We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
dorthy1493
1 review
“Dump”
Reviewed June 26, 2007

was verry run down and and not verry nice..... i dont stay at luxuray hotels but this was a dump

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything was horribull
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dorthy1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    12
    18
    44
See reviews for
38
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

The lodge is older than the town so expect rustic and wonderful and real antique furnishings. Think about traveling back in history the way the first vacationers saw and stayed in Estes Park. Realize the Stanley's stayed at the Elkhorn while they built the "Stanley." Mrs. Stanley played the part of a fortune teller at fall parties at the Elkhorn.
Imagine waltzing with Teddy Roosevelt in the great room. There are no TV's, micro waves, or built in hair dryers but there is pure history for those who appreciate the real thing. There are ghost too.

  • Liked — I only stay in historic hotels. This place is on the National Registar.
  • Disliked — It might close.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be ready for real old timey style stay.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I used to work at the hotel for about 2 years and yes I agree with some of the reviews but som are from people who are used to five star acomodations. what people dont understand is that the place is as old as the town itself and yea its rustic but thats what the charm of the place is! and as for poor conditions of the horses! thats #%$#^ I personaly saw how they were taken care of, the staff(wranglers)care more about those horses than the owner. Some things you might think of is almost all those horses are saved from auctions in that if not bought they will die. so if some look bad its not elkhorns fault, but give those folks down there at the stables some time. I peronaly remember a horse that was over 40 years old.
All in all Elkhorn Is the best relaxing and comfortable place for people to stay in estes, ive been told this by over 90% of the guests. But the best time to be at the ranch is in the summer months because and due to the fact it is a old historic place and when you have historic you have old time heat, (fire place in the main lodge) so if you plan on staying in the winter bring your blanket and a camera!
sincerely
Dan Mitchell

  • Stayed April 1999, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2005

we were at elkhorn for about 2 hours a couple of years ago. it was horrible-my wife wouldnt stay there-luckily we found an alternative. much of what they advertised was unusable-playground was overgrown and full of horse stuff, pool was green. pretty awful. the web site is now at least more indicative of what you will get. this is rustic with a capital "R". the problem is you can stay somewhere better for the same price. i wouldnt have posted this but i saw that it rated 12 out of 20 b and b's in estes and didnt think that was fair. of course my experience was two years ago and maybe its really improved since then.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 22, 2004

Arriving late on a Saturday evening w/o a reservation anywhere in Estes Park, we found Elkhorn at the west edge of town. Coincidentally, a large wedding reception was taking place in the main hall as we rented our cabin. Owners daughter, Val, said they would never turn anyone away; they would pull out a couch before they told anyone they had no room.

Rented a 1 room cabin described as "rustic". Accurate description. Mattress's in earlier review have been replaced. Very comfortable and woodsy. A little pricey for a camping atmosphere, but what can I say, we showed up in town without a reservation and they had a place for us to sleep.

Owners are friendly and conversational; gave us local advice and directions.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2003

We loved the Elkhorn Lodge! We stayed in a cabin with our dog, and were made to feel very welcome and at home by the owners. The Sunday brunch, the front porch benches on the cabins, and the atmosphere were all great, and to see the elk walking past our cabin early in the morning was unforgettable. I agree with the previous poster, the mattress was not so great, but the owners are in the process of renovating this winter (03).

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2003

The Elkhorn was once obviously a wonderful destination, but now is almost beyond seedy. The mattresses were painful. There was no food service. Went with an open mind - expected a bit above camping and got a little less than that. For the price, you can do better in Estes. Of most concern was the state of some of the horses on the property. It was all a bit sad.

Helpful?
2 Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#11 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch

Property: Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
Address: 600 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9139
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elkhorn Lodge is the oldest continuous operating lodge in the Rocky Mountain region and is the most historical property in Estes park. Dating to 1874 when Reverend McCreary from Ft. Collins built a small summer cabin on what was to become the Elkhorn property, to today's struggles to save and restore this jewel of the West, the Elkhorn Lodge has been and continues to be a major part of Estes Park. With a fully functioning main lodge, cabins galore, and several spacious buildings for large parties, there's accommodations for any and all at the Elkhorn Lodge and Ranch. And Don't forget about the horseback riding! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Lodge And Guest Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing