We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“between average and very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Diamond has put considerable effort into improving this 100 year old lodge. We stayed here in 2011, and it was not very good at all. A mouse in our room, for instance; but the gracious staff moved us to another room. We stopped by last fall, without staying, and checked out the improvements. After doing so, we decided to stay again. We depart tomorrow, and have enjoyed this stay. The staff has been most friendly and accommodating on both occasions. In connection with this stay, hats off to Barb and Ann. The lobby, as it well should, remains rustic in appearance and furnishings. The rooms and hallways are much improved and updated. We stayed in a studio, and it was basically what we expected. Only a couple of knocks. The window treatment is with blinds rather than curtains or shades. Too much light in the AM for sure. The sink will not accommodate a dinner plate. It is needlessly small, and there was room for it to be six inches longer. Moreover, the spout is fixed, and will not swivel, which is a nuisance as you try to fit things in and go to rinse them. I'm a shorty at 5'8", and had to reach with my arms extended to fit things into the microwave, which is raised above the two burner stove at a height of at least six feet. It is so high that you cannot witness the progress of the heating. The bedroom is not separated from the rest of the apartment by a door of any kind. A sliding door would work to provide quiet and dark in the bedroom while others use the rest of the place. Methinks a woman's touch was greatly needed in the planning stage. The bathroom is adequate. No problems there. As you might expect in a studio, there is no dishwasher(except me), and no oven. The fridge is a mini, and that's OK. We enjoyed the stay, and would stay again in this same room. No large complaints, but observations instead. We like the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went up for a quick one night get-away. The main floor was historic, rustic, and charming. The desk clerk was kind and friendly. We stayed in a room below the restaurant dining room,. It looked out onto a tree covered slope and across the valley and parts of downtown. There is noise from the dining room in the evening, but it was not a problem since they closed that up before we went to sleep. The room itself (a small suite actually) was up to date and clean. Others have commented on the lack of air conditioning. The room had a ceiling fan, but its effects were limited since it is not over the bed. We did not discover until morning that there was another box fan in the closet. If we had placed it in the window it would have been great since it does cool down at night even during warm summer days. We had a great dinner in the upstairs restaurant (appropriately named "The View"). Didn't have time for the pool but it looked pretty nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DouginCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here the 4th of July week 2014 and had a great time. Our room faced north overlooking the mountains and town. People at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Do not understand some of the negative comments. Only downside was the shower. Hot and cold water fluctuated. The restaurant was pricey but very good quality. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Apparently do not get a room that faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveB3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Recently spent 3 nights there in July. I booked a studio from Expedia and was given an efficiency studio at the studio price. After driving a very long drive to reach Estes Park, I let it go.
I felt the front desk was rude. I had read they were very friendly but that was not my experience. They never spoke or even looked up when we entered or departed.
The room was not worth the price. It was very small for the price. Had no place to put our clothes except on a few hangers. Very noisy. The walls are so thin we that we did not sleep unless we came back in the afternoon and caught a nap. Our room faced the parking lot and with no air conditioning and the windows open, you caught all of that noise. The shower was either scalding hot or cold. Hard to regulate it. I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here try and get a room on the 3rd floor, away from the stairs and not facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLDJCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We are deeply sorry to hear of the challenges you faced during check in and on your recent visit here. It is disappointing to know you encountered an unfriendly welcome, inconveniences within your room, a billing error and noise disruption. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to resolve the billing error immediately and hope you’ll contact us directly not only to gain a clearer understanding, but also to attempt to remedy the challenges you experienced. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide the best soundproofing between rooms that we can, and assure you that our resort was built according to construction code. We do, regret there are times when persistent noise disturbances, such as street noises and boisterous vacationers can defeat the best of our efforts. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an old lodge, looks pretty good on the first floor but thats it. Our room was very small (after begging to be moved from a minuscule one) and looked like it was furnished from a shabby thrift store. It overlooked a very noisy parking lot where bears root through the garbage at night to a sometimes audience of people with air horns. no kidding. It was not remotely economical as we had a "kitchen" and 2 rooms, all of which do not describe the room in any but the broadest fashion.

There were few services available here. We did not attend the nightly dinner that was served from a pricey menu.


I realize that towns servicing summer visitors are expensive and often sub par. Estes Park and this hotel give proof to that statement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joy33ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your initial room. This being said, we are glad we were able to accommodate you in a new room. We strongly advise guests to bring any concerns to the attention of our team members at the time of stay, therefore allowing us the opportunity to amend their concerns promptly. Our security team is certainly willing to speak to guests if there is excessive noise or if another guest has made a complaint. We again sincerely regret that this was your experience, and we truly hope that you will allow us a chance to provide you with a much more relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent 7 days at this Lodge as it was their 100 birthday on July 4th 2014. Staff is very nice, our room was great. Pool and hot tube were great. Will stay there again. This is a time share resort, BUT, there are NO time share presentations, ever.! If you like a lodge style hotel be sure to check out this place. And if your looking for a place to get married. The resort would the place to do it.

Room Tip: If you want the best views try to get a room on the North side of the Lodge. You will have a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great place and location. Staff very friendly (maybe a bit too much is you are tired and want to check in quick). Location great: top of a small hill, nice views, only 5 minutes from town. Rooms had plenty of space, small frig, microwave, sink, coffee maker. Need to understand that this is an older historical resort so room layouts can be a bit interesting but very nice. Wifi worked fine. No problems and complementary.
In the lobby they have coffee and tea. Pool table in the lounge. Heated pool out side although too cold in May to use for me.

Room Tip: Corner suite on 2nd floor is a great mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $84 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing