We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but beware of giving them your number”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place but beware of giving them your number”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here after getting engaged in Rocky Mountain National Park last September. The staff was friendly and the rooms were well maintained and comfortable. While we had no complaints about our stay and even talked about how we would have to go back, we are now being pestered incessantly by telemarketers working for the company that owns the hotel. They will call us several times a day, 5 days a week in order to ask us repeatedly about our stay and if we would like to stay at some of their other hotels. We have responded to their questions and they continued to call, we asked to be taken off their call list and yet they continue to call! Go and stay at this hotel, but unless you like being harassed by telemarketers then do not give them your number!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gold986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read that you feel you may be contacted excessively. We would suggest that you contact our Customer Service team and our Specialists will do their best to assist you.
We are glad, however, that you appear to have had an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope you will decide to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
131
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fantastic spot to enjoy Estes Park. Rocky Mountain National Park is close, so plenty of trails and beautiful scenery to take advantage of during our stay. The room was comfortable with a small , but adequate kitchen. Since it was off season, the restaurant and bar were closed. But we did enjoy a cocktail by the lodge's fireplace and played a rousing game of checkers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains, great way to wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay that had an outdoor hot tub. Estes Park was expecting alot of snow and we wanted to sit in a hot tub while it was snowing. We absolutely LOVED this place from the moment we walked into the historic, beautiful lobby. Everyone at the hotel was so nice. The room we stayed in had a little kitchen complete with coffee maker, microwave, fridge, dishes, pots & pans and a two burner stove/hot plate. We went to the local grocery store (Safeway) and bought enough food for dinner & breakfast. The room had a sitting area, large flat screen tv and clean, comfortable bed. We spent time in the lobby in the evening playing checkers and they have hot chocolate & stuff to make s'mores in the huge fireplace at 7:00pm. We sat and chatted with people from Boulder & Marthas Vineyard. Fun !! I highly recommend this hotel and will return there again sometime soon.

Room Tip: We loved being on the 3rd floor in the back of the hotel (Room 307), so we could open the blinds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here at The Historic Crags Lodge. We were very pleased to hear that you had such a great time here, and that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and location exceeded your expectations. Even though not specifically mentioned in your review, we hope you were able to experience and enjoy our hot tub as well. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've been to Estes Park many times and this is the first time we stayed at Crags Lodge. What a wonderful experience. The staff was beyond nice! We originally found out about them thru a groupon and worked with them to change a date when we couldn't make the original one. The grounds are well kept, the hotel has a wonderful ambiance and the rooms are just great. nice decor and appointments,closet space, bathrooms, kitchenette etc. We had a third floor West facing room, looking out over Estes Park and the across the valley to the Stanley Hotel. it was like a cruise ship view! The restaurant was closed for the season, so we will revisit them for that experience over memorial day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingBear5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for deciding to choose our resort for your latest stay in Estes Park, and an even bigger thank you for sharing your thoughts in regard to this stay. We were very delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, and staff helped contribute to your positive review and recommendation. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional customer service to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on or around Memorial Day weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went up to Estes for a quick weekend get away to celebrate our anniversary. When we got there, they gave us a very nice gift basket to help us celebrate. It was a great welcome! We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was very spacious and homey. We wanted to cook breakfast in our room, and they provided all the cookware needed and it was in great condition! The hotel is also in a great location close to town but tucked away. The views were beautiful and we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, which is the top floor and has skylights for extra natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very pleased to read about your recent stay here with us and we hope this is just one of many yet to come! It is a great pleasure to have been able to make your special celebrations even more so. We are looking towards your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the Historic Crags Lodge to be conveniently located to downtown Estes Park. Our check in was swift, due to the friendly duo who were in charge of the desk at the time we arrived. We were a bit early arriving, however, our room (211) was ready for occupancy and we were allowed to drop our belongings and head out on the town. The one bedroom was clean and neat, containing all of the ammenities that we could have expected for our three day stay. The overhead ceiling fans could not disperse the heat quickly enough, causing us to sleep with the bedroom windows open throughout the night. Our room was above the doors to the entrance of the lodge and overlooked the parking lot. Needless to say, with the parking lot noise and people's voices entering/exiting the lodge we had difficulty getting to sleep. The beds, pillows, and linens were quite comfortable. Since the Lodge was approximately one hundred years old, we were later told that it was difficult to keep the boiler under control for all of the rooms. The outdoor pool was closed for the season but there was a clean and fairly large hot tub that we enjoyed using under the night's stars. As it was off season for the Lodge, the on site restaurant was closed. We found ample, moderately priced places to eat in Estes Park. The Estes Park Brewery was located approximately 1/4 mile down the hill from the Lodge and offered great food and multiple tv's for watching Saturday sports. Checking out, we found the service to be as quick and friendly as it was upon checking in. One of the clerks suggested that if we were to return, let them know that we would like to request a room on the back side of the Lodge, with a view of the City, and to let them know we had stayed in room 211, prior. We will be returning to take advantage of the Lodge during the summer season, to see the differences in the rooms and to dine at their on site restaurant (that we had heard so much about).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the Lodge would have a beautiful view of downtown Estes Park and possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at The Historic Crags Lodge Estates Park. We are glad to read that your stay here with us has been a relaxing one and you found the lodge comfortable. We regret if you have suffered from any noise during your stay and we would like to assure you that our team is devoted to ensuring that our guests can enjoy a good night’s sleep and should this have been reported to the reception they would do their best in order to address it. We do hope that you will come back for another visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location to downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. The on site restaurant and bar were closed due to "off season". Keep in mind this hotel is almost 100 years young. Some updating has been done while keeping the lodge feel. The room had a 2 burner cook top, mini fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster, basic cookware and kitchenware. We did a grocery store run to the Safeway for basic meals. The staff was nice and a warm fire was going in the huge stone fireplace in the evenings.

Room Tip: Different room sizes available so call the hotel first before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy that we have been able to offer you a comfortable stay here at The Historic Crags Lodge and we are pleased to read that you appear to have found all the amenities required for the duration of your stay in the inventory. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
453 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Property: The Historic Crags Lodge
Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing