We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but falls short of the Historic Idea and cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for a few days partly because it was a historic lodge. As stated in the previous reviews the Lobby is decorated in period, and the rooms are not. We found our room less than average, and not really worth the price. We also were on the third floor but at the back which to us was better because we had a view of the park.

The staff was very nice and friendly. They have the smore's and one night with ice cream. They also had the fire going most evenings, but I don't feel all of this makes the poor rooms worth the price.

Our room looked like it was updated in the 90's, but the couch and nightstands were in poor shape with scratches and rips. The half wall in the kitchen was missing plaster and paint. We couldn't shut one of the windows because they were wooden casements that were so rotted they wouldn't lock. (The wind blows 50mph in the winter). The bed linens were nice as were the towels, the kitchen utensils and the TV.

About the cleanliness. My favorite part was when we were leaving I check under the bed to make sure something doesn't get left. They have this little sign that say's 'Yes we clean under here too' and what was right next to it? an empty lotion bottle that they provide that had been there who knows how long. The carpets didn't look like they were vacuumed, the windows were so dirty that it looked like they were fogged over, and the tub had black mold under the caulk in the corner.

I knocked the rating down to poor just because in this day there is no excuse for not getting a $3 tube of caulk and some bleach to make the tube look new or just running a vacuum under the bed.

Room Tip: Given the price I would choose a room at a newer lodge or a better historic one for slightly more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kccode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review of our resort. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, offer good quality accommodations, and provide exception customer service to each of our guests who stay with us, and we were very concerned after reading your review that we did not meet these expectations with your stay. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area need further refurbishment. A significant refurbishment project is being worked on to update all of our rooms and grounds in 2013. Part of this project includes upgrading the furnishings and flooring in the rooms. The level of housekeeping performed in your unit before your arrival is not acceptable and there is no excuse for this oversight. We will definitely make sure to bring this up with our housekeeping staff so this kind of oversight will not happen again. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 237 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed here twice in the last year. Just a little up a hill from town so it's quiet. Just added a hot tub and swimming pool (we did not use), but heard wonderful things about them.

Will be back again next year!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HappyLocalPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent a week in Estes Park in August and stayed at Crag's lodge. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed by the staff. We were given a room on the 3rd floor facing town. It had good light and a nice view of the mountains and while the room was small, it was very comfortable. The size was not an issue for us as we spent most of our time enjoying the outdoor activities of the area. It also had a reasonable efficiency kitchen which was helpful to have. The rooms are not done in period but the lobby was. There was a nice fireplace, lots of comfortable seating, board games, daily newspapers and a computer if you wanted to check your email. There was also free WiFi in the rooms. There was complimentary coffee, tea and hot cocoa daily and some days there was also lemonade. They also had activities on some of the nights. My favorite was s'mores night. They had all of the fixings to make your own s'mores in the fireplace. The staff was very helpful with ideas and recommendations for activities and local restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and our stay at Crag's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing town for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoKayakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and tips for your recent stay with us. We are really delighted to hear our team members provided superior Customer Service, and that our accommodations, activities, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded, your expectations. We were glad to read that you were able to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities such as Wi-Fi and drinks, as well as, some of the activities offered. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice Lodge, however don't stay in rooms underneath the dining rooms. The hardwood floors creaked a lot and you could sing along with the music.

The room was clean.

No services during the week, ie beds made, new towels...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robp0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize that there were noise issues involving the room you were assigned. When notified, our front desk will do everything in their power to resolve these issues. We do provide a midweek cleaning for stays of a week or more; however it is not unusual that vacation ownership properties such as ours do not provide daily housekeeping. We hope that these issues won’t dissuade you from visiting our resort again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is not your usual Diamond Resort and if you are expecting full on luxury this is not the place for you, the furnishings are somewhat shabby but the bed is comfortable and the shower powerful, the kitchen is small but adequate, but what makes this place so outstanding is its location, just a short drive to the Rocky Mountain National Park, and within walking distance of the restaurants of Estes Park. The staff were so friendly we felt more like friends than guests. Would definitely go here again just to enjoy the view from the bedroom window!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaines46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Terribly disappointed in this hotel. We were treated as third class citizens when we got there. Clerk said they only had a room with a murphy bed available. I had made thereservation through Expedia as a no cancellation option, so we were stuck with it. After I saw the room, I really blew up, not only about the murphy bed, but there is no air conditioning, so we opened the windows, and down below, the kitchen staff take their breaks, talking and smoking, so much for non-smoking rooms. Luckily, I am a member of Expedia plus, and called them to complain. They were very helpful and called the hotel, and got me upgraded that night to a different room. It was better but not great.

Also there is no regular maid service. If you need towels or such, you have to go to the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank produceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

It is very important to us that all third-party websites maintain updated information regarding the amenities of the property and the details of the unit. We regret if there was any lack of clarity regarding what is presented on Expedia and what you were presented with upon arrival, such as the air conditioning.

While outside noise is hard to control considering the location of the property, we understand your concerns regarding the team member discussion and smoke outside your room. We will be sure to address this with our kitchen staff for the benefit of future guests.

We do provide a midweek cleaning for stays of a week or more; it is not unusual that vacation ownership properties do not provide daily housekeeping. We are more than happy to provide an additional cleaning service for a nominal fee.

This historic property has recently come under new management and we are exploring ways to enhance its grandeur in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and hope that you will come back to see us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. The studio was spotless. Everything worked. The common areas are classic mountain lodge, with floor-to-ceiling windows that afford a fantastic view of Estes Park. There was no a/c, but we did not miss it. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $83 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing