We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YMCA of the Rockies
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$180
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak To Peak Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$215
$190
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Estes Park Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$259
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
561
282
70
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
282
70
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingdining hallmini golfarts and craftswind river lodgeroller skatingcafeteria foodlodge roomssweet memorialfamily reunionlongs peak lodgerustic cafezip linecraft roombunk bedsbasic cabinsummer camp
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 969 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Several family members stayed at the Long's Peak Lodge for a wedding. Beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the room service was good. the lounge area had comfortable seating and coffee, decaf and tea available 24 hours a day. Breakfast was free every morning. The grounds were clean and maintained. There were Elk out grazing the area freely. The General Store was nice and reasonable. Water aerobics, art, and a massage therapy was available. Had a great time. Lots of exercise and the town for shopping was absolutely the best. Restaurants were good too. dined at Claire's and Poppy's, both highly recommended. Service was great.

Room Tip: they have cabins, but understood by some the beds were not as comfortable as the lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQ5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family stayed in a cabin for our son's wedding. It was the greatest!!!! Highly recommend this. The activities are fun, setting beautiful, staff friendly - so terrific! We played mini golf and had a blast. The buffet breakfast was much more than we expected and so good. Enjoyed the wildlife including watching a mule deer come and drink from the water pool in the mini golf course. It was close to town and the RMNP. Our cabin was so family friendly and big, clean and welcoming!!

Room Tip: Cabins are so neat.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been coming to the Y camp in Estes for 40 plus years starting when our child was young and now with the grandchild. It keeps getting better and better. Loads of activities for every age range or interest. Accommodations go from very basic to very nice new modern cabins and lodges. I've stayed in both. They're clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Food is good in the cafeterias and the cafe. Great crafts and nice pool and miniature golfing. And incredible views everywhere. If you want luxury, go else where. If you loved going to camp when you were a kid, this fits the bill and then some. I love it that even as an older person, I can still go to camp.

Room Tip: If you need handicap facilities ask for it, as many of the accommodations have stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandann921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location was unmatched. The amenities were plentiful, and the Y offered a lot of outdoorsy adventures for far less cost than private places around town. They had a pool, craft room, hiking guides, fishing trips, and lots of game areas and sports options. You could even hike into RMNP from the Y without having to pay the normal RMNP entrance fee. We didn't eat on the property so I can't comment about the food.

With all these amenities, it makes more sense for a family with kids to come stay here. As a couple, we were a little bored and spent about half the time in Estes Park's downtown. It was also abnormally windy - 40 MPH gusts every single day we were there. Everyone told us that it was not a normal thing, so we really had just gotten unlucky, but that isn't at all the YMCA's fault.

We stayed in a basic 2 bedroom cabin, and that's exactly what it was. Don't expect anything special. The YMCA is not meant for luxury, it's a cheap place to stay with your family to enjoy the outdoors. I'm not saying that some things wouldn't have been nice, but it is what it is.
The cabin was cold and the window panes shuddered loudly in all the wind. Even with the heater on all night, long sleeves/pants/socks and my own extra blanket, I was chilly. The heater (there's no A/C) only blows into the living area and not the bedrooms. Since dogs can be in the cabins, there was some dog hair stuck to the couch cushion.

The cabin had all the basic furnishings and dishes/utensils.

My only real complaint was the bed. It was small, definitely not a queen, and uncomfortable. My husband ended up sleeping on one of the bunk beds because the mattress was better and we'd both have more room. I guess a nice bed is something I would at least expect at a place where you're hiking, playing, going, etc. all day long.

Jackson Stables is on the YMCA property and the trail rides are AWESOME. And there were always elk or mule deer wandering around munching on grass.

Overall, we'll definitely go back once we have kids. There was so much to do outdoors that we'd love to enjoy it when there isn't unseasonable wind. We'll just have to be more picky about which cabin or lodge we stay in!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin at the YMCA of the Rockies for the 2nd year in a row. The cabin was simple, clean and had a wonderful view of the mountains. We chose the week of Memorial Day to keep our costs down a bit since its just a bit before peak season. Temperatures were in the 60's, one day 70. It's a bit chilly but the sun was usually out and the scenery gorgeous. We greatly enjoyed all the free activities for kids on the YMCA grounds. Our 3 older kids, 8 to 3 years old played mini golf, painted in the art center, enjoyed many outdoor group activities, and loved all the wildlife on the grounds. We saw elk roaming the property every day. The camp is right next to Rocky Mountain National Park. We really enjoyed a drive through the park. We love it here and will probably be back every year.

Room Tip: We requested a cabin a bit further away from the main buildings and enjoyed the quietness. Also, if you stayed in a specific cabin you liked, you can request if for the next stay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews