We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch and way more affordable than dinner!”

Cascades Restaurant at the Stanley Hotel
Ranked #22 of 128 Restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Taxi service and in season free trolley service.
Description: Cascades, a Classic American Restaurant and Steakhouse is located in the heart of the historic 103 year-old Stanley Hotel. Join us for, breakfast, lunch or dinner in our comfortable dining room. Stop by for a cocktail in our lounge, as our "bar chefs," handcraft a cocktail from our historic cocktails of yesteryear. Remember the time when lunch was an event, cocktail hour was not to be missed & dinner with friends was a joy.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good lunch and way more affordable than dinner!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My mother in law and I decided to make an afternoon of the Stanley hotel. We made reservations online for lunch and a tour afterwards. We arrived on time and waited about five minutes to be seated. We were seated in a nice quite corner with a nice view of the patio and waterfall. Our waiter was prompt and our food came quickly. We ordered the turkey wrap and the street tacos. The wrap was large and came with fries. The street tacos were fairly small and had no side. The food was good, but still somewhat overpriced. The dining room was beautiful and the staff was very observant. Our glasses were always refilled before they were half empty. I was a neat experience, but I don't know that I would do it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkenz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    333
    211
    88
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited Cascades on September 6 for my wife's birthday, and it was a terrific experience. Part of this was because we had reserved on Open Table and asked for a quiet table for the occasion, so we were put in a nook off the main dining room. Part was also that our waiter was John, the wine buyer, who was both an excellent waiter and also very knowledgeable about their wine list and wines in general. The food was excellent (note that I rarely give five stars, reserving this for world class food). The kale salad I had was one of the best salads I've ever had anywhere, and my halibut was very fresh and perfectly cooked. My wife's filet was excellent. The bar was outstanding, with an excellent selection of whiskeys of all sorts. Prices overall were very reasonable for the quality of the experience. The atmosphere was very friendly and informal, considering the classiness of the Stanley Hotel and Cascades (even though many customers were dressed perhaps too informally!). We returned for drinks and bar food two nights later, and the experience was also great, with the bar food being terrific (Sinshito pepper appetizer and salads with salmon), but the whiskey bar was the best part. If you try this and like whiskey on the rocks, ask for the round ice ball, which is an experience in itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paisano43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a really good dinner, not overly pricey, and it was worth the price. Ate at a steakhouse the previous night -- paid more and it wasn't good! Make a reservation because it's worth your time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkey056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrible for the price”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Out of four different entrees not one of us enjoyed the food and the average price was about $60 per person. In my case the pheasant soup was excellent, but served like warm. The pecan encrusted squash was under cooked. It was a good concept, but not well executed even if it was cooked properly. Others had overcooked filet mignon, tasteless beef rib and so on. Also, the service was not consistent with a quality restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RadarGuyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did not make reservations but although the restaurant was very busy when we arrived, there was no waiting time before we were seated for dinner. Excellent service and food was perfect. We ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascades Restaurant at the Stanley Hotel also viewed

 
Estes Park, CO
 

Been to Cascades Restaurant at the Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing