We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing location for families”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

An impromptu weekend filled with ice skating, swimming, scavenger hunt, crafts, leisurely breakfasts. Fantastic family location. Stayed in a two bedroom with fireplace. I highly recommend the fireplace, after dark you can stare at the fire, since you are deprived of the gorgeous mountain views in every direction! Depending on your cabin, a standard-stocked kitchen includes coffeemaker and filters, toaster, and enough pans and utensils to get the job done. After all, you're camping! There is a Safeway in Estes Park to pick up anything you may have forgotten, and the General Store in the Administration Building has the stick of butter you need if you don't feel like driving to town. The staff is delightful, the Rustic Cafe, where a hard boiled egg is 48 cents and a sandwich that'll feed five (choice of turkey and cheese or ham and cheese) is $5, provides cost effective nourishment, and the activities are outstanding. The library has over 22,000 volumes, and five computers for public use (for a fee). The arts and crafts building is amazing, leather goods, mosaic tile projects, fired ceramics, jewelry (a new pair of earrings, $2.85. Happy kids, priceless). What fun! Great job, YMCA!

Room Tip: Get a fireplace. Firewood for purchase at Sweet Memorial Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderBayandSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    274
    67
    29
    27
See reviews for
604
72
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAYS
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and two of my sons had a "working weekend" at the YMCA, one week before Christmas. This was my first time at the Y at this time of year. If you have never been to the Y at Christmas time, it is a beautiful sight to behold. Dorsey pond was frozen and people were ice skating on it. There were few people at the Y; it was so quiet and peaceful. Yet the staff really made us feel welcome. I hope that one day we can have all the family at the Y for the Christmas holiday.

Also, Estes Park was beautiful, with all the downtown decked in white lights. It too was quiet and we had a nice time strolling the streets.

Room Tip: rent a cabin with a fireplace. It is fun cooking and setting on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a wedding retreat on this idilic YMCA location, we extended our staying 3 more nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. Was so wonderful to have that decisition! A new honeymoon for my wife and I, not expected!! And also we have the time to visit the nearby Rockie Mountain National Park which was simply awesome!! Really a lovely place to experience it!!

Room Tip: Cabins are so warm and well equiped. You wont miss your own home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Y camp with my daughter and her friends as she has grown from a school age child to our most recent visit with her and her college age friends. We generally stay in the simple, but clean and well-stocked cabins that have complete kitchen facilities, no tvs (but do have wireless internet access) :-). We love the beautiful, quiet setting, the available recreational facilities and activities, the hiking, the critters, the nearby town of Estes Park, ...

I hope to eventually bring my grandchildren!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for the night at the YMCA of the Rockies. It was clean, roomy and very spacious. Since there were 5 of us, I got stuck sleeping on the twin size bed. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue but they had a plastic sheet on the mattress and then a standard cotton sheet. The cotton sheet was ill-fitted and slid off the corners all night long. Other than that, it was a good stay. We took advantage of the roller skating rink and although small and slightly outdated, it made for a fun evening. We were also disappointed to see that the miniature golf course was closed when we arrived at 7:45 p.m. even though we had been told upon check in that they would be open until 9:00 p.m.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent several days at the YMCA of the Rockies. An amazing place! The location and activities can't be beat (horseback riding, archery, hiking, etc) and very family-friendly. We stayed in one of the lodges and the value was great. The proximity to RMNP is stellar.

The cafeteria is OK, but there are plenty of fabulous places to eat in nearby Estes Park. If you go during elk bugling season, the resident elk heard seems to come right to your door! Warning: they do bugle all night long, but the ambiance can't be beat.

The staff if friendly and professional. We highly recommend a stay at the YMCA of the Rockies

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMtnValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first visit to YMCA at Estes Park with our 6 & 2yr old, and it was amazing. We stayed in the Kiowa cabin just across from the Admin building. We enjoyed daily visits from the local Elk and Deer at our front door steps. We were lucky that our cabin was recently updated and very clean! The kids recommend the hayride and marshmallow roast. We are already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eyeluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,449 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
3.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
484 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Property: YMCA of the Rockies
Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing