We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”
Review of Orlando's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Orlando's Steakhouse
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheyenne, WY
Level Contributor
187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been to all steak houses in Estes but thought we'd try Orlando's as it was rated above well.
Do not waste your time. They had a limited NYE menu and couldn't master it. We ordered med-rare filet mignon steaks but they were rare and tasteless and served with bearnaise on the side. The bearnaise sauce had dill in it and was grossly over-powering, not too mention cold. The lobster was mediocre.
The prices were reasonable but you get what you pay for and we will not eat there again.
For a great steak in Estes, stick to Twin Owls Steakhouse. It'll cost you a bit more but you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherbrownstone, Manager at Orlando's Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I apologize for your disappointment with your experience at Orlando's. It is hard to answer your review as it is a slam on pretty much everything, and touting another steakhouse, at that. I was busing tables that night, as a manager and I do not remember anyone with such complaints. In fact, we were complimented on dinners all night long. Tandy, the chef, has been at Orlando's for 17 years and another 12 at the Dunraven Inn. The man has literally cooked thousands of steaks. He is known for his expertise with steaks and seafood.
You stated there was dill in the bernaise. There is not. That is tarragon you tasted. If you didn't like it, that's a shame, as we're known for it.
I'm not sure what the compliant meant that our menu was limited for NYE. That is our menu. That's it. What were you expecting?
When dining in a place, if you're this unhappy, please let the staff know when you're there. It is mean and unfair to hide behind you're computer and state things, true to you, that owners have no chance to fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service (overall a four), but not up to the high ratings and prices. Sorry.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Good steak, seafood and service (overall a four), but not up to the high ratings and prices. One of our guests sent back their meal to be cooked to the original order, and it came back burned. Unfortunately, this is not the way to impress your friends. If your looking for the best steak in town and a wonderful atmosphere, I'd recommend Twin Owls Steakhouse. Their still my favorite.

Helpful?
1 Thank mbslanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Compliments to the chef!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Dinner was delicious! I had the filet and lobster special and my girlfriend had the filet and shrimp scampi. Both meals were cooked perfect. The chef came out during dinner to introduce himself and ask our opinion. I appreciated that. With the full bar downstairs, you have your choice of drinks to accompany your meal. Best meal we had in Estes Park.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Mo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our day trip local coach driver suggested we try Orlando's, she had it on good information it was wonderful as we were considering local restaurants on the bus. Turned out she was the owners wife!!

Wonderful surprise, very outgoing staff, EXCELLENT meals for all our party just a wonderful place. Only drawback is they are only open four days/week but well worth the wait if you find an off day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Steaks tender and juicy, cooked exactly to our request. Delicious desert and good all round service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yasawasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing