We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Not a Priority”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer Service Not a Priority”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Although the views are lovely, the customer service was lacking. Among many problems during our two day stay was the fact that I had to ask for maid service on the second day. When I did, the employee argued with me about whether or not I needed it. I did! And, at the rate I was paying, it should have been a given, and not a fight with a surly operator and angry housekeeping staff. I was given a card when I checked in with a manager's name, phone number and email address. When I tried to call, the number had been disconnected and my email was bounced back. Their slogan is "We love to say Yes!"; however, I never heard a yes, only arguments and a disconnected phone number to call for help. I responded to the generic "How was your stay?" email when I returned home, but never heard a word back about my highly negative experience. So much for "loving to say yes!" Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is with regret that we hear about your experience. Our team members have been coached on importance of customer service as we want to make sure our guests are always treated with utmost respect and courtesy. The business cards at our front desk have been checked for accuracy to ensure our guests have an outlet to share their feedback. Thank you again for your business and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
131
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

First the staff have been great...very welcoming and helpful. Rustic...hmmm. That word has a wide range of meanings. When I'm 100 years old, I hope I'm shape that's at least this good. The lobby, restaurant and bar are charming, a bit worn (in a good way) and wholly appropriate for an old mountain resort. Our room, a two-bedroom suite, was cozy (read small), clean, comfortable and old with a spiffy new coat of paint. Not a complaint, just truth-in-advertising. Two bathrooms, both clean and well appointed. The kitchenette was tight but functional. All in all, a good place. Not fancy, just nice, and very well situated with GREAT views.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The staff are friendly,the room has kitchenette which was nice,location is great ..the only problem that rooms are small and there is no house keeping..rates are reasonable but there is $5 a night resort fee

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentelrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Diamond has put considerable effort into improving this 100 year old lodge. We stayed here in 2011, and it was not very good at all. A mouse in our room, for instance; but the gracious staff moved us to another room. We stopped by last fall, without staying, and checked out the improvements. After doing so, we decided to stay again. We depart tomorrow, and have enjoyed this stay. The staff has been most friendly and accommodating on both occasions. In connection with this stay, hats off to Barb and Ann. The lobby, as it well should, remains rustic in appearance and furnishings. The rooms and hallways are much improved and updated. We stayed in a studio, and it was basically what we expected. Only a couple of knocks. The window treatment is with blinds rather than curtains or shades. Too much light in the AM for sure. The sink will not accommodate a dinner plate. It is needlessly small, and there was room for it to be six inches longer. Moreover, the spout is fixed, and will not swivel, which is a nuisance as you try to fit things in and go to rinse them. I'm a shorty at 5'8", and had to reach with my arms extended to fit things into the microwave, which is raised above the two burner stove at a height of at least six feet. It is so high that you cannot witness the progress of the heating. The bedroom is not separated from the rest of the apartment by a door of any kind. A sliding door would work to provide quiet and dark in the bedroom while others use the rest of the place. Methinks a woman's touch was greatly needed in the planning stage. The bathroom is adequate. No problems there. As you might expect in a studio, there is no dishwasher(except me), and no oven. The fridge is a mini, and that's OK. We enjoyed the stay, and would stay again in this same room. No large complaints, but observations instead. We like the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went up for a quick one night get-away. The main floor was historic, rustic, and charming. The desk clerk was kind and friendly. We stayed in a room below the restaurant dining room,. It looked out onto a tree covered slope and across the valley and parts of downtown. There is noise from the dining room in the evening, but it was not a problem since they closed that up before we went to sleep. The room itself (a small suite actually) was up to date and clean. Others have commented on the lack of air conditioning. The room had a ceiling fan, but its effects were limited since it is not over the bed. We did not discover until morning that there was another box fan in the closet. If we had placed it in the window it would have been great since it does cool down at night even during warm summer days. We had a great dinner in the upstairs restaurant (appropriately named "The View"). Didn't have time for the pool but it looked pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouginCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here the 4th of July week 2014 and had a great time. Our room faced north overlooking the mountains and town. People at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Do not understand some of the negative comments. Only downside was the shower. Hot and cold water fluctuated. The restaurant was pricey but very good quality. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Apparently do not get a room that faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Recently spent 3 nights there in July. I booked a studio from Expedia and was given an efficiency studio at the studio price. After driving a very long drive to reach Estes Park, I let it go.
I felt the front desk was rude. I had read they were very friendly but that was not my experience. They never spoke or even looked up when we entered or departed.
The room was not worth the price. It was very small for the price. Had no place to put our clothes except on a few hangers. Very noisy. The walls are so thin we that we did not sleep unless we came back in the afternoon and caught a nap. Our room faced the parking lot and with no air conditioning and the windows open, you caught all of that noise. The shower was either scalding hot or cold. Hard to regulate it. I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here try and get a room on the 3rd floor, away from the stairs and not facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLDJCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are deeply sorry to hear of the challenges you faced during check in and on your recent visit here. It is disappointing to know you encountered an unfriendly welcome, inconveniences within your room, a billing error and noise disruption. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to resolve the billing error immediately and hope you’ll contact us directly not only to gain a clearer understanding, but also to attempt to remedy the challenges you experienced. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide the best soundproofing between rooms that we can, and assure you that our resort was built according to construction code. We do, regret there are times when persistent noise disturbances, such as street noises and boisterous vacationers can defeat the best of our efforts. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing