We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat opportunity for kids to learn to fish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trout Haven Ranch Lodge
Smith Center, Kansas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat opportunity for kids to learn to fish”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We did not stay here, we used the trout pond. They provide all the equipment and bait and only pay if you catch fish ($.95 per inch). Our 6 and 3 year old were able to cast and and had fun. They even clean the fish for you. Not a fishing destination for a sportsman, but great for kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ders73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed three nights in a Beaver Brook studio condo and loved it! The studio was large, spotless and very comfortable. Awesome king bed with nice linens.The small private balcony overlooked a stream and had a gorgeous view of Longs Peak. There was a mini kitchen with a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Unit #12 is the only condo without a washer/dryer, but the management made one available when I asked. The location was great--just 10 minutes from the Park entrance, as well as from town. I wish I could have stayed a week!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shampel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The title should say it all. We stayed in a cabin called Bear Claw # 10. The cabin was not clean the carpet is awful and the bed smelled and was hard as a rock. We cut our stay short and went home early because this place was so bad. We have been going to Estes for 8 years staying in a few different spots. You would be better off staying at the motel 6. Half the price and a lot nicer room. I just can not find anything good to say about this place. Except it is located right next to the best BBQ in town . Smoken Daves BBQ is GREAT. But even good food could not make you forget about how bad the cabin was. We were in town and both of us wanted to stay out all day..about 13 hours because we did not want to go back to the cabin. FIND ANY OTHER PLACE AND IT WILL BE BETTER THAN THIS.!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LUCKYCAMPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail E, Manager at Trout Haven Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We're apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We're under new management now, and are working hard to re-build trust with our clients. If you give me a call, let's talk about a discount on your next stay. Gail, 970-274-8844.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We have stayed at Tiny Town for over 30 years. For most of that time it was owned by a family. Due to a death in the family, the cottages were bought by Trout Haven Ranch which is located adjacent to Tiny Town.

This trip was the first time we stayed at Tiny Town since the change of ownership. It was such a disappointment. The cabins were never fancy or elegant. But they were always very neat and clean and well maintained.

This time, the fridge was not clean. The shelves had something stuck on them and there were a couple of bags left in the freezer. I have no idea what was in the bags and didn't care to find out! The drawer with the knives and forks was not clean either. This made us so leery of everything that we never used a plate or bowl without washing it first.

The carpet and couches were the same ones that had been there for over 25 years. I had never felt so distrustful of the carpet before, but this trip I was hesitant to walk around barefoot. There was no table next to the bed at all. So, I picked up a small table in the living room to move to the bedside. When I picked up the table, the entire top came off in my hands.

The tops of the tables seem to have been dusted. But the shelves and lower part of all the tables were covered with enough dust and dirt to write your name in. I put something on a window sill and found it to be also just terribly dusty and dirty. The mantle of the fireplace was also very dirty.

On past trips, I have cooked large meals for the family in the kitchen of these cottages. This time, we were reluctant to even use the plates or glasses. There is no way I would have wanted to use any kind of pot or pan. We had one really cold night during our stay. It got down into the 20's overnight. This cabin had only one wall type space heater in the living room. The rest of the cabin - the bedroom, kitchen and especially the bathroom were just freezing in the morning. We couldn't take a shower until the sun rose and warmed the place up a little bit.

We talked to some of the previous owners of these cabins during our stay. They say that the new owners basically are just going through the motions of trying to keep these older cabins open until the economy improves then they intend to tear them down and build more modern structures. The location along the river very near to the park entrance is good. There is a lot of acreage around these cabins. If they do tear them down, I am sure they will build many more than they now have and I guess it will be more profitable.

There was only one small roll of toilet paper in the cabin. They said if any more was needed (duh-we were staying three days!) we could come to the check in building to get some more. In the past years, each cabin had a trash can right next to the porch. There would be daily pick up for each cabin. Now, there is one large dumpster located to the side of the property. There was no soap in the bathroom. A quick trip to the corner store was needed before we could settle in.

We have so many wonderful family memories from our stays at Tiny Town. It is a shame that the new owners are not even trying to do a decent job of upkeep until they rebuild. It was so sad to have to tell our friends and relatives that the place had changed so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank STLTravelerMidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail E, General Manager at Trout Haven Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I do want to apologize for the discomfort you had when you stayed at Tiny Town Cabins in 2009. The business has now been purchased and is under new management. We have upgraded, redecorated, and refurnished most the cabins. We are now open for winter rentals having put in a new water line and insulated some of the cabins. I would like to invite you to make a return visit with us at Tiny Town Cabins. They are still old and very quaint and cozy and comfortable. We will be continuing the process of upgrading for the next year as well.

Have a wonderful 2013 summer.

Gail Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The cabins at Trout Haven are adequate. The carpet is old. The bedding is dingy. The bathroom is slightly mildewed. The kitchen is outdated. Although there is a small stream in the back, there is a trailer park on the other side, which diminishes the view into the mountains. It's the kind of place where you're a little concerned about touching the carpet or the comforter because you're not sure what's left behind. On the plus side, it is convenient to the national park. Also, since each cabin is separate from the others, you have lots of privacy. Additionally, the sound of the water in the stream is very soothing for sleep after a long day on the trail in the national park.

Overall, I hope to go back to Estes Park, but it would be worth the extra cost to stay in a nicer place.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail E, General Manager at Trout Haven Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I would like to personally invite you to return to Tiny Town Cabins. We are now under new ownership and management and are in the process of upgrading the cabins. Many now have all the old carpet removed and have the original oak floors refinished. Many are also insulated and we are open for the winter business. I realize that once you had an unpleasant experience you don't want to return, however if you are in Estes Park I would like to personally invite you to return for another stay at Tiny Town. I think you would be very pleased with your experience.

Gail Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I had a three-night stay at Tiny Town cabins in October 2008. We were in #9, Happy Ours, which was rustic and dingy. There is a small kitchen with coffee maker and toaster, full-sized fridge, but no microwave. They also supply a handful of dishes, pans and utensils for your use.
The double bed was in the main room, which also had an old fold-out love seat. The satellite television is bolted up high on the wall, so expect to get a crick in your neck if you watch for long. There is also a wood-burning fireplace which we did not use.

The third room had a small table with two chairs and a dresser and could be used as a gameroom or dining area.

In all, the cabin was fully paneled and pretty dark. It could really benefit from just a few updates, new carpet, painted walls, a higher-wattage bulb in the lamp. We used the radiator since the nights were cool and I did not notice any air conditioning unit.

The location can't be beat, very close to the Beaver Meadows entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park, though it could be a headache turning left out of the property during peak season.

  • Liked — proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park
  • Disliked — a few updates would go a long way
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HikingOkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
WorldMark Estes Park
WorldMark Estes Park
#49 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#51 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout Haven Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout Haven Ranch Lodge

Property: Trout Haven Ranch Lodge
Address: 810 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout Haven Ranch Lodge is your Estes Park venue for weddings, family reunions, and retreats. The Lodge, itself, sleeps up to 30 and has two kitchens and a series of covered decks that overlook the Trout Haven Fishing Pond. Three 2-bedroom completely remodeled cabins provide additional housing and are adjacent to the main Lodge. Also on property is the 800 Moraine Ave Event Center, a meeting and banquet facility for groups up to 150 people. Lodge and cabin guests receive 10% off fishing at Trout Haven Fishing Pond. Guests can also walk to mini golf and one of the most popular restaurants in Estes Park – Smokin’ Dave’s BBQ. All these facilities are just five minutes to the main entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing