many other activites at the property. The activities are mostly aimed at kids or families. Most are included in the cost of the room.

Jackson stables is located on the property. We did a couple three hour rides into the Park. The wranglers are great and so are the horses. This costs extra, but is well worth it.

I highly recommned this for families or couples who are looking for a quiet outdoor centered vacation.

The food is average, so don't expect too much. Estes Park has alot of very good restaurants just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Rockies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We picked the Estes YMCA mainly for activities for our ten year old, but also because of proximity to RMNP. We stayed in the Cedar cabin, and the people that adopted this cabin have made it one of the nicest we have stayed in. The peace and serenity of the surroundings were only disrupted by the teenage dance music until ten or elven, and the high school band practicing at nine a.m.

If you go without children, I highly recommend after the 18th of August. Take time to hike down to Glacier creek along the horse back trail and let the little ones climb the rocks in the creek. We saw big horn sheep, elk, mule deer, wild turkeys, rabbits, hummingbirds, red tail hawks, you get the gist.

Not having a TV I played Clue every night with my ten year old, her friend, and my wife. You forget what pleasures can be obtained without TV. If you visit RMNP, and what to please the little ones, visit Alluvial fan. We cooked every night in the cabin and had a great experience. We will be back.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the cabins and the only place I would stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_prather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,449 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
3.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
484 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Property: YMCA of the Rockies
Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing