We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Estes Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Maxwell Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haber Motel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Crest Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
28
29
11
18
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
29
11
18
44
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 130 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this place in late June. The buildings on the property are rundown and grossly mismanaged. We came down stairs for breakfast, (which was mediocre but for $7 we weren't expecting much) we saw the lady that supposedly runs it, verbally assaulting her employees right at the front desk. So unprofessional and in general it really looks bad doing it there in the lobby. The rooms were dingy and there was so much dirt and dead bugs built up on the window ledges, we kept the windows shut.
The desk people seemed miserable the night we checked in, but seeing what they had to put up with from their boss I can understand why. But that doesn't constitute as an excuse to be relatively uncaring for the guests.
I believe in the right hands this place can be an awesome vacation spot, but with the people there now, it doesn't stand a chance. It looks like it should be condemned.
The office for the stable is gross but at least the horses look pretty good so if all you go there for is the ride, excellent.
Spare yourself the dissappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank that1person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a very rustic place. I found myself really appreciating the friendliness of the staff and the very authentic Western ambience of the lodge. It is also walking distance to the center of Estes Park and a ten minute drive to one of the entrances of the Rocky Mountain National Park. I believe the lodge itself is not very much changed from when Teddy Roosevelt stayed here at the beginning of the last century. Some would call that old but I view it as a historic journey to an earlier and simpler era. I believe I got a taste of the American West from about 100 years ago. There are some modern amenities such as free wifi and cable TV but if you are looking for super modern facilities, this is not the place for you. My wife and I started our days at the lodge's convenient hot buffet breakfasts ($7.50 each) and then proceeded to our hikes at the RMNP. We would return around mid-afternoon, go to the town to dine and then come back to the lodge to veg. Other positive aspects of my experience here have been the hospitality of the staff and the quietness of the room in the lodge. In my book, genuine hospitality never goes out of style or gets old.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDoobers, Front Desk at Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you very much for that awesome review. We agree that Elkhorn Lodge is like stepping in to the past. We would like to extend our gratitude for sharing your experience with the internet world. The staff at Elkhorn Lodge are here to make your visit comfortable and enjoyable and we are glad to have accomplished that.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The lodge was built in the late 1800's and has stayed in that condition, so if you expect to stay in a modern facility, this is not the place for you. But, on the other hand, if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and hospitable, laid back hotel, within walking distance to downtown Extes Park, this is the place for you. Their breakfasts are hardy and delicious and everything is reasonably priced. Get an experience of the wild west and stay here. They also have horseback riding trips.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetbychek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDoobers, Front Desk at Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

We at the Elkhorn Lodge are pleased to hear that your visit with us was enjoyable. In a busy world, it's nice to know that there is still an affordable place where it is possible to relax. Thank you very much for the positive feedback and we hope to see you at the lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lovely rustic lodge. The rooms are old and if the walls could speak it would be a memoir. The staff was so friendly and helpful... If you want an experience that is rustic in the rocky mountains within a historic lodge this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at the Elkhorn lodge for a night, found a wonderful old timber building with lots of western atmosphere that kind of parallels the charme of old chalets in the European Alps. The young and lively staff was helpful and attentative, clean simple rooms, well working wifi (so much for anachronism) and a nice breakfast. The place itself buzzed with life, horses, dogs, squirrels, bats, rabbits all over the place and the people there seemd to enjoy themselves too. Definitely not a shiny and polished design place but tons of laid back atmosphere and flair - we loved it. We also took a horseback tour that was well organized and guided, even spotted a coyote.

1  Thank Lupo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews