We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is not your usual Diamond Resort and if you are expecting full on luxury this is not the place for you, the furnishings are somewhat shabby but the bed is comfortable and the shower powerful, the kitchen is small but adequate, but what makes this place so outstanding is its location, just a short drive to the Rocky Mountain National Park, and within walking distance of the restaurants of Estes Park. The staff were so friendly we felt more like friends than guests. Would definitely go here again just to enjoy the view from the bedroom window!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaines46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Terribly disappointed in this hotel. We were treated as third class citizens when we got there. Clerk said they only had a room with a murphy bed available. I had made thereservation through Expedia as a no cancellation option, so we were stuck with it. After I saw the room, I really blew up, not only about the murphy bed, but there is no air conditioning, so we opened the windows, and down below, the kitchen staff take their breaks, talking and smoking, so much for non-smoking rooms. Luckily, I am a member of Expedia plus, and called them to complain. They were very helpful and called the hotel, and got me upgraded that night to a different room. It was better but not great.

Also there is no regular maid service. If you need towels or such, you have to go to the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank produceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

It is very important to us that all third-party websites maintain updated information regarding the amenities of the property and the details of the unit. We regret if there was any lack of clarity regarding what is presented on Expedia and what you were presented with upon arrival, such as the air conditioning.

While outside noise is hard to control considering the location of the property, we understand your concerns regarding the team member discussion and smoke outside your room. We will be sure to address this with our kitchen staff for the benefit of future guests.

We do provide a midweek cleaning for stays of a week or more; it is not unusual that vacation ownership properties do not provide daily housekeeping. We are more than happy to provide an additional cleaning service for a nominal fee.

This historic property has recently come under new management and we are exploring ways to enhance its grandeur in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and hope that you will come back to see us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. The studio was spotless. Everything worked. The common areas are classic mountain lodge, with floor-to-ceiling windows that afford a fantastic view of Estes Park. There was no a/c, but we did not miss it. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

When we made our reservations at The Historic Crags we were anticipating a great experience; while it was nice we were not overjoyed. We spent two nights there.There is no air conditioning, the pool was being built, the rooms was not cleaned every day. In addition there was a wedding reception on Friday and Saturday; since we had to have the windows open we could not get to bed before 10:00 PM. While this may sound early, if you want to go on a long hike you need to start early. The location is very nice, but a little difficult to find. The rooms have been remodeled and our room had a small kitchen area. The parking lot was a little tight due to the wedding receptions. In cooler weather it may be fine, but if it is warm, it does not cool off well enough. There are plenty of nice hotels that are not chains in Ester Park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redinked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stifling hot in June. Beware NO AC. Lodge studios are small but very clean and adequately furnished. New beds are comfortable. Ceiling and portable fans are not adequate for over 90 degree weather. Rocky Mountain NP very close. Good restaurants nearby. Would be great for a couple of nights if it had AC or if you came when the weather was cool. Also a bit of a parking problem - not enough places. Even though the evening temps drop, there is no way to cool down the room at night after being hot all day. Disappointed but toughing it out another day.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank seetheUSA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that the lack of AC in your unit has negatively impacted your stay with us. When booked through a 3rd party website or through our Club membership program, we try and make every effort to advise our guests that our units do not have AC. We apologize if you were not made aware of this when you booked your reservation. A project to improve our current parking situation is currently in progress. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future, when the weather will be cooler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed for a night during off season with another friend. Property is quite dated with not much facilities. Room was decent but very thin wall and quite warm. Also, when you book a one bedroom suite...don't expect a true suite. This is more like a regular room with a half partition wall dividing between the bedroom and a sofa bed. The description said fit a family of 4 but 2 adults were already crowded. However, for a one nite stay..it was certainly a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week in a two bedroom, two bath unit on the second floor. The decor is outdated but that wasn't a problem since it was clean and had great views.

They were just finishing changing out the beds with new ones in all the units. Some have complained of hard beds in the past.

My only problem was that the hot tub was down (they are remodeling both the pool and the hot tub.)

If the hot tub was working, I'd have given it a five star review. Staff was friendly, and the overall atmosphere of the historic element of the place was the best part. The scrapbooks of mementos and articles from the past relating to the hotel were fun to flip through. The fireplace was also very nice.

Another good thing--unlike other Diamond Resort timeshare properties, there was no one there pressuring us to do a timeshare presentation. That was refreshing.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the town of Estes Park have the best views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank What-Names-Not-Taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,480 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $94 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing